Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "call the Fire Department" Hot Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "call the Fire Department" Hot Wings

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2002

      I have to thank you for this GREAT recipe!!! My boyfriend and I love hot and spicy foods. We have been trying a wide variety of Hot wings and we have to say by far you're "call the fire department hot wings" are the best yet!! Sincerely, Molly & Mark Baldur, Manitoba CANADA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      These are very good Buffalo wings, but the extra work involved with the breading and refrigeration didn't make much difference. Simply basting the wings with the sauce and shaking afterwards will provide the same flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      These were good, but not the best I have ever had. As another reviewer said, the breading did not make much sense. Also, I had problems removing them from the baking pan, so I would suggest spraying the pan or drizzling butter over them before baking. To my taste, the 1/2 tsp salt called for was not enough. Perhaps not adding the salt to the flour and instead sprinkling them with salt before flouring them would result in tastier wings. I also baked them at 425 degrees for the same amount of baking time to make them crispier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Hoowee! Hot and delicious. Only thing I did different was to throw these after baking into a crock pot with the sauce and let it simmer for a couple of hours. We love super spicy, this is definitely super spicy. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      I thought these were pretty decent, considering they aren't deep-fried, which is considered the "authentic" way to cook them. I didn't refridgerate them, however, and they turned out just fine. I also turned the heat up to 400 about 1/2 way through, which seemed to make them a bit crispier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      OMG, THESE WERE GREAT!!!! I made these for my daughters Sweet 16 bday, they all loved them!! Yeah cleaning the pan aftewards was a BIG JOB!! Even though i sprayed the pan, it still had to soak for a while. But they were amazing!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I made these for New Year's Day and they were a huge hit with my family and friends. I put them in the crockpot after they were done baking and kept them on low all afternoon. It seemed the longer they were in the crockpot, the better the flavor got! The only things I changed in the recipe was that I used Frank's Red Hot Buffalo wing sauce and I raised the temp. on the oven to 400 degrees for the last 20 minutes of baking to make them more crispy. Thanks for posting this recipe! We will be making these again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Great hot wing recipe! I made as directed, and loved the way the wings themselves turned out -- I'll use that method no matter what sauce I through on them. I really liked the sauce but my husband didn't care for the vinegar-y taste...so maybe next time I'll skip the tabasco? Otherwise we both really really enjoyed these. I didn't coat the wings, just served the sauce in a dish along with a dish of ranch to dip. These will definitely be made again! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I've been obsessed w/ a pizza place that makes what I think are perfect wings. Unfortunately, it's in a different state, so I can't just swing by. So, I took up my search on Zaar, and yours was the first recipe I thought might be close. I've just whipped up a batch, and I have to say....they are exactly what I'd hoped they'd be!! I never thought to add Tabasco! It gives the sauce that tangy, vinegar-like flavor that makes the wings not only hot but very, very flavorful. Thank you so much for a super recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I love these wings!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      These are one of the better recipes for hotwings that I"ve tried to use w/my family of MEN. These got high marks for taste and HOTNESS. I'm glad I came upon this and in fact I've had it saved to use for some time. This will be a repeat maker and I"m glad you posted Kim.!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Wow! Took it to the Superbowl Party and someone commented that if a prize were given for the best tailgate food, we would win. Perfect spice. We substituted Louisiana Hot Sauce for Frank's red hot cayenne pepper sauce. Two days later, they still taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I'm not sure why internetnut would make wings called "call the fire department hot wings" for children, it seems to have influenced her review! This recipe turned out great for me! Very nicely spiced and the wings came out lightly crisp and tasty! Thanks for posting this great recipe, Kim D. It's a keeper at my house (my BF REALLY loved these!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      The way your wings taste makes my burnt finger worth the effort. They came out spicy and juicy and so addictingly each time I cooked them. Thanks so much for sharing this. <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

    • on January 08, 2008

      I gave these 3 stars. I've made these once again since New Years Eve. My future hubby told me he really liked them. I was disapointed in these chicken wings. But we decided to give them another try and twick the recipe and rerate it. I guess I was thinking they would be more like restaurant style the first time we tried them. I did make a few changes due to serving these to children 5 & 6 yrs old I reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp and increased the butter to 8 tbl and the Franks Red Hot by a tbl spoon or 2 more after trying the recipe as listed. My newphew 5 & niece 6 did not like them at all and thought they were still to spicy. I thought they were ok and a bit spicy. Then I redid the recipe as listed with the same changes as above except this time I added 2 TSP. white granulated sugar and a couple TBL. of ranch dressing. We really liked them after that. They were still spicy but not burning your lips off and they had flavor and we thought they tasted great. Overall I will make them again the way I did but my future hubby and I decided not use the flour next time as the skin comes off the wings when flipping them. We have decided to try defrying them first then coating them in sauce. Thanks for posting a good recipe Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Zowie! Boy, are these good! Loads & loads of flavour!! Quite easy to make, too! I baked for an extra 10 minutes to make them very crispy. The meat literally fell off the bone & they were so saucy - just the way we like them. After one or 2, my husband & I were both thinking that they could be a little hotter. But, after eating a couple more, we realized the heat was perfect! These were EASILY better than any wings I've ever had before!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      When I asked my husband how many stars to give this recipe, he said "17!!". These wings were awesome. We doubled the amount of caynne pepper and paprika, and they turned out wonderfully spicy and delicious. I as actually surprised how fell the flour coating stayed on, it was delicious. I think this is going to be our standard wing recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      These are great - easier than Hooter's Wings, fast to make. Loved baking instead of frying; achieved same results. Forgive me for tweaking a perfect recipe, but we like it very hot...sprinkled liberally with cayenne pepper after breading, added 2 tablespoons of Chile Habernero Sauce. Thanks for an excellent recipe for wings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "call the Fire Department" Hot Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (462 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 835.7
     
    Calories from Fat 419
    50%
    Total Fat 46.6 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 333.8 mg
    111%
    Sodium 1744.2 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 74.0 g
    148%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes