Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Date Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Date Squares

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2009

      Delicious and would be 5 stars but as others wrote did need to double amount of dates. I also had to add about another 1/2 cup of flour as that much margarine made the flour mix too mushy, but i suspect my non-cooking margarine is to blame. I also threw some grated apple in with the dates, and some almond slivers in the topping half of the crumb mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      After reading the comments I used the entire block of pitted dates I had, 375 grams, just over 1 1/2 cups, increased the water to about 3/4 cup and added 2 teaspoons of orange zest and some almond extract. They smell absolutely delicious, and I'm sure they'll taste even better, just waiting for them to cool now! Thanks for the recipe! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These were a hit with parents and kids alike at a recent potluck. I added a few extra dates based on other reviews, and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13. I too noticed that there didn't seem to be quite enough filling as I was spreading it out. The end result was fine, but for the sake of my anxiety levels, I'll increase the filling by half again next time. (There will definitely be a next time!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      These were awesome squares!!! Ive made them several times already , They are very easy to make and taste soooo good...only change I made was to add a half C. extra dates ...Many Thanks for a Great recipe...PCrocker

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Gotta love these date squares! I doubled the filling because we like a lot of dates. You have to use real butter in these....they just wouldn't taste the same with margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Absolutely 5 stars, no question about it. I got this recipe from a co-worker about 10 years ago and it is a favourite in our house. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Really delicious recipe... will make again and again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Finally I found a recipe that tated just like my mom's, but will cut down on the brown s ugar a bit. Mary from Toronto

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This is my FAVORITE bar, it is SO good. I reduced the brown sugar, used no salt, and added 1/4 c. bran to the flour, and 3/4 c. walnuts, coarse chopped. Also used 1/4 c. smart balance for part of the butter. Will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Very delicious squares, it seems that 1 cup of dates is not enough to fill an 8'' square pan? I doubled the dates and it was perfect. But apart from that the recipe is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      I made these for an office potluck today and got rave reviews. One girl didn't know what she was eating, took a bite thought that it was a chocolate fudge filling, promptly decided that it would be too sweet. When I told her it was a Date Square she decided that it was 'healthy', devoured three and asked for the recipe.. Love this recipe!! I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oatmeal rather than instant which I think made it crunchier (according to hubby) This will be my new Date Square recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I packed these along to take on a train trip with my grandmother. She absolutely loved them and said it was going to replace her old recipe. You taste the dates in every bite. Thank you PCrocker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      These are easy and fantastic, made just as described. I did it with fresh dates and got great results. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

    • on October 17, 2007

      SIMPLY DELECTABLE!!!!!! I made these for a potluck at work, and they were gone in 10 minutes!! It was the first dessert to be devoured!!!!! I will make it for our family Christmas Eve Celebration where we have finger foods, tourtiere, and desserts galore. :) EXCELLENT!!! 10/10

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Oh my !!! The Canadian gal in me had forgotten how much I love these squares. I had a huge craving for this square this morning I made them. I had some dates from the holidays that I still had in the cupboard so I made these. Date squares are my all time favorite. Followed the recipe to the T!!! Thanks for reminding me of one more thing I miss from Canada.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      The only way to describe these bars is...Heavenly! As a dark chocolate lover I did ad 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips to the crumb mixture saved for the top of the bars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      I also subbed orange juice for the water. I added some chopped walnuts on top, too. The recipe is delicious!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      Not being a fan of dates, but having inherited a bunch of them when my DM passed, I chose this recipe to try and use some of them up before they became rancid. Sure am glad I did!!! Easy to make, chewy and delicious. Everyone who came by today has raved about them. Will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Date Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.0
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    32%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 22.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 138.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 23.1 g
    92%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites