Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Canadian Bacon and Mozzarella Penne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Canadian Bacon and Mozzarella Penne

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2014

      We really enjoyed this quick and easy to make recipe. I love that it is so versatile. I had to substitute a few ingredients, even after doing this it still tasted great. Lovely flavors and textures. The mozzarella is a nice contrast to the bacon and tomato. Made exactly as written but used a variety of small pastas, dried parsley and coarsely squished whole tomatoes. I was also pretty heavy handed with the red pepper flakes . Thank you for sharing your recipe, it was a nice comfort dish on a cold winter evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      While I have to admit I did not use penne, but a mix of macaroni and fusilli, I was careful to follow the recipe otherwise with the exception of a tad bit more cheese as my cutting was inexact. Both hubby and I agreed that this was a 3-star recipe. The flavors were OK, but there was just something missing. Maybe some cream or white sauce would have helped? Perhaps marinara sauce instead of tomatoes? Maybe some oregano? (I just couldn't put my finger on it.) In any case, don't be afraid to try this - it really wasn't bad. It was just disappointing after seeing all the 5-star reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      This was good.. I added some grana padano to the mozzarella mixture and also used italian spiced tomatoes. I'll make it again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious. I loved it. I think I may of added the pepper flakes twice because it really had a great kick to it. I used Ziti and not Penne because that is what I had on hand. I also used a 28oz can of small diced tomatoes and didn't need any water added. Mmmmm, mmmmmmm so yummy. It seemed so quick to make as well. The flavors were really terrific as is but I can see this recipe as a fantastic base with plenty of possible add ins of veggies or more spices. Thank you so much for this recipe Karen, it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is delicious, easy to make and I also love the combination of flavours! The only very minor changes I made were to use a half pound of diced pancetta, since that is what I had on hand, and I used a 19 oz tin of tomatoes so didn't need to add the extra water. The texture of the sauce is just perfect, like what you would get in an Italian restaurant. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This is sooooo good. I didn't use the entire amount of Canadian bacon or mozzarella, you can pretty much just add as much as you want. I omitted the parsley, but added misc. Italian seasonings. I used a can of stewed tomatoes, with green pepper, celery, and onion, and just dumped the juice in, and then chopped up the tomatoes, and that worked great, and gives it GREAT flavor. I tried making it with spaghetti sauce instead of making your own sauce, and it was nowhere near as good! Follow the recipe if you want it to be delicious and not just ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      loved this recpie tho i did alot of changes i used cheddar cheese i did not hae red pepper flakes so i jsut used itialian seasoning basil oregeno onion powder garlic powder and pepper and put it in the oven to have the cheese melted it was fantastic and will be makeing this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      We liked this, and next time will make a few changes. I will probably reduce the amount of red pepper and increase the amount of mozzarella. It is one I will definitely do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      Made some substantial changes, but this was great! Very filling and tasty. I used vegetarian Canadian bacon (I recommend St. Ives brand) and low-fat mozzarella. I halved those 2 ingredients, and halved the pasta, lowered the olive oil quite a bit then left everything else the same to serve the two of us. (Okay, I really like lots of tomatoes with my pasta.) Like every other pasta I try with mozzarella cheese this clumped together, but those bites are extra cheesy and good too. Oh, also, I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Really delicious! Another great pasta and tomato dish - you can't ever have too many of them! Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was so good! Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      This was really good! Very bright and flavorful. I did add another clove of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Canadian Bacon and Mozzarella Penne

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 782.8
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    31%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 73.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1739.1 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.0 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 14.9 g
    59%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 34.8 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites