Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / California-Style Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    California-Style Chicken

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2002

      This was just excellent!! I cut the recipe in half for the two of us and it turned out great!! The garlic was especially good and the combination of tastes were mouth watering. Served it with boiled parsely and chives potatoes and a green salad. Excellent dinner Mysterygirl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2002

      This was excellent! Since there are only 2 of us, I used boneless skinless breasts for the chicken, and added 1/4 of a cup of chicken broth to the wine and lemon mixture. (The boneless breasts don't provide much "juice".) The only thing I would do differently next time is to increase the amount of sauce fixin's. I made macaroni and cheese and baked crumb-topped tomatoes to go with this, but we could have made a meal out of the crusty bread and this chicken recipe! Next time I won't work so hard... :o) Thanks for a great recipe, Mysterygirl, this will get used often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      Excellent, Mysterygirl!! So tender & delicious - I will definitely make this again. Even fussy DH loved it! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      Fabulous, easy recipe! The house smelled wonderful and we loved it even more when we ate it. Didn't have heads of fresh garlic, so I used minced garlic (in water) - worked well, but next time I will use fresh garlic. Good bread for sopping up garlic/sauce is a must. Served it w/Garlic Mashed potatoes (from a box) and a fresh spinach salad. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Made this last night for my DH and he loved it! Definitely need the bread for the juices. I used 3 boned and skinned chicken breasts and it was tender and moist and delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Very clever, using spices and herbs to cut down on sodium. I removed all the skin before cooking, yet the chicken was so tender, not dry. It's so light and healthy. The wine, combined with a mixture of dried and fresh spices created a pleasant aroma while the food was being cooked. I served mine with rice accompanied by a glass of white wine. Superb! Thanks for posting your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

      Very good but if you are using skinless, boneless breasts you need to cut back on the cooking time. I baked it for 50 minutes and that was way too long. Also I added the chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      Excellent blend of flavors!!! I am a garlic lover and this was wonderful but not overwhelming for the non garlic lover as has been stated before. Easy preperation. This is a keeper. Thanks for posting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      My kids loved it. The chicken was so tender. Its a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Good one, mysterygirl! The garlic isn't overpowering at all. Since I don't like celery, we substituted portobellini mushrooms and it tasted great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2002

      Very Good! We love garlic, so this hit the spot. I used a package of thighs instead of a whole chicken, and I didn't have any lemon juice so I used lime juice. The house smelled wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

    • on January 24, 2003

      I wanted to do something different with chicken breasts last night and luckily had all the ingredients for this dish. I half the recipe since there was only 2 but followed the directions exactly. The smells were fantastic and the chicken came out so moist and juicy. I served this with some white sticky rice and sauteed zucchini. All the flavors especially with the garlic worked very well together. Once again you took my meal over the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      As Barb and I are both natives of San Diego, we just couldn't resist a recipe with California in the title. And it was terrific. Mysterygirl, you did it again! I didn't change anything, except to add a pinch of dried red chili. That is rare for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Simple easy recipe that produced heavenly flavors - Right mysterygirl have something to sop up the juices Thanks for another favoriye chicken recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Loved this chicken dish, the garlc was soft and sweet. Halved the recipe for the two of us with no problem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Didn't taste at all like I thought it would, and the garlic cloves turned a sickly shade of green after being cooked. And the chicken didn't even have that much garlic flavor either :/ The cloves themselves tasted good I guess, but the breasts just tasted like boiled chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

    • on February 13, 2011

      We didn't like this. It was surprisingly bland given the ingredients used. Plus, some of the garlic wasn't very well cooked. We won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      this was so easy to throw together, yet looked so elegant! i cut the recipe in half since i had 3 large chicken breasts that i cut in half to make 6 pieces. made as written except used a combination of chicken broth, beer and lemon juice since i didn't have any white wine. oh and i used fresh basil and thyme on the chicken since i didn't have any fresh oregano. i also sprinkled the veggies liberally with salt and pepper too. i loved the flavor combination of celery, onion, garlic and fresh parsley. this is a keeper. will make again and again!! served with greek roasted potatoes. next time will try with angel hair pasta and toss in the juices from the pan. thanks again for a fab recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for California-Style Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (511 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 859.1
     
    Calories from Fat 484
    56%
    Total Fat 53.8 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 255.1 mg
    85%
    Sodium 572.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 66.1 g
    132%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes