15 Reviews

Not only incredibly easy to whip together (presuming you have an unbaked pie shell on hand), but this pie turns out to also be a real crowd-pleaser! Went quite well with cream whipped with about a teaspoon each of rum, sugar, and vanilla extract. Mmmm! Among a pie smorgasbord, this was one of those that wholly disappeared. Next time, I think I'll try adding a half-teaspoonful of cinnamon...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefyl October 14, 2007

Tarte au sucre is one of my families favorite dessert; mine has only 1 cup of milk, it makes it even sweeter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage September 15, 2012

This was amazing. It was indeed very sweet so don't forget the vanilla ice cream (not the cheap stuff either). Dont stop stirring as the temperature comes up or it will turn to hard candy on the bottom of your sauce pan. I didn't have quite enough evaporated milk and used a quarter cup of Irish Cream. C'est fantastique!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capnbuknutz October 28, 2011

Okay this is coming from a very new wish I could bake person! This recipe was so easy and stress free it had my friends and family wondering how I did it! I also added a flavored whipped cream and felt it was a nice addition. I am in love with this recipe and so are my kids! There will always be brown sugar in our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GR8TMOM October 09, 2009

Wow, my filling turned out really thick so I didn't get a good spread on it. However, it was tasty, and I added a splash of maple flavouring since I had it out. I'm not very good at pies, but this one was easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Xanthia March 09, 2007

People need to read the recipe twice before making this! I'm sure the first complaint came because the lady used MILK instead of EVAPORATED MILK. This is a great recipe. Traditional tart au sucre brun. Merci beaucoup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle LaPointe January 24, 2007

I have to admit this was disappointing. After cooking it for the specified time it was still watery and I cooked it for another half hour for it to get more solid. The ingredients also seemed to be separating and there was foaming on the top. It didn't taste that bad, it was too rich though, I would not recommend eating it in large portions. The rest of my family was too afraid of it to even try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santa's_Elf January 14, 2007

I made this and it was...amazing! I couldn't stop eating it!!! I wish I could give this recipe more stars! It was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CinnamonTwist September 08, 2006

Man, this is really really not my day! I put my pie mixture into a frozen thawed pie crust and as I was adjusting the temperature to 350 I took a peek and a large chunk of my crust rim has fallen off! Now I have burnt brownies that I made earlier and a Pie that is missing a side of rim. Man! I just can't win! The pie smells really yummy though! I'm sure that it will still taste great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Cookin' Mama July 06, 2006

I must have done something wrong. Mine never really set up like in the pictures. I did use low fat skim evaporated milk... that might have been what did it. I still loved it!! It is sweet but not too sweet! It is perfect! I can't wait to make this for a family reunion. I used a store bought shortbread crust (like a graham crust). It was a bit too small, I think. The edges got all gooey and covered in filling. Next time, I will make my own crust in a "real" pie plate. Thanks for posting such an amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn June 29, 2006
Canadian Brown Sugar Pie