Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Living's Mushroom Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Living's Mushroom Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      This is a great recipe, very tasty and the chicken stays moist. I used skinless chicken breasts and served it with mashed potatoes. This would make good comfort food. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

      This is a beautiful dish to serve up. It was easy to make. One of those dishes you can prepare as you walk in the door from work. Only takes 10 minutes preparation and then pop it in the oven to cook while you have a shower. I used skinless chicken breasts. The chicken is so moist. The red wine vinegar gave the dish a lovely flavour that I thought complimented the mushrooms and chicken. I served this with green beans and baby potatoes in their jackets. I will most certainly be cooking this recipe again. Thank you Lennie for posting this recipe. By the way,Lennie, didyanotis dat 2 aussies 'ave reviewedya recipe? Us aussie know a good thing when we see it. *wink*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      This was my first review and I just realized I never gave it the five stars it deserves! Here you go, Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      I know I lost the football pool, but when I made this recipe, I feel like such a winner! The chicken is so moist and tender, and the gravy is very light and savory (not heavy and gloppy like you can find in some recipes, but maybe we shouldn't go there...). It was quite a joy to serve this to my family and hear all the raves, and I know that this is a recipe that I can prepare again without worry. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      This was truly delicious. Made a couple of changes out of personal preference: substituted diced red and green peppers for the carrots and dried italian seasoning for the basil. I used the chicken thighs and they were so juicy and flavorful. Served with stir fried broccoli and mashed potatoes. Definite comfort food that I will be making again. Thanks Lennie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      This was fantastic! Husband loved the sauce and all the mushrooms. Will definitely make this on a regular basis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      We really enjoyed this dish. Wonderfully moist chicken and the mushrooms are wonderful. Next time I will add some peppers just to add more veg. to the dish. The gravy is very delicious. I will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      A very, very good recipe. My chicken breasts seem to have come off of a chicken the size of a great dane and were more than enough for three people. I served this with mashed potatoes covered in all that yummy sauce. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Excellent I did not use a whole onion but dried chopped onion and minced canned garlic(I soaked in cold water for a bit) and also used dried cilantro instead of parsley, just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This was a great recipe! I'm a stickler for details, so I just wanted mention a few things that I came across to make it simpler for the next person. Know that 4 c. of mushrooms is about the same size of an 8 oz. package. I also just used two really large chicken breasts and cut them in half, probably equaled about 1-1.5 lbs. I used an extra splash of chicken stock because my gravy seemed a little thick. My husband made the suggestion, if you're trying to cut a few extra calories, opt not to dredge the chicken before frying it, and still brown it the same way. Might not have to cook it for 10 full minutes. If you do that, I'd mix 2-3 tbsp. of flour with the pepper, then mix it in when the recipe says to do so. My son, who can be pretty picky, really liked the carrots and chicken in this recipe. Next time I'll add more carrots for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This was delicious, easy, and healthy. I used some olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I had to substitute cider vinegar, but it still turned out yummy! I like that I didn't have to use the oven on a hot summer day. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      yum!! this came out so good my brother & his girlfriend were trying to convince me to go on hell's kitchen!! haha...i've made it 2 times now & everyone has loved it. the only thing i did was to throw it in a casserole dish after the frying process and finished it off in the oven for the last 30 minutes. thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This was really really good! It was easy and didn't require too much effort for a week night meal! I followed the recipe exactly and it made such a yummy gravy! Thank you for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      This recipe has been on my to-try list for months. It's a keeper. Great served with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      So delicious!!! I used portabella mushrooms and my fiance went nuts for this chicken. In fact, I am making it again tonight. Perfect recipe, I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you so much for a yummy, low-cal meal; it will be a permanent in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      This was just what I was looking for. A basic Mushroom Chicken comfort dish. I used herbs I had on hand (fresh rosemary & a bay leaf) instead of basil. I also omitted the carrots. Next time I might add bell pepper and up amount the vinegar (just a bit). Served with Sun-dried tomato and parmesan Risotto. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      If I could give it more stars I would. This recipe packs lots of flavour and super easy to make. I wouldn't change a thing when making it, and look forward to serving it to the family again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      This is real comfort food. I added an additional 1/2 cup chicken stock to increase the amount of sauce and served over rice. Very nice ! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Living's Mushroom Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.7
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    40%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 69.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 307.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites