Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Beaver Tail Fried Pastries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Beaver Tail Fried Pastries

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2009

      Had these, but in PEI. Everyone raved about Mom making Beaver Tails (or Elephant Ears depending on the child). Topped them with maple spread and walnut pieces, and my fussier little ones used the good old stand by...Nutella! Awesome, thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      This recipe is awesome! I used to make funnel cakes but these are waay better. Mixing cinnamon and sugar together tastes sooo good. Nutella or peanut butter is reaaaaally good too.

      But 1 issue i had was having extras and having no idea what to do with them. Any ideas anybody?..

      I didnt think keeping them out was a good idea because of the ingredients but then again its kind of like bread..so i wasnt too sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I made these today for a surprise for my husband. His dad used to make them for him and his sister when they were younger. He was like a kid again waiting for them to be done. I didnt change a thing to the recipe and wouldnt change anything next time. Next Time??? Definately, absolutely. UPDATE: The MIL is here so I made these again...she loved them said they were exactly like the FIL used to make. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      I grew up in Ottawa, famous for Hooker's Beaver Tail and was so glad to see Chef Kate had posted this recipe for me. Made it today as part of our Canada Day celebrations here in Greece. 17 of us enjoyed these delicious fried pastries and it really brought a taste of home back. Sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and spritzed with fresh lemon juice, they are a thing of beauty. Hot, flaky pastry, tart/sweet topping. Thanks Kate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      This was a good recipe. I have never tried Beaver Tails or Elephant Ears before, therefore I cannot compare, but these tasted like donuts, just shaped differently! The directions are misleading in that they say to stretch and thin- but it doesn't specify how thin. We tried stretching them out pretty large and thin and we also tried them just rolled out about 1/2 an inch in thickness and not stretched. We like it better not stretched. The texture is more "bready" and compliments the cinnamon and sugar better. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      these beaver tales were the BEST thing i ever TASTED! Thank you very much! All of my cousins went crazy about this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This recipe is perfect, it was great everyone in the family loved it and ate it all up.
      They came out very light and fluffy just perfect.........thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      LOVELY!!! My mom and I made these together just in time for the biggest blizzard in Chicago last year. And because of how tired everyone was from shoveling snow, we all had some Beaver Tails to warm us up and let us rest for a little while. This recipe was the best ever one that was for fried pastries- It rocked our socks!!!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      My Canadian tranplant friend was visiting, and I showed her this recipe. She's been skating on the Rideau Canal. So for kicks we made this recipe. Came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This is fantastic--First had beaver tails when i was in Ottawa a few years ago and this reminded me of the night walking on the canal and trying one. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Beaver Tail Fried Pastries

    Serving Size: 1 (1166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.4
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    27%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 188.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites