38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful burger recipe. Tons of flavor, juicy and easy to put together. I left out the diced red pepper, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. I look forward to making this recipe often. Tip: After forming your burger patty, make an indentation in the center of the patty. This will keep your hamburger patty from swelling up into a ball as you cook it. Made for Jan 2010 Aussie/NZ Swap.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 11, 2010

I made these last night and it was a 5 star all around. I did use yellow pepper instead of the red and I forgot to put the cheddar cheese on top, and we still gave it 5 stars, I can't wait for next time with the cheddar cheese. These are very moist burgers with lots of flavor. Thank you so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 12, 2010

Great burger for our celebration this 4th of July! Using the previous reviewers tip on making the burgers early and letting them sit to marry with the seasonings is exactly what we did. I also caramelized the onions earlier, letting the slowly caramelize and used a bit less sugar, and the taste came out perfectly. The beer in the beef, and the beer added to the onions was just wonderful and really jazzed up the both. I used Dijon mustard as suggested and cheddar cheese as the topping and this was just so juicy and tasty, I could of been a very bad girl and eaten *2* burgers. But alas, I was good, and everyone had plenty. Really, really nice Leslie, thanks for posting! Made for *ZWT4* July 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 04, 2008

VERY good! The onion turned out a bit too sweet so i'll just have to double the onion next time! (besides being a bit sweet, they were so yummy!) I will omit the pepper next time and add some hot paprika or something else to add a bit more spice to the burgers. Definately a keeper! Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers, ZWT4 Oh, i almost forgot, i used a bit of leftover meat this morning, and that was so delicious! so it might be a tip to make it the day before and keep refrigerated so the flavors really come out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanja77 July 01, 2008

Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 - Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! I'm very thankful the weather held long enough for DH to cook these on the BBQ today! We doubled the recipe & used an alchohol free beer with superb results. These were definitely a big hit - thanks Leslie for a great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 28, 2008

We enjoyed this burger but found it a little sweet for our tastes even with leaving out the sugar completely. I used red chili peppers for a bit of flavour and will probably add some cayenne to it next time and just marinade the onions and only heat long enough to just soften , instead of carmelizing them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 28, 2008

We really enjoyed these burgers. I bit different from our normal burger but very tasty. The carmelized onions was the crowning glory. The only thing I added was some chopped sundried tomato to the burger mixture. I'd make this one again! Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South June 23, 2008

We thought this burger was very good. Liked the idea of using pan fried onion - almost like onion marmalade for the topping. I used the exact ingredients, but for our taste, I plan on skipping sugar totally from the onion mixture as it was a bit too sweet for us. Although this style of burger is different from our usual recipe, we loved it. Thank you for posting this Leslie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori June 22, 2008

My DS is cooking dinner a lot and he chose this last night. It was great. The onion added a wonderful light sweetness to a delicious burger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 27, 2013

We loved the onions! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Hoylman June 19, 2011
Canadian Burger With Beer-Braised Onions and Cheddar