Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Campfire Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Campfire Muffins

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2010

      These are so nifty! I liked how moist the muffins came out, and the added hint of orange was a nice compliment to the flavor. I did mine in the oven b/c I wanted to test them out before I went camping. My mom the picky eater loved them. What a great way to conserve clean dishes! Maybe I'll try mini-muffins in lemon halves next time. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      These were excellent! The DH and I went camping with some friends and everyone was a little bit skeptic about how these muffins would turn out...but they were great! I juiced the oranges so we could have some fresh orange juice with breakfast, took out the pulp, and added Blueberry muffin mix and Chocolate Chip mix to the orange cups. They cooked up just fine over the campfire and the orange peel added just a hint of orange flavor. Great idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Went camping this weekend and tried this. I don't have the spoon for scooping out the flesh, so I juiced the orange halves instead. I used 4 huge oranges to make 8 large muffins. I think next time I might prepare the oranges at home, to make for a quicker snack. Some baked 10 minutes and some longer. We ate it out of the oranges and it was a neat treat. Even the picky kids liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      2 adults and 2 kids (8 & 6) had a great time making these muffins on our camping trip. Not only are they loads of fun to make, but they taste GOOD. We made the blueberry muffins and they had a hint of orange (from the orange peel and smokiness :-)) I strongly recommend this recipe for a new addition to a camping snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      The kids loved making(and eating) these. We even added a little of the orange segments into the muffin mix and those were great too. This will be a definate repeat for our camping trips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Well, I don't know about the kids, but I know the bf and I had a blast making these. What a fun campfire activity! Next time I'll have to take pictures and post 'em. So much fun! Thanks for sharing, I love all your campfire recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      These were excellent! The orange flavor from the peel really infuses the muffin with an excellent orange flavor. I added cranberries to a blueberry and wild berry muffin mix. I cooked/baked them over an open fire pit by placing them in a disposable tin and covering with tin foil. About 45 minutes and they were cooked perfectly. These were a crowd favorite and I will be making them alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      I tried this out camping last week. I bought Jiffy raspberry muffins since I thought those would go well with the orange. I had my 5 yr old daughter mix up the batter but I did the rest. For the most part we got them to cook and they rose nicely, some we had trouble with raw dough inside so that will just take some practice. I agree with what another reviewer mentioned... next time I will prep the oranges in advance since that wasted a lot of time. Also it seems like you could use any type of muffin batter so I might try a bran muffin so that they will be healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I'm not sure what happened with these, but they didn't turn out nearly as pretty as the ones in the pictures! I'll try them again, I think, but they were pretty messy to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I LOVE these and they're so simple to make, I prefer the Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Campfire Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.0
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    20%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 181.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes