Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Calves Liver and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calves Liver and Onions

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      Wonderful! So easy and quick to prepare and so delicious. I only made slight alterations. First I soaked the calves liver in milk - why - because my Mother said so - she's almost 90 and I'm not about to argue. I then followed your recipe. Besides the onions I added bacon like it has come served in some restaurants when I've ordered it out. I served it with creamed spinach and baked potatoes with butter, sour cream, bacon bits, and a little shredded cheese. I think calves liver gets a bum rap probably because the name prohibits people from trying it. It's great folks - give it a chance. Thanks for the recipe, now I can make it at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Delicious and very easy! Our grocery doesn't carry calves liver, so used beef liver - it was wonderful. Also good now that the sweet Texas 1015 onions are in season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2002

      This recipe is also great if you make a gravy to put over the liver and onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      This is a very good recipe with the exception that bacon is SO GOOD with liver and onions. I also simmer the liver in some beef broth; really makes it tender. With mashed potatoes is usually the way it is served in restaurants and the broth makes a good gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      This is GREAT !! I love calves liver, easy and quick to prepare. You did a TOP Rating recipe here. Mizz Nezz ? I did make a gravy, NO playing with my food this time! Got to go do the happy food dance!! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      My boyfriend had been wanting this for a long time and got it for Valentine's Day. He said it was better than he hoped! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I have rated this already because this is exactly how I love to do my liver. Sometimes I remove the liver and quickly make a gravy with the onions and serve with mashed potatoes -I'm on my way to the store. Fellow liver lover check out the other liver recipes too on Zaar 3 Oct 08 Love this easy recipe I added some mushrooms and because I didn't use any amount of oil (just a spray of Mazola) for the last couple of minutes cooking I added 1 oz brandy in 1 oz water to the pan, covered it and 2 minutes Mmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This was a smash hit, and I have to admit I was skeptical. But the family loved it. My husband told me it was the best liver and onions he has ever had! High praise from a man who usally remarks "I'm choking it down, aren't I?" when asked if he is enjoying his dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Just like my gram's recipe... Tender liver and sauteed onions.. Doesn't get any better than that! I saute my onions in a separate pan, so they will be ready when the liver is nice and hot and just out of the pan. Served with mashed potatoes and stewed tomatoes, it's a comfort meal fit for a king. Oh yeah, and lots of ketchup on the side for dipping... Mmmmmmm Goot! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I LOVE this! I fried bacon slices first and used the grease from bacon instead of the vege oil (ok, so not so great for heart, but oh-so-tasty!) and soft-fried onions in grease BEFORE cookind liver in same grease. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Great recipe .... but, wifey still refuses to eat liver no matter how prepared .. sighs ....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      I personally don't eat liver but my husband does and this is the way I prepare it for him. He loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calves Liver and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 348.2
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    71%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    calf liver

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites