Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Date Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Date Squares

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-30 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2005

      I have to agree with everyone - these are so good! I highly recommend substituting orange juice for the water as a nice flavor enhancer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      Wonderful recipe for date squares PCrocker! I have tryed many different recipes, but I have to say that these are a winner. I made two pans of these, and will be serving them at my BBQ get together this weekend. thanks for a great recipe!...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      These were great! My MIL made these each year during Holidays from a mix-can't get the mix any more. This year I will surprise family with these for a special treat. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Excellent recipe, great texture and taste. Just the recipe I was looking for, couldn't find my usual one so searched the zaar until I found this. They were a big hit at our house and will make again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      I made these with Scottish Porridge oats - made a wonderful, chewy bar. I followed the recipe exactly - and was delighted with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      These are very good. My BH asked me to make date squares and this was the recipe I chose. I like that they are not too sweet. I used 1 cup of unpacked brown sugar. I will be using this recipe from now on. Thanks PCrocker for a great recipe. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Excellent date squares. My mom used to make them but the recipe was "lost" Don`t know why these are called "Canadian" as they seem to be popular everywhere. Where I live they`re referred to as "Matrimonial Cake"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      Extremely yummy, especially warm from the oven. I probably used more dates than was called for, and added a bit more water when they were cooking. I also left the dates whole, and had no problems with large chunks; the dates mushed down quite nicely. Overall a delicious old-fashioned treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      These bars are awesome!Another great recipe from PCROCKER saved in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      GREAT RECIPE! These Canadian Date Squares smelled so divine while baking, that I couldn't wait for them to cool before I devoured two! Absolutely the best oatmeal dessert bar I've ever tasted. Reminds me of something my grandmother used to make when I was a child. I might even consider substituting the date filling with a fresh strawberry, raspberry or blueberry filling. Something to experiment with in the future. PCrocker, THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Date Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.0
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    32%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 22.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 138.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 23.1 g
    92%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes