Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Campbell's Bean and Bacon Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Campbell's Bean and Bacon Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2002

    • on October 26, 2002

      While I didn't find this exactly like the Campbells version, it is very close, and is an excellent soup. I will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      wow!this is just like the campbells soup! it was my first attempt at bean soup and i will not be looking for any other recipes......i love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      I made this recipe exactly the way it was written. The aroma was like bean and bacon and while the taste wasn't bad, it didn't taste anything like Campbell's Bean and Bacon, my all time favorite canned soup. So for me it was disappointing. My main problem was the bacon... who wants to eat big strips of boiled bacon fat? I cooked it with it then took it out before serving. There was no note what the others cooks did with it. There was also too much water, the soup was thin even after pureeing the 2 cups. Good try, but I'll keep on looking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      I used canned navy beans in this recipe and it was wonderful. Better than Campbell's!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Made this today in the slow cooker. While it taste fine I didn't think it tasted much like Campbell's. The beans themselves were soft but, the skins on the beans were tough. This is probably something I did or didn't do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      This is not exactly like the Campbell's version, but it is still very tasty. I added a little more smoke flavoring because I liked the flavor. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      I really liked this soup recipe. Like other reviewers, I used canned navy beans. I also used red wine vinager (all I had) and used onion powder instead of onion. My husband thought this was great, but suggested I add some diced tomatoes and sliced sausage next time. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Yummers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Yum! We love this soup. The only change I make is to use the precooked real bacon shreds that come in a bag. Actually does taste very similar to campbell's. I just use my stick blender to partially puree it at the end rather than removing any of it to the blender. Works fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Delicious! I thought this was pretty darned close to Campbell's. Enough so that I will be making it often. However, I thought adding the bacon RAW was odd so I did fry it up first and I omitted the vinegar. I too used canned beans which worked perfectly. I did a mixture of pinto, navy and great northern beans. 6 cans total! 3 were dumped in whole and the other 3 were pureed than added. Very nice bean flavor and texture throughout. Mmm... Mmm... GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This taste nothing like campbells bean with bacon soup. But,it is a good soup..I cooked the bacon in soup pot till browned but still limp.Had more color rather than in bacon grease...Placed all in the pot. I used red wine vinegar and added 5 drops liquid smoke. When beans were done, I slightly mashed in pot with potato masher. Added 1/2 potato buds to thicken.Used 1 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper...My DH really liked this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Great soup! I used canned navy beans (to cut down on the time) and added a little extra bacon... hubby & I each ate two bowls for supper! I served with green onions and croutons. Highly recommended soup! I postd a photo of my bowl of soup. -NELady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      We love soups in the fall and winter. This one is a keeper! It is so much better than any campbells soup. It is homemade with fresh ingredients. My three year old had 2 bowls. I did not use the liquid smoke or red peppper flakes. I added a ham bone with ham on it that gave it a wonderful flavor and more carrots. I also threw in only 2 pieces of bacon and fried up the rest and crumbled it into our soup bowls before serving as another cook did and yes removed the two pieces that were in the soup before serving. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I have made this soup several times. We enjoy it very much. Thanks for posting. I make it in the crockpot and it is perfect. 8-10hrs on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This is a good soup, just not close enough to the Campbell's. I am searching for a recipe to replicate bean and bacon soup since I am MSG sensitive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This is a wonderful bean soup...easy, and one of the best I've had. It IS similar to Campbell's...not spot on, but very close and will satisfy anyone who does enjoy the Campbell's soup. I think this will become my "go to" navy bean soup recipe. Thank you! A couple of thoughts...the bacon is meant to be minced, as well, and you can certainly make this with already cooked beans, or canned. Also, I guess I didn't read carefully, but the 2 cups of navy beans are UNCOOKED beans, so the yield on those when cooked would be about 6 cups of beans. That's why you would want 3 cans of beans if using canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was pretty darn good. I used canned beans instead due to time. I only used 2 cans. Next time I will use 3 cans. I didn't have half of the ingredients but even then it was still good. Lets just say there was nothing left at the end of dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      This is the second time I've used this recipe and I really like it. I use the pre-cooked & crumbled Hormel bacon from Cosco (1 tbsp = 1 bacon strip) and dried minced onion (1 tsp = 1 small onion). I tripled the recipe (to save some for later in the freezer) and it is harder to get the taste right. I tend to use much more vinegar and liquid smoke. I puree about 1/2 of the soup and only use the minimum water amount. The beans did take closer to 4 hours (due to the amount of soup I was cooking). It doesn't taste EXACTLY like Campbell's, but then again, you don't have all of the preservatives and salt either. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Campbell's Bean and Bacon Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    23%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 603.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 12.7 g
    51%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites