85 Reviews

Very good classic chocolate chip cookie. Not too greasy like "Toll House". Nice crisp edges. My kids loved them. They are especially rich with 2 cups of chocolate chips!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W May 14, 2002

This is the best chocolate chip cookie that I have ever made ,and I've tried a lot of recipes! I like a cookie that improves with age and this one does, it is still moist and chewy and very good , not drying out like most do.The only thing I changed was oven temp to 350 deg and they were a nice golden brown in 8 min. I tried the just brown around edge with one batch, is not as nice to look at at all.I will stay with this recipe now.Thankyou for the recipe,blueangelica54

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerry graham June 17, 2002

These are great chocolate chip cookies. We all loved them!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maandjw June 02, 2002

My 12 year old daughter made these cookies. We both thought they were excellent! Crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. Instead of regular shortening we used "Earth Balance" natural shortening.(non-hydrogenated) We didn't add nuts and there was still plenty of chocolate chips. No need to add more. I will definately add this to my recipe book.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JudyLZ October 28, 2002

Sorry, pretty much standard fare. Going back to my soft batch...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Duncang55 June 12, 2010

Can I add more stars to this review? These cookies perfect! Soft, thick, chewy. I can't keep them in the cookie jar and they're the most requested treat at work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OldPhoneHag June 10, 2010

Ok so I just had to try this recipe based on the rave reviews. What a disappointment! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I left out the nuts. Due to my daughter's soccer game, I wound up chilling the batter for approx 4 hours. For the first batch, I baked at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, I did as suggested and slightly flattened...the end result was dissapointingly thin. For the next batch, I upped the temperature to 375 degrees and did not flatten. Again, it was too flat. For the next batch, I added additional flour to stiffen up the batter. Again I did not flatten and baked at 375 degrees. The result was marginally better. The flavor is okay. All in all, this is not a recipe I would repeat. I've tasted and made much better chocolate chip cookies. For the record, I put the batter in the freezer in between batches and used a thoroughly cooled cookie sheet with parchment for each batter. My husband and daughters have asked me to go back to my old recipe thus I could only rate this 2 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizhort April 15, 2010

"Perfect cookies" say the 4 teenagers who ate them ALL! Ok, so maybe DH and I helped a little. This recipe pleased us all, the cookies are soft in the middle and crispy on the outside and very chocolatty! Thanks for this wonderful recipe I will share with all our friends.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets February 19, 2010

Let me just say - YUM! I didn't put walnuts or pecans in but did add about 1/2 cup (plus a few more morsels) of chocolate chips. Seems just right. Thank you for this recipe. One of the best I have tried.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CattieCann January 24, 2010

Making these cookies for the second time in under a month. They are delicious. As a transplanted Canadian boy, they bring back the home flavour that I miss so. Next time it's butter tarts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rumboy January 04, 2010
Canadian Living's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies