32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were a hit with parents and kids alike at a recent potluck. I added a few extra dates based on other reviews, and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2boyzmum June 15, 2010

Delicious and would be 5 stars but as others wrote did need to double amount of dates. I also had to add about another 1/2 cup of flour as that much margarine made the flour mix too mushy, but i suspect my non-cooking margarine is to blame. I also threw some grated apple in with the dates, and some almond slivers in the topping half of the crumb mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shoga-chan September 12, 2009

Extremely yummy, especially warm from the oven. I probably used more dates than was called for, and added a bit more water when they were cooking. I also left the dates whole, and had no problems with large chunks; the dates mushed down quite nicely. Overall a delicious old-fashioned treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing April 17, 2005

Taste was very good, I agree it needs almost double the amount of dates and I personally would cut the sugar by 1/3 to 1/2, I found them too sweet. For some reason mine came out way too crumbly on top, I used cold butter because it didn't specify, perhaps that is where I went wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vw_baby March 24, 2015

We call these Matrimonial Squares here on Vancouver Island. Definitely butter and I have used raisons for the filling too. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dices_13131686 December 22, 2014

After reading the comments I used the entire block of pitted dates I had, 375 grams, just over 1 1/2 cups, increased the water to about 3/4 cup and added 2 teaspoons of orange zest and some almond extract. They smell absolutely delicious, and I'm sure they'll taste even better, just waiting for them to cool now! Thanks for the recipe! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theauthenticnut August 16, 2012

Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13. I too noticed that there didn't seem to be quite enough filling as I was spreading it out. The end result was fine, but for the sake of my anxiety levels, I'll increase the filling by half again next time. (There will definitely be a next time!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K April 24, 2010

These were awesome squares!!! Ive made them several times already , They are very easy to make and taste soooo good...only change I made was to add a half C. extra dates ...Many Thanks for a Great recipe...PCrocker

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poppa Dude March 17, 2010

Gotta love these date squares! I doubled the filling because we like a lot of dates. You have to use real butter in these....they just wouldn't taste the same with margarine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 January 05, 2010

Absolutely 5 stars, no question about it. I got this recipe from a co-worker about 10 years ago and it is a favourite in our house. Highly recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word December 01, 2009
Canadian Date Squares