Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Calzone (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calzone (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2005

      I made this last night for supper for the family last night. My family loved it. Since I don't have a bread machine I mixed the dough and let the dough raise in a bowl covered with a cloth and then punched it down and let it raise the second time. I followed the rest of the recipe. It was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      This is a wonderful recipe.It was easy to prepare with fantastic results.I added capicoli and pepperoni along with sauteed onions and garlic. My family loved it and asked to make it a regular menu item. My 5 yr old daughter's response was " I'm gonna make this for my kids when I grow up yumm" Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

    • on April 19, 2013

      feel like I should reserve judgement...wasn't crazy about it, but the bread was good. Would be worth trying again but I wasn't saying "mmm" or anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      I made this dough and shaped it into 2 half moon calzones. I used the recipe for cheesesteak calzone for the filling idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      I have never had Calzones before, I admit, but I found this recipe( it looked easy!). I found it to be very good! I do work with bread recipes, so I changed only a few things. I added 1 tblsp. oil, reduced the sugar to just a dash, added diastastic malt powder, and omitted the milk. It really was good. I'm sure the recipe is great as written, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      These were very good! The only strayed from the dough recipe twice. I only had all-purpose flour so I used that and I didn't have any powdered milk so I omitted it. It still turned out great! The dough was a little sticky but not unworkable. Instead of making a braided calzone as pictured, I made 4 semi-circle calzones. I filled mine with pepperoni, mushrooms, cheese and sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I used half the dough from this recipe for calzones, and used the other half to make a small loaf of bread to accompany another meal. Both were excellent! I didn't have powdered milk, so eliminated that without any apparent problem. I also used freshly minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This was pretty good. The dough was really sticky, but after reading other reviews, I added about 6-7 Tbsps. of flour during the kneading cycle in my bread machine. Then it worked out ok. I still had to flour the board like crazy when I rolled it out so it didn't stick to everything. I made 4 small calzones (baked for 30 min. at 375) and rolled the rest of the dough up into a little stromboli roll that I froze for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Very good recipe! I made the top like garlic bread by spreading butter and putting parm cheese and garlic powder/salt on at about the last 5-8 min. Thanks =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This dough is the only dough I like to use now! I have tried many and thought I had found my favorite, but I use this now. One thing that makes a difference is the pan, too, and for my pans this recipe is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      These are AWESOME, that's all I have to say!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Wow! A big hit with the family. Great presentation too with the "braided" bread! Very easy and I did the numbers to find out that it cost me under $5.00 to make! The only complication was figuring out "do we use our hands or knife and fork?" - Hubby used the utensils; I used my hands! YUMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This is a very good recipe. Very easy to make & the dough was very easy to work with. I personally added the flour & yeast last since this is the way my bread machine instructions are. I had also let the dough rise after taking it out of the machine for about an hour to give it more air. And we baked it on the grill with indirect heat for 1/2 hour. Made two nice-sized calzones from this. This is a "keeper". Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

    • on April 28, 2008

      OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!! THIS IS THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All my family LOVE LOVE LOVES this!!!!!!!!!!!! I made a mixture of about 2 tablespoon of melted butter, some garlic salt, and some Italian seasoning and brushed it on top before baking. I made six individual calzones, two for each person (only 3 of us were eating) with a little extra dough that I used for little breadsticks in the shape of our initials. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!!!!!!!! I am making this again tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! -Indiana State Fair Girl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was excellent. We made two personal size pizzas and 5 calzones. Very chewy with a crispy bottom and not at all "cakey" or "bready"---if you know what i mean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Excellent recipe!!! Would definitely make again..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      The dough was a little sticky coming out of the bread machine, but was still fairly easy to work with. After it baked, it was puffy and light, but nicely flavored.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      These were awesome! I made 4 calzones. I put pizza sauce inside and 2 with meatball and cheese and the other 2 had pepperoni, banana pepper rings and cheese. I folded over like a turnover and sealed the edges. Make sure to cut vent holes and they won't leak. DH loved these so much he said I can make them every week :) Going to try ham and cheese and steak and cheese! DH took one for lunch and said it was great the next day. Thanks for posting this awesome easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calzone (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.2
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    36%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 37.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 704.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites