Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Calzones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calzones

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2001

      I didn''t use the Ragu pizza sauce but instead a chunker pasta sauce (Classico tomato-basil) which I think was good. I also added chicken and ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      Thank you for a wonderful recipe, All I did was cut the dough into individual sizes and allow everyone to choose thier toppings. My out of town relatvies now think I'm a wonderful cook, and can't wait to come back for another visit. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2002

    • on June 22, 2010

      I may have rated this before, but I had to come back and add....I made a chicken calzone, fried the chicken with a little olive oil, garlic and basil. Shredded the chicken, added chopped onion, green olive and sliced mushrooms, with a bit of mozzarella and feta, marinara sauce....it was AWESOME!!!!! I like it even better than all the veggie and pepperoni calzones I made before. I'm going to continue to make this over and over and over! So good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Fantastic!!! Each member of my family chose their own toppings and I bought a very high quality sauce from a local restaurant. This will be a mainstay in our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      These were GREAT! My DH said they were the best things I'd ever baked! And he almost never comments at all without prompting. ;-) I'm really only rating the dough and method, since I already had some filling. The dough was very good and so easy! Not sticky at all to work with, and rolled out nicely. I sub'd whole wheat flour for 3/4 C of the regular, and used a good splash of milk (about 1/4 C?) for some of the water. I also split the dough in half, and still got 2 huge calzones from it. Only baked it about 21 min., and I didn't bother w/ the melted butter. They turned out awesome, and I will definitely make again! Thanks, Kathleen, for a superb and easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2003

      Excellent! Customized it a little for our own tastes, but the outcome was awesome. Definitely will be making this again, and again, and again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      These were excellent. I only made them with mushroom inside and I used homemade pizza sauce and my family gobbled up every last bite. What an excellent recipe Kathleen!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      Delish, but did mine a little different. I only used 3 Tbsp of sauce and sauteed the vegs in it. Once they were pretty cooked, I did the rest the same (except the shape, as you can see by my pic), Have been making these for years, but used frozen bread dough. Not anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      Very, very good dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I made one large Calzone with this recipe. (enough to serve 3 at dinner, and then 2 servings of lunch) Cooking time was as noted in recipe. I used homemade pizza sauce, but served on the side instead of baking into the calzone. I used a combination of Olive Oil & Garlic Butter for the top of the calzone during baking, and shredded some parmesan on top too. I also sprinkled the interior cheese with Oregano before adding toppings for extra flavor. First time making a Calzone for dinner, and certainly wouldn't be my last, will use this recipe for future endeavors as it was a huge success.
      Thank you for sharing this winning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      These were so good and extremely easy! I doubled the batch and got 4 HUGE calzones. Fed 7 with leftovers. Definitely a go to recipe when everyone is wanting take out..way cheaper, versatile and yummy! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Oh my, oh my, oh my! (just had a flashback of When Harry Met Sally!!??) These little pockets are D E L I C I O U S !!! I thought they would be alot more work then what they were. I plan on making them at least once a month, so good. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      OK. This is fabulous! Fast, easy and delish! I did make a small substitution that turned out great... I used 2 1/4 C unbleached flour and 1/2 C whole wheat flour. It was delicious, hearty and had great flavour. Super impressed with the dough. For the filling, I used the pizza sauce with herbs, parm cheese, pepperoni and spinach. I also used a mix of provolone and mozz (only because that is all that was in my fridge). I didn't measure the sauce, just put it in until it looked right. After it was done I sprinkled the finished product with parm cheese and didn't feel like it needed any extra sauce or cheese. YUM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      My kids really enjoyed these. They renamed them Big Pizza Pockets. The filling is very versatile, so use what you like for your pizzas. My children do not like mushrooms, green peppers and onions, so I did not use them on theirs. I actually divided the dough into four separate calzones and made each one different according to specific likes and dislikes. Each calzone was then split into half for each person to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Great Calzones! I made as written but used Ultimate Pizza Sauce and red pepper. Served with Maggiano's Little Italy House Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Made these for Christmas eve, they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Have been making it for a long time now and forgot to review it. With these calzones I made my DD to eat by herself. Now she is even helping me to make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      We only used the dough to make rolls with pizza filling and it was awesome!!! Taste good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All European Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calzones

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.3
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    22%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 11.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 674.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites