8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy marinade and not sweet like I thought it might be!! I must admit that I cheated and just marinated a whole top sirloin steak instead of making it into kabobs, too lazy!! Since I didn't make the kabobs, I added a splash of OJ to the marinade to get some of the orange flavor with the meat and the only other change I made was to omit the ground cloves, personal taste preference with savory foods. We really enjoyed this grilled steak along with baked potatoes and green beans!! Made in honor of your win the 2009 football pool!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 18, 2009

I found this very same recipe from one of those free recipe booklets the grocery stores leave in the aisles. I did not have any oranges at the time & substituted with what I did have - mangoes. I kept all the remaining ingredients as called for. I had never tried mangoes with a meat before & they turned out fantastic! Everyone loved them! I will definitely try them again...grilling season has started again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T-Sawyer May 15, 2008

On a lark, I decided to try this with chicken. Mainated for about an hour and the results were rather good. :-) I really liked the way the orange, whiskey and maple syrup played together on the palate. My one comment, and this may be because chicken is milder in flavor than beef, was that the cloves seemed a tad too prominent. Can't wait to try this with beef or pork. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 17, 2006

Delicious and different. The combo of whiskey (got out my bottle of CC for this one!), maple syrup, cloves and vinegar make a rather unique-tasting marinade that is really good. I took Susie D's advice and also interspersed my meat and orange pieces with big pieces of green pepper for both colour and taste (the pepper was very nice skewered on after the orange). Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 30, 2006

Lovely flavor. What a neat addition the grilled oranges make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 25, 2006

These are very good kebobs but need a little something, just not sure what it is. I used both beef and pork for the meat, but think maybe next time will increase the amount of Maple Syrup just a touch and see if that is what I am looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 June 24, 2006

This was ok, but really not what I expected. I followed the recipe as stated with the optional whiskey. It looked great with the oranges, but as I said, it tasted very differently from how I imagined it. I had once eaten ribs in a maple syrup marinade when in Canada and really loved it. So I hoped this would taste similar - but it didn't remind me at all of the ribs. I would have loved to taste the maple syrup and maybe also to have some more spices in it. More oil maybe and less vinegar??? However, the low rating probably derives from the fact that my expectations were not met. Therefore, others may like these kebabs much more than I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck June 22, 2006

We enjoyed this and it was very different flavor for us. I was a little afraid of it being overly sweet, but it wasn't. I did use the whiskey and added a bit of orange zest to the marinade. I also added green bell peppers to the skewers for color. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 20, 2006
Canadian Kebabs, Eh? (Zwt II)