Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canary Island Cilantro Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canary Island Cilantro Soup

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2003

      I made this last night for supper. When my husband came home he said, "Boy, something smells good." Well, it tasted good too. The blending of the onion, garlic, paprika and cilantro really enhanced the rest of the ingredients. I served it with some crusty bread to dip in the broth. I didn't have a green pepper so I used a yellow one instead. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      Girl, this soup rules! It's so easy to make but you can't tell from the flavor. I did add a few chopped green onions to each bowl as a garnish with the green pepper and cilantro. Believe it or not, I can't wait to get sick so I can make this and test its medicinal uses! Thanks for exposing me to the flavors of the canary islands. Now I gotta book a trip! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Finally! A chicken soup for someone who doesn't eat chicken! This was very easy to make and the flavor is just right. Lots of veggies, and the rice and potatoes fill you up. I have to admit, I just dumped in the cilantro instead of tieing it. I love the stuff so much, I couldn't throw it away. Also ended up keeping the green pepper in and eating it with the soup...very yummy. The chopped cilantro and pepper sprinkled on top before serving made a nice crunchy/fresh contrast with the hot soup. Thanks canarygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      I think I'm going to call you Queen Cilantro. This is the second "cilantro recipe" of yours that I have tried and both have been exceptional. Followed this one exactly and was very pleased at the end product. I think this would make a great side dish as well - even though we ate it as a main course. The rice and potatoes really do fill you up. It is a cilantro-lover's dream! As someone else said, don't skip chopping the remaining pepper for garnish, it makes for great texture in the final product. Thanks for another great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      What a delicious soup! I also used chicken broth and used a red pepper instead as green peppers don't agree with me. I added some carrots, turnip and parsnips also. Yummy! Thank you! Great with big hunks of home made bread and butter!! Ha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Oh, this stuff is great! I found it quite filling and VERY tasty. And easy once you get all that chopping of all of those potatoes done! It makes you feel all lovely and warm inside. I imagine it really would be great for a cold. Anyhow, I added cumin and a little chili powder in leu of the paprika as we don't really keep paprika in the house as its mostly flavorless if you ask us. I put the rice in after 15 minutes cooking time, but after another 15 minutes it was most definitely not done so I simmered for another 10-15 until it was done. I used brown rice, so this may have had an effect on that, perhaps. Anyway, I loved it, though my boyfriend said he felt a little "cilantroed-out" afterwards. He would have liked to see an addition of some meat- he says fish, but I say chicken. We'll see next time I make it what I do. I served it with garlic bread (made from a baguette that I bought to eat with this soup but my BF insisted I make garlic bread out of it) and we sprinkled the cilantro and pepper on top as suggested. I froze the leftovers (it's only me and my boyfriend, so we couldn't eat the whole batch) in a gallon bag, but I wish I hadn't because I want some more right now!!! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      Is all the food from the Canary Islands this good? We loved everything about it, especially its slight creaminess and that mild cilantro flavor -- prominent but not overpowering. I used a yellow pepper instead of green just for personal preference, and 2 tsp. chicken-flavored broth mix for the boullion cubes. Thanks for sharing this recipe Canary Girl; I'll make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I made this recipe yesterday. Many times, I won't rate a soup until its been allowed to sit in the fridge overnight. I ate a bowl of this as soon as I made it and a bowl today. Today it tasted better than yesterday. The rice adds a good texture to this healthful soup. I wil say I felt like this was missing something, as it was very bland to me. I'm glad I made it, as the ingredients had me very curious as to how it tasted!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was such a hearty and tasty soup!! I used a mixture of sweet and smoked paprika and I used a little more than what the recipe called for! We recently returned from a visit to Spain and although we weren't able to visit the Canary Islands...this brought us back to the wonderful culture of authentic Spanish cuisine that we were very much craving!! It smells wonderful as it cooks/reheats too! Will definitely be making this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      The flavor of this soup is unlike anything I have ever had before and for that alone it deserves 5 stars. I added about 1/3 c of rice and did chop up the green pepper into the soup, and used hot paprika. As I ate it I kept thinking there should be something more to it, but couldn't put my finger on it. Oh well, guess I will have to just keep making it to figur it out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      Great soup that I'll definitely make again. The house smelled fantastic while this was cooking! I had already chopped my entire bunch of cilantro, so I threw in approx. 1/2-3/4 bunch of the chopped and left it in. I was a little worried that the cilantro would overpower, but it was just right for our tastes. Thanks for posting this Canary Girl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Just awesome! I will add more rice next time, but it was great. I have a bit of a cold so it was very comforting. I used chicken bouillon cubes and a little extra garlic. Thanks for a wonderful dinner. I will be making this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      This is very good. A little something different in a soup. This is really palatable and comforting when you're not feeling well. I'm still sick, though! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      Outstanding soup! This can be my chicken soup ANY time. I used turkey broth instead of the beef boullion and water. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Absolutely fabulous with the garnishes. I found some queso anejo at the store and used that. It's a sharp cheese with paprika as the rind. As far as it's medicinal properties, I feel strong-like bull.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      Wow! I had a bunch of cilantro left that I needed a recipe for, and I just bought fresh veggies at the greenmarket, so I ran upstairs and made this as soon as I saw it! For some reason, I was out of garlic, so I substituted garlic powder. This soup smells and tastes like heaven! Really special; thanks, CG!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      This soup was okay. It tasted like it needed something extra. Maybe more of the vegetables and spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      An all-around winner. I did not have a green pepper, but did have a serrano and just chucked that in, which upped the spice value of this soup. I also needed something just a little heartier, so diced up a chicken thigh and threw that in, too. My tomato was anemic, so I added a bit of tomato paste. We could not wait, so I ended up not putting in any rice, but will try to do so next time. This is without question a great way to warm up on a frigid day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      just made this and yummy!!! I made a few changes out of convenience and personal taste. I used vegetable broth to keep it vegan, saut?ed all the veggies together and then threw in the cilantro, and added carrots. I also used some leftover couscous instead of rice because my daughter prefers it. sooooo good! thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

    • on March 18, 2012

      Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canary Island Cilantro Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.0
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    25%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 478.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites