Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Camping Banana Boat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Camping Banana Boat

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2003

      Right on! I used to enjoy these during summer camping trips. Wouldn't change a thing! 5 stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      These are great to make with children. I first experienced these on a Girl Scout campout years and years ago. We did not use the brown sugar...really not needed with the sweetness of the banana, marshmallows and chocolate. Be careful not to overcook or the banana will dissolve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      I make something similiar 2 this, instead of brown sugar i also add peanut butter in the middle...yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      Tish, I haven't had these since I was a kid! Thank you so much for posting a favorite childhood memory!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      perfect, easy camping recipe. Kid loved them and they were a snap to make and clean up

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      I don't know if I used too over ripe of a banana or my husband over cooked it. But it was a real hot mess. The banana flavor taste good with the rest of the smore but it certainly was not pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This was yummy and easy and fun to make but my daughter lamented we weren't having smoores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I used to have these at Girl Scout camp, but we would put back one strip of the peel and use a fork to mash the banana to allow room for the filling. We didn't use the brown sugar, but added red hot candies instead. We would just put the peel back after filling and wrap tightly in the foil. It was to die for. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Our first family camping trip had to be canceled due to rain. But we were still able to make these on the grill at home. DH says they deserve 5 stars just for their simplicity. I say you put chocolate with a banana ... 5 stars immediately. I don't know that the sugar is even necessary but I'm not complaining. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Yum! I used mini-chocolate chips for easier stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I used to have this when I went camping. Very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      An all time camping favorite of ours. We don't use the sugar. We often add chopped peanuts or pecans on top. Sometimes if we are in the city we make them on the BBQ. YUMM-O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Awesome, Went camping at Allegany State Park in New York, Beautiful Park by the way. We had 4 Adults and 8 kids ranging in age from 19-11, and we all made our Banana Boat, (without brown sugar- not needed at all) wrapped in foil and placed in the campfire. These are the best VERY sweet everyone wanted more. This is a fun great way to get the kids cooking, and easy. This IS the Cherry on top for the night at any campfire. 10 Stars. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      We just made these on a camping trip and loved 'em! I left off the sugar since I forget to bring it. Next time I might add some peanut butter too as a few other similar recipes suggest. This is definitely a keeper for the camp fire cooking though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This was such a great quick and easy recipe I made going camping. My kids loved it!!!! The only thing I did different was I sprinked Cinnamon Sugar on it instead of the Brown Sugar. I'm now going to start cooking them as a dessert when I'm at home on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this. I took this with us for our annual family camping trip. The WHOLE family ( all 17 of us) loved these. I will be making these for years to come. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      We used to make these every year at our Girl Scout camp event. All the girls (and adults) loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      We make these every time we go camping, and then every once in a while when grilling in the summer here at home. LOVE this recipe, especially with the brown sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Have never made these with the brown sugar addition, but I am known for my excellent banana smores when I camp with my friends! These are very sweet but VERY tasty - and easy to make ahead, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I grew up making these all the time! We would make them during girl scout trips and many nights around the camp fire!! very very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Camping Banana Boat

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    34%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes