Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Burger With Beer-Braised Onions and Cheddar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Burger With Beer-Braised Onions and Cheddar

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2010

      This is a wonderful burger recipe. Tons of flavor, juicy and easy to put together. I left out the diced red pepper, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. I look forward to making this recipe often. Tip: After forming your burger patty, make an indentation in the center of the patty. This will keep your hamburger patty from swelling up into a ball as you cook it. Made for Jan 2010 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I made these last night and it was a 5 star all around. I did use yellow pepper instead of the red and I forgot to put the cheddar cheese on top, and we still gave it 5 stars, I can't wait for next time with the cheddar cheese. These are very moist burgers with lots of flavor. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      VERY good! The onion turned out a bit too sweet so i'll just have to double the onion next time! (besides being a bit sweet, they were so yummy!) I will omit the pepper next time and add some hot paprika or something else to add a bit more spice to the burgers. Definately a keeper! Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers, ZWT4 Oh, i almost forgot, i used a bit of leftover meat this morning, and that was so delicious! so it might be a tip to make it the day before and keep refrigerated so the flavors really come out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 - Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! I'm very thankful the weather held long enough for DH to cook these on the BBQ today! We doubled the recipe & used an alchohol free beer with superb results. These were definitely a big hit - thanks Leslie for a great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      We enjoyed this burger but found it a little sweet for our tastes even with leaving out the sugar completely. I used red chili peppers for a bit of flavour and will probably add some cayenne to it next time and just marinade the onions and only heat long enough to just soften , instead of carmelizing them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      We really enjoyed these burgers. I bit different from our normal burger but very tasty. The carmelized onions was the crowning glory. The only thing I added was some chopped sundried tomato to the burger mixture. I'd make this one again! Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      We thought this burger was very good. Liked the idea of using pan fried onion - almost like onion marmalade for the topping. I used the exact ingredients, but for our taste, I plan on skipping sugar totally from the onion mixture as it was a bit too sweet for us. Although this style of burger is different from our usual recipe, we loved it. Thank you for posting this Leslie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      My DS is cooking dinner a lot and he chose this last night. It was great. The onion added a wonderful light sweetness to a delicious burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      We loved the onions! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      the onions alone are enough to give this burger 5 stars & i liked the idea of grating the cheese, it melts alot nicer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

    • on July 06, 2009

      great onions but not a noteworthy burger, in fact DH and I wouldn't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Very good burger. The beer adds great flavor to the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Very easy and VERY tasty. The onions were delicious. The burgers was scrumptious. Thanks for sharing a very tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      very, very easy and also very good! these were the first burgers I have ever made and they couldn't have came out more perfectly. The red pepper in the burger really adds alot of flavor, and the onions were awesome! Definitely making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      We had an unusually warm day for January in Ohio, so we thought: why not fire up the grill! We made these exactly as posted and the onions are just fabulous! And since the beer was already out, we figured why not use the new deep fryer and make some homemade beer battered onion rings #20785! The meal was fantastic! We'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I'm sorry, these really didn't do anything for me. The onions were really awesome, though. I'm definitely making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      AMAZING! So tasty!!!!! The carmalized onions were to die for! and the burger was moist and so flavourful. We are canadian and so I thought might as well and am so glad I did!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      My husband loves burger in a bowl smothered with onions. I made this for him tonight, but instead of putting in on a bun it went into a bowl smothered with the Beer Braised Onions. He thought it was delicious! This will be a keeper at our house! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      What can I say that hasnt already been said? This is a very tasty burger and we really enjoyed the carmelized onions, especially. We used Oberon summer ale as the beer of choice, and I bought a really good cheddar cheese to go on top of the burger. We would definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Burger With Beer-Braised Onions and Cheddar

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 681.7
     
    Calories from Fat 427
    62%
    Total Fat 47.4 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 23.7 g
    118%
    Cholesterol 182.6 mg
    60%
    Sodium 578.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 46.9 g
    93%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites