25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to thank you for this GREAT recipe!!! My boyfriend and I love hot and spicy foods. We have been trying a wide variety of Hot wings and we have to say by far you're "call the fire department hot wings" are the best yet!! Sincerely, Molly & Mark Baldur, Manitoba CANADA

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly Everett September 17, 2002

These are very good Buffalo wings, but the extra work involved with the breading and refrigeration didn't make much difference. Simply basting the wings with the sauce and shaking afterwards will provide the same flavor.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travis H. October 05, 2002

These were good, but not the best I have ever had. As another reviewer said, the breading did not make much sense. Also, I had problems removing them from the baking pan, so I would suggest spraying the pan or drizzling butter over them before baking. To my taste, the 1/2 tsp salt called for was not enough. Perhaps not adding the salt to the flour and instead sprinkling them with salt before flouring them would result in tastier wings. I also baked them at 425 degrees for the same amount of baking time to make them crispier.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie October 28, 2002

Hoowee! Hot and delicious. Only thing I did different was to throw these after baking into a crock pot with the sauce and let it simmer for a couple of hours. We love super spicy, this is definitely super spicy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm February 20, 2009

I thought these were pretty decent, considering they aren't deep-fried, which is considered the "authentic" way to cook them. I didn't refridgerate them, however, and they turned out just fine. I also turned the heat up to 400 about 1/2 way through, which seemed to make them a bit crispier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaneLi December 02, 2002

OMG, THESE WERE GREAT!!!! I made these for my daughters Sweet 16 bday, they all loved them!! Yeah cleaning the pan aftewards was a BIG JOB!! Even though i sprayed the pan, it still had to soak for a while. But they were amazing!! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NOT2PCKY September 11, 2011

I made these for New Year's Day and they were a huge hit with my family and friends. I put them in the crockpot after they were done baking and kept them on low all afternoon. It seemed the longer they were in the crockpot, the better the flavor got! The only things I changed in the recipe was that I used Frank's Red Hot Buffalo wing sauce and I raised the temp. on the oven to 400 degrees for the last 20 minutes of baking to make them more crispy. Thanks for posting this recipe! We will be making these again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeano09 February 04, 2011

Great hot wing recipe! I made as directed, and loved the way the wings themselves turned out -- I'll use that method no matter what sauce I through on them. I really liked the sauce but my husband didn't care for the vinegar-y taste...so maybe next time I'll skip the tabasco? Otherwise we both really really enjoyed these. I didn't coat the wings, just served the sauce in a dish along with a dish of ranch to dip. These will definitely be made again! Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo July 07, 2010

I've been obsessed w/ a pizza place that makes what I think are perfect wings. Unfortunately, it's in a different state, so I can't just swing by. So, I took up my search on Zaar, and yours was the first recipe I thought might be close. I've just whipped up a batch, and I have to say....they are exactly what I'd hoped they'd be!! I never thought to add Tabasco! It gives the sauce that tangy, vinegar-like flavor that makes the wings not only hot but very, very flavorful. Thank you so much for a super recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B H. February 20, 2010
"call the Fire Department" Hot Wings