11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed this quick and easy to make recipe. I love that it is so versatile. I had to substitute a few ingredients, even after doing this it still tasted great. Lovely flavors and textures. The mozzarella is a nice contrast to the bacon and tomato. Made exactly as written but used a variety of small pastas, dried parsley and coarsely squished whole tomatoes. I was also pretty heavy handed with the red pepper flakes . Thank you for sharing your recipe, it was a nice comfort dish on a cold winter evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 19, 2014

While I have to admit I did not use penne, but a mix of macaroni and fusilli, I was careful to follow the recipe otherwise with the exception of a tad bit more cheese as my cutting was inexact. Both hubby and I agreed that this was a 3-star recipe. The flavors were OK, but there was just something missing. Maybe some cream or white sauce would have helped? Perhaps marinara sauce instead of tomatoes? Maybe some oregano? (I just couldn't put my finger on it.) In any case, don't be afraid to try this - it really wasn't bad. It was just disappointing after seeing all the 5-star reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest November 09, 2012

This was good.. I added some grana padano to the mozzarella mixture and also used italian spiced tomatoes. I'll make it again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 11, 2009

This was absolutely delicious. I loved it. I think I may of added the pepper flakes twice because it really had a great kick to it. I used Ziti and not Penne because that is what I had on hand. I also used a 28oz can of small diced tomatoes and didn't need any water added. Mmmmm, mmmmmmm so yummy. It seemed so quick to make as well. The flavors were really terrific as is but I can see this recipe as a fantastic base with plenty of possible add ins of veggies or more spices. Thank you so much for this recipe Karen, it was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 22, 2009

This is delicious, easy to make and I also love the combination of flavours! The only very minor changes I made were to use a half pound of diced pancetta, since that is what I had on hand, and I used a 19 oz tin of tomatoes so didn't need to add the extra water. The texture of the sauce is just perfect, like what you would get in an Italian restaurant. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard January 20, 2009

This is sooooo good. I didn't use the entire amount of Canadian bacon or mozzarella, you can pretty much just add as much as you want. I omitted the parsley, but added misc. Italian seasonings. I used a can of stewed tomatoes, with green pepper, celery, and onion, and just dumped the juice in, and then chopped up the tomatoes, and that worked great, and gives it GREAT flavor. I tried making it with spaghetti sauce instead of making your own sauce, and it was nowhere near as good! Follow the recipe if you want it to be delicious and not just ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemaker September 21, 2007

loved this recpie tho i did alot of changes i used cheddar cheese i did not hae red pepper flakes so i jsut used itialian seasoning basil oregeno onion powder garlic powder and pepper and put it in the oven to have the cheese melted it was fantastic and will be makeing this again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Coll October 10, 2006

We liked this, and next time will make a few changes. I will probably reduce the amount of red pepper and increase the amount of mozzarella. It is one I will definitely do again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinMamaof3 October 05, 2006

Made some substantial changes, but this was great! Very filling and tasty. I used vegetarian Canadian bacon (I recommend St. Ives brand) and low-fat mozzarella. I halved those 2 ingredients, and halved the pasta, lowered the olive oil quite a bit then left everything else the same to serve the two of us. (Okay, I really like lots of tomatoes with my pasta.) Like every other pasta I try with mozzarella cheese this clumped together, but those bites are extra cheesy and good too. Oh, also, I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Really delicious! Another great pasta and tomato dish - you can't ever have too many of them! Thanks Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend August 08, 2006

This was so good! Mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience July 01, 2006
Canadian Bacon and Mozzarella Penne