Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Camper's Hobo Dinner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Camper's Hobo Dinner

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2012

      Instead of a frozen pattie, We use 1 lb of fresh burger (in a bowl shape). Carrot, celery, onion, peppers, corn, unpeeled potatoes diced, etc...... Season salt, pepper & salt, McCormics Brand seasoning, Old Bay, Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning, etc........ You name it and season it, its gooooood eating. Grilling is the best way for me to cook it. Off the coals so it wont burn on hot spots and still gets that smokey flavor. MMMMMMM GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Awesome! My children said it was the best vegetables they ever had. I added red peppers too as pictured and cut the seasoning salt down to half tsp per packet. It made a great easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      This is really a no fuss no mess recipe. I have been making dinner packets since my days with Girl Scouting. The ingredients can be easily adjusted for taste and personal preference. These were made with a combination of red peppers, onions, mushrooms and baby cut carrots. It was served with sweet potato fries and a chopped salad for a delicious meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      My husband always talked about eating these when he was growing up, so I finally made them. I baked them for an hour at 350, but the carrots were still crunchy, so next time I will bake longer or leave out the carrots altogether. I will make again for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I wasn't sure about this recipe until I tasted it. I did add some celery just because we like the flavoring of celery. We really liked this and my son and grand daughter did too. Thanks for a quick , tasty recipe for those busy days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Oh these take me back! My brother was so excited to show us all how to make these when he was a boy scout. Very simple and easy. I usually make my own patties with a spoonful of Lipton onion soup mix to kick up the flavor in the meat. Kids love to assemble these. Thanks, Marla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This is a good dinner especially when only cooking for one. I used a 5 oz. piece of pork loin instead of the hamburger patty and sprinkled with sage and pepper instead of seasoned salt. MMMMMMM good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I added worcestershire sauce and one tablespoon of margarine to each hobo pack and replaced the seasoning sauce with garlic salt. The dinners turned out amazing. I recommend cooking each side for slightly less than 15 minutes in the fire, as our dinners got a little bit burned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      When we were kids, our family would make this for the first night of our camping trip. We would start the fire and put the packets in while we were setting up camp. The only thing we did different was to put a few pats of margarine (or butter) on top of the vegetables b4 closing the foil. Fond memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      This was good! We were stuck in the house on a snowy/icy afternoon and I hadn't had the good sense to go the store before the storm hit. We found two 1/2 lb. portions of ground beef in the freezer, and I just happened to have carrots and potatoes, so this recipe was perfect! I put the patty in thawed, not frozen, so probably could have cooked it less, but I wanted to make sure the veggies were done. I seasoned my meat with Tony's cajun seasoning, garlic, onion powder, and a splash of worcestershire sauce, and seasoned my veggies with olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      this is what my boyfriends family made when they were haying and of course i had it when i was camping with girl scouts but its an easy meal to make and fun with kids at home remember how you felt making it ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      Good and easy recipe. We also add a tablespoon of cream of mushroom soup and a piece of butter to each package. We have also done boneless chicken with cream of chicken instead. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Camper's Hobo Dinner

    Serving Size: 1 (551 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    53%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 76.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.6 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hamburger patties

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites