21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

While I didn't find this exactly like the Campbells version, it is very close, and is an excellent soup. I will definately make it again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip October 26, 2002

wow!this is just like the campbells soup! it was my first attempt at bean soup and i will not be looking for any other recipes......i love it!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimbearly January 25, 2003

I made this recipe exactly the way it was written. The aroma was like bean and bacon and while the taste wasn't bad, it didn't taste anything like Campbell's Bean and Bacon, my all time favorite canned soup. So for me it was disappointing. My main problem was the bacon... who wants to eat big strips of boiled bacon fat? I cooked it with it then took it out before serving. There was no note what the others cooks did with it. There was also too much water, the soup was thin even after pureeing the 2 cups. Good try, but I'll keep on looking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow November 25, 2003

I used canned navy beans in this recipe and it was wonderful. Better than Campbell's!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Coley August 07, 2003

Made this today in the slow cooker. While it taste fine I didn't think it tasted much like Campbell's. The beans themselves were soft but, the skins on the beans were tough. This is probably something I did or didn't do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda in Winnipeg January 17, 2014

This is not exactly like the Campbell's version, but it is still very tasty. I added a little more smoke flavoring because I liked the flavor. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds March 04, 2011

I really liked this soup recipe. Like other reviewers, I used canned navy beans. I also used red wine vinager (all I had) and used onion powder instead of onion. My husband thought this was great, but suggested I add some diced tomatoes and sliced sausage next time. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplemom May 03, 2010

Yummers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TKDMamma January 06, 2010

Yum! We love this soup. The only change I make is to use the precooked real bacon shreds that come in a bag. Actually does taste very similar to campbell's. I just use my stick blender to partially puree it at the end rather than removing any of it to the blender. Works fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 January 05, 2010
Campbell's Bean and Bacon Soup