Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Campfire Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Campfire Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2003

      These were Wonderful tasting! I did add a little more cheese like everyone said and kept everything else the same. It was a nice change, from the usual grilled lipton onion soup potatoes. Thanks NurseDi....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      These grilled potatoes were awesome. I agreed with some of the other reviewers and added 1 cup of cheese. They were so easy to make and had a yummmmmy smoky flavor. The potatoes were very tender and the whole family raved about how good they were. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      We did these on the grill along with our kebobs. They turned out terrific. 40 minutes cooking time was what it took and the potatoes were tender. Very tasty and so easy. A great side dish for anything grilled. More cheese is a good idea, too. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      These are awesome! I have made them twice now, and do everything per the directions. Tonight I am not using onion though. Great easy recipe to throw on the grill with your meats!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      My husband and I made these on the grill at my FIL's hunting lodge. They turned out great. I did as one of the other reviewers and added more cheese. The Worcestershire and onion infused a great flavor to the potaotes. This gets a thumbs up from all of us. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      We cooked these potatoes on our camping trip. Very yummy. I used 1 c. shredded cheddar cheese, but that is the only change I made. They turned out very tender and the onion gave them a very savory flavor. Easy to prepare and fun for the whole family. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      These were great. I left the peel on the potatoes because I was lazy and I like the peel. My DH suggested I use more cheese next time. Both my DH and DS gobbled these up. Thanks for posting this recipe it will now be a camping regular for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      These were very, very, very good!! I left the skin on my potatoes and cubed them instead of sliceing them. I also had to resort to making them in the oven in packets as it was raining and couldn't use the BBQ. They turned out terrific!!! One thing that I would do differently next time is omit a bit of the butter, as I found that it just "sat" at the bottom of the packet. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      These potatoes were so good. Even though I just notice that I forgot to use butter lol They were great. Thanks ratherbeswimmin :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      I have this same recipe. It is amazing and so easy! Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      We didn't use a campfire, but they were still good :). We had small potatoes and we chunked them instead of sliced. When mixing up the seasonings and cheese, the Worcestershire sauce made the cheese brown. And mixing up the freshly grated cheese kind of made it mush together. So next time, the cheese will be put on separately. We did add more cheese toward the end, too, because we really like cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      Yummy! Simple and delicious! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      These were OK for us. After cooking for 45 mintues there was still a lot of broth and butter in the bottom. I followed the recipe other then I didn't add the parsley. Next time I wouldn't add the broth and would cut back on the butter. I did use more cheese then 1/2 cup too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      I had found this recipe in a Taste of Home cookbook. It's easy to put together and nice to put on the grill and not have to worry about watching it cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

    • on August 19, 2009

      This was so good. Easy, simple, and delicious. The only thing I did different was add bacon and it made it even better! Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Great potatoes! I've been looking for a good recipe like this for awhile. I cooked them on a gas grill and they turned out perfect just as written. For once I got great potatoes cooked for the time stated and they didn't burn like they usually do. There were only 3 of us and we ate the whole thing! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I baked these in the oven. They turned out very very good and tender. I have to admit I didn't think the potatoes would cook fully but they did so perfectly. Make sure you adjust seasonings, cheese, butter to your taste. My family likes cheese but not dripping and oozing all over the place so the amount of cheese for us was perfect. I like to go heavy on the seasonings however. The recipe is a very good base to enjoy as is or to get extra creative with. And, you can't beat the clean up!These were time saving and very very easy to make. This is a keeper recipe I will make repeatedly and have a lot of fun with! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Great flavours. Omitted the butter and didn't miss it. I used 2 foil containers (sprayed with pam) cliped together (top/bottom), it makes it easier to flip and I find the potatoes don't burn for me. Enjoyed the flavours with the broth & worcestershire that I've never tried before on potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I *think* I actually made my version of this recipe up on my own, but after cooking it so many times, I can't really remember. Anyway, we call them "cheesy tatties" and prepare them the same but don't bother to add broth or worcester sauce and add (I can't believe I'm admitting this) squeezy cheese (which I think is equivalent to cheese whizz or the like in the USA). Basically we put some olive oil and butter on the foil, then a layer of potatoes, onions & garlic, then a squirt down the middle of the cheese, then another layer, seasoning, then parcel up the foil and onto the BBQ for 30-40 min. They always come out great and I love the burnt bits on the edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Campfire Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.9
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    46%
    Total Fat 22.3 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 60.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 361.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites