18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe, very tasty and the chicken stays moist. I used skinless chicken breasts and served it with mashed potatoes. This would make good comfort food. Thanks for posting the recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! March 15, 2002

This is a beautiful dish to serve up. It was easy to make. One of those dishes you can prepare as you walk in the door from work. Only takes 10 minutes preparation and then pop it in the oven to cook while you have a shower. I used skinless chicken breasts. The chicken is so moist. The red wine vinegar gave the dish a lovely flavour that I thought complimented the mushrooms and chicken. I served this with green beans and baby potatoes in their jackets. I will most certainly be cooking this recipe again. Thank you Lennie for posting this recipe. By the way,Lennie, didyanotis dat 2 aussies 'ave reviewedya recipe? Us aussie know a good thing when we see it. *wink*

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo June 25, 2002

This was my first review and I just realized I never gave it the five stars it deserves! Here you go, Lennie!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kishka July 08, 2003

I know I lost the football pool, but when I made this recipe, I feel like such a winner! The chicken is so moist and tender, and the gravy is very light and savory (not heavy and gloppy like you can find in some recipes, but maybe we shouldn't go there...). It was quite a joy to serve this to my family and hear all the raves, and I know that this is a recipe that I can prepare again without worry. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau January 14, 2004

This was truly delicious. Made a couple of changes out of personal preference: substituted diced red and green peppers for the carrots and dried italian seasoning for the basil. I used the chicken thighs and they were so juicy and flavorful. Served with stir fried broccoli and mashed potatoes. Definite comfort food that I will be making again. Thanks Lennie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl November 03, 2003

This was fantastic! Husband loved the sauce and all the mushrooms. Will definitely make this on a regular basis.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renayda September 30, 2003

We really enjoyed this dish. Wonderfully moist chicken and the mushrooms are wonderful. Next time I will add some peppers just to add more veg. to the dish. The gravy is very delicious. I will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV February 09, 2011

A very, very good recipe. My chicken breasts seem to have come off of a chicken the size of a great dane and were more than enough for three people. I served this with mashed potatoes covered in all that yummy sauce. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle December 03, 2009

Excellent I did not use a whole onion but dried chopped onion and minced canned garlic(I soaked in cold water for a bit) and also used dried cilantro instead of parsley, just a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song April 26, 2009

This was a great recipe! I'm a stickler for details, so I just wanted mention a few things that I came across to make it simpler for the next person. Know that 4 c. of mushrooms is about the same size of an 8 oz. package. I also just used two really large chicken breasts and cut them in half, probably equaled about 1-1.5 lbs. I used an extra splash of chicken stock because my gravy seemed a little thick. My husband made the suggestion, if you're trying to cut a few extra calories, opt not to dredge the chicken before frying it, and still brown it the same way. Might not have to cook it for 10 full minutes. If you do that, I'd mix 2-3 tbsp. of flour with the pepper, then mix it in when the recipe says to do so. My son, who can be pretty picky, really liked the carrots and chicken in this recipe. Next time I'll add more carrots for him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel April 25, 2009
Canadian Living's Mushroom Chicken