35 Reviews

We call these Matrimonial Squares here on Vancouver Island. Definitely butter and I have used raisons for the filling too. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dices_13131686 December 22, 2014

These were a hit with parents and kids alike at a recent potluck. I added a few extra dates based on other reviews, and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2boyzmum June 15, 2010

Delicious and would be 5 stars but as others wrote did need to double amount of dates. I also had to add about another 1/2 cup of flour as that much margarine made the flour mix too mushy, but i suspect my non-cooking margarine is to blame. I also threw some grated apple in with the dates, and some almond slivers in the topping half of the crumb mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shoga-chan September 12, 2009

Extremely yummy, especially warm from the oven. I probably used more dates than was called for, and added a bit more water when they were cooking. I also left the dates whole, and had no problems with large chunks; the dates mushed down quite nicely. Overall a delicious old-fashioned treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing April 17, 2005

If you remember the Date Bar mix that Pillsbury made years ago, and wonder why in the world they ever discontinued them, this is your lucky day. These are as good or even better than that. Really. I did use a little more dates, but that was the only change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim M. June 12, 2016

These are delicious!! I tried making then gluten & dairy free as I have sensitivities to both. I used Bob red mills all purpose gluten free flour , coconut oil to replace the butter , gluten free oats and to cut back on sugar I used no brown sugar but a 1/4 cup of maple syrup. The dates are sooo sweet that they don't need too much added sugar. I also doubled the amount of dates. I'll definitely be making these again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katherine.joyce77 October 09, 2015

I see now why these are called "Canadian" date squares: I thought the amount of date filling was just right, and I'm Canadian!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Lester Mulridge April 29, 2015

Taste was very good, I agree it needs almost double the amount of dates and I personally would cut the sugar by 1/3 to 1/2, I found them too sweet. For some reason mine came out way too crumbly on top, I used cold butter because it didn't specify, perhaps that is where I went wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vw_baby March 23, 2015

After reading the comments I used the entire block of pitted dates I had, 375 grams, just over 1 1/2 cups, increased the water to about 3/4 cup and added 2 teaspoons of orange zest and some almond extract. They smell absolutely delicious, and I'm sure they'll taste even better, just waiting for them to cool now! Thanks for the recipe! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theauthenticnut August 16, 2012

Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13. I too noticed that there didn't seem to be quite enough filling as I was spreading it out. The end result was fine, but for the sake of my anxiety levels, I'll increase the filling by half again next time. (There will definitely be a next time!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K April 24, 2010
Canadian Date Squares