35 Reviews

These were awesome squares!!! Ive made them several times already , They are very easy to make and taste soooo good...only change I made was to add a half C. extra dates ...Many Thanks for a Great recipe...PCrocker

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poppa Dude March 17, 2010

Gotta love these date squares! I doubled the filling because we like a lot of dates. You have to use real butter in these....they just wouldn't taste the same with margarine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 January 05, 2010

Absolutely 5 stars, no question about it. I got this recipe from a co-worker about 10 years ago and it is a favourite in our house. Highly recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word December 01, 2009

Really delicious recipe... will make again and again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barrdbarrbarr November 29, 2009

Finally I found a recipe that tated just like my mom's, but will cut down on the brown s ugar a bit. Mary from Toronto

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amg1946 November 21, 2009

This is my FAVORITE bar, it is SO good. I reduced the brown sugar, used no salt, and added 1/4 c. bran to the flour, and 3/4 c. walnuts, coarse chopped. Also used 1/4 c. smart balance for part of the butter. Will definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marzy April 13, 2009

Very delicious squares, it seems that 1 cup of dates is not enough to fill an 8'' square pan? I doubled the dates and it was perfect. But apart from that the recipe is great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chouny April 08, 2009

I made these for an office potluck today and got rave reviews. One girl didn't know what she was eating, took a bite thought that it was a chocolate fudge filling, promptly decided that it would be too sweet. When I told her it was a Date Square she decided that it was 'healthy', devoured three and asked for the recipe.. Love this recipe!! I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oatmeal rather than instant which I think made it crunchier (according to hubby) This will be my new Date Square recipe. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lifeswruff October 31, 2008

I packed these along to take on a train trip with my grandmother. She absolutely loved them and said it was going to replace her old recipe. You taste the dates in every bite. Thank you PCrocker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog January 06, 2008

These are easy and fantastic, made just as described. I did it with fresh dates and got great results. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sazz January 04, 2008
Canadian Date Squares