Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Living's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Living's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2002

      Very good classic chocolate chip cookie. Not too greasy like "Toll House". Nice crisp edges. My kids loved them. They are especially rich with 2 cups of chocolate chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      This is the best chocolate chip cookie that I have ever made ,and I've tried a lot of recipes! I like a cookie that improves with age and this one does, it is still moist and chewy and very good , not drying out like most do.The only thing I changed was oven temp to 350 deg and they were a nice golden brown in 8 min. I tried the just brown around edge with one batch, is not as nice to look at at all.I will stay with this recipe now.Thankyou for the recipe,blueangelica54

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      These are great chocolate chip cookies. We all loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      My 12 year old daughter made these cookies. We both thought they were excellent! Crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. Instead of regular shortening we used "Earth Balance" natural shortening.(non-hydrogenated) We didn't add nuts and there was still plenty of chocolate chips. No need to add more. I will definately add this to my recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Sorry, pretty much standard fare. Going back to my soft batch...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Can I add more stars to this review? These cookies perfect! Soft, thick, chewy. I can't keep them in the cookie jar and they're the most requested treat at work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Ok so I just had to try this recipe based on the rave reviews. What a disappointment! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I left out the nuts. Due to my daughter's soccer game, I wound up chilling the batter for approx 4 hours. For the first batch, I baked at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, I did as suggested and slightly flattened...the end result was dissapointingly thin. For the next batch, I upped the temperature to 375 degrees and did not flatten. Again, it was too flat. For the next batch, I added additional flour to stiffen up the batter. Again I did not flatten and baked at 375 degrees. The result was marginally better. The flavor is okay. All in all, this is not a recipe I would repeat. I've tasted and made much better chocolate chip cookies. For the record, I put the batter in the freezer in between batches and used a thoroughly cooled cookie sheet with parchment for each batter. My husband and daughters have asked me to go back to my old recipe thus I could only rate this 2 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      "Perfect cookies" say the 4 teenagers who ate them ALL! Ok, so maybe DH and I helped a little. This recipe pleased us all, the cookies are soft in the middle and crispy on the outside and very chocolatty! Thanks for this wonderful recipe I will share with all our friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Let me just say - YUM! I didn't put walnuts or pecans in but did add about 1/2 cup (plus a few more morsels) of chocolate chips. Seems just right. Thank you for this recipe. One of the best I have tried.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Making these cookies for the second time in under a month. They are delicious. As a transplanted Canadian boy, they bring back the home flavour that I miss so. Next time it's butter tarts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Thanks especially for the tip about chilling the dough before cooking, it keeps the cookies from flattening. Great recipe, thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      i made these with my friend and then we made them again and again and again.... anyway, they are scrumptious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      yum! They reminded me of Mrs. Field's cookies but a lot better since her's are too sweet for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      These were great! I'll be using this recipe now as opposed to Betty Crocker. I like that they seemed to stay fresh longer and were soft and chewy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      These were better than my mom ever made...sorry mom. They were a little less sweet than the traditional Toll House recipe but just a chewy gooey. My children and wife did not miss the sugar as evident 24 hours later when the plate was discovered empty on the kitchen counter. I did not add the nuts or candy pieces but did add additional morsels. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing Regards.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Wow - truely great. I liked them cold better than right out of the oven which for me is unusual in a cookie. Used 1 cup butter instead of shortning and M&Ms for a Holloween party - all of them were gone within minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Made it with my 3 yr old and 22 months old sons. We had a blast. We ate some dough so didn't make as many as stated! My mom and dad loved them as well. They even thought it was the family traditional recipe but said they were really delicious before I told them it was a new one! amended Oct 16th: made these again and didn't have shortening so used all butter and they turned out fab. I also forgot to flatten them and it didn't make a difference,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Truly the best cookie I have ever had. Light, crispy edges and a wonderful texture and flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Tasty cookie. I wish I had the PC chips onhand because they are awesome (I used milk chocolate Chipits). Like a previous reviewer, my cookies turned out flat although. I cooled the dough in the fridge for about 15 minutes, then let it sit out for about 5 - maybe I overcooled them?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Wonderful cookie!!! I made it previously and this time wanted to shake things up a bit so I halved the batch and in one half put Reese's Mini Pieces and the other Andes Creme De Menthe baking chips. They came out great.. YUM!! Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Living's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.0
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    49%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 12.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 68.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites