Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / California Pizza Kitchen's Dakota Smashed Pea & Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    California Pizza Kitchen's Dakota Smashed Pea & Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2009

      Always amazing. Only thing I'd say if you are making this for the first time, watch the heat under the soup after it's blended and the barley and veggies are added. It sticks like something out of a horror movie if you don't stir often! So lower the heat and stir a lot, and you won't be sorry. This is amazing next day, served like a dip using saltines for dipping. MMMM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This soup is amazing in the restaurant and this recipe makes a very close match...although I made a few changes based on the other reviews and my personal preference. I went 6 cups of vegetable broth and 4 cups of water. I increased the garlic to 3 cloves, and the onion to 1 whole medium sweet onion which I then sauteed in a little bit of olive oil before adding the liquids, peas, etc. I also added a little extra thyme, parsley, pepper, & lemon juice. The barley I used only called for 1 cup of barley to 2- 1/2 cups of water for about 50 minutes, I would suggest following the packaging for the barley you use. I chose to puree the veggies with the peas and then added the barley. It was delicious, even without the green onion on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      We're fans of pea soup and we thought this was a great recipe. The barley gave it some heft and a pleasing texture. I made the soup in the morning and served it that night. It really thickened up, more than other recipes I've tried. I add some water before reheating and it still tasted great. I didn't feel any of the flavor was diluted. Thanks for posting this tasty, healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      This soup was so flavorful & filling. I used all homemade broth (made from the carcasses of 2 Sam's Club chickens.) I omitted the salt. I added 1/8 tsp. dried basil. I added 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce to the barley cooking liquid, and did not puree the soup (We like it chunky.) Thank you, Roosie, for a great soup for eating by the fire on a cold day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly. I ended up adding more salt and pepper after serving it, but it was the perfect dinner with a soft roll. Kind of time consuming, but well worth the wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This recipe tastes exactly like CPK's soup. The second time I made it, I increased the minced onion to 1/2 c, upped the salt to 1.5 tsp and the white pepper to 1/2 tsp. We liked it even better with these changes. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This was good. My husband really liked it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Tasted just like all other split pea soups I've had...not bad, but not as amazing as the reviews had me psyched up for. I think next time, I'll only use 4 or 5 cups of water, and I'll put the barley in with the peas and simmer everything together. (I felt the barley had absolutely no taste.) But I do appreciate you sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Excellent soup. It did need more salt. Or as others suggested less water and more broth. I couldnt find any split pease so used whole ones (still dry and uncooked) and used no celery because I ran out. My husband, a big meat fan, put sliced sausage in his bowl. He also put dijon mustard in his because that is what finns do to their pea soups. I went without the meat or mustard and we both loved it. My first time using dry peas and it was a very good experience. Thank you Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Wow what a great find- We had this soup at CPK and I had been trying to guess the ingredients I was so pleased to see that somebody figured it out. My only recommendation is add a little more salt to taste or maybe one less cup water and one more cup broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I will be making this again and again. I halved the recipe since I was cooking for 3 people and didn't make any changes except I upped the thyme to almost a full tsp and added some basil as well. I added all the barley called for and it was quite thick, but everyone in my house loves barley, so we didn't mind. We ate this as a meal with salad and dinner rolls, but it was so filling I don't think we needed the salad or rolls. I made it in the morning and by the time I reheated it for supper the flavour had really enhanced and was even more delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Excellent soup. I didn't have any thyme on hand but it was still very good without it. I made this vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. Soup gets better the longer is sits. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Wonderful combination of ingredients. I especially liked the barley. I used broth rather than water to cook the barley. I liked a bit of texture left in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Oops!!! I also added a whole onion and 5 cloves of garlic to give it that extra flavorful boost!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Wow! I got split peas to try this recipe, first time cooking with them. Healthy, delicious, and budget friendly. I'm trying to figure out what the catch here is. Can't wait to finish the leftovers, here. Thanks so much for adding this to my "make often" file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was so amazing. We shared it with my neighbor and she's still talking about it (6 months later). SOOO good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I was looking for something different to do with pea soup and stumbled on this. I used quick barley and otherwise made it as written. Never had California Pizza Kitchen's but this is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I have had this soup at the restaurant and it is so good. They make it vegan style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      Our family sampled a bowl of this at California Pizza Kitchen and loved it. This recipe is a close approximation. My children really enjoyed this soup, and it was eaten quickly. I may try using more veggie broth and less water the next time I make it. It is a balanced recipe, and a fabulous foundation for any split pea soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I have tried several different recipes for pea soup and this by far is the best....not bland at all! May want to add extra pepper but it really doesnt need it! and easy to make! I use the veggie broth , never even tried chicken broth : next time maybe i will give it a try but with the veggie broth its really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for California Pizza Kitchen's Dakota Smashed Pea & Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (566 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.7
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    94%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 696.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 15.1 g
    60%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes