28 Reviews

Always amazing. Only thing I'd say if you are making this for the first time, watch the heat under the soup after it's blended and the barley and veggies are added. It sticks like something out of a horror movie if you don't stir often! So lower the heat and stir a lot, and you won't be sorry. This is amazing next day, served like a dip using saltines for dipping. MMMM.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bekajoi June 03, 2009

This soup is amazing in the restaurant and this recipe makes a very close match...although I made a few changes based on the other reviews and my personal preference. I went 6 cups of vegetable broth and 4 cups of water. I increased the garlic to 3 cloves, and the onion to 1 whole medium sweet onion which I then sauteed in a little bit of olive oil before adding the liquids, peas, etc. I also added a little extra thyme, parsley, pepper, & lemon juice. The barley I used only called for 1 cup of barley to 2- 1/2 cups of water for about 50 minutes, I would suggest following the packaging for the barley you use. I chose to puree the veggies with the peas and then added the barley. It was delicious, even without the green onion on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
make.bake.eat. January 19, 2009

We're fans of pea soup and we thought this was a great recipe. The barley gave it some heft and a pleasing texture. I made the soup in the morning and served it that night. It really thickened up, more than other recipes I've tried. I add some water before reheating and it still tasted great. I didn't feel any of the flavor was diluted. Thanks for posting this tasty, healthy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 22, 2013

This soup was so flavorful & filling. I used all homemade broth (made from the carcasses of 2 Sam's Club chickens.) I omitted the salt. I added 1/8 tsp. dried basil. I added 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce to the barley cooking liquid, and did not puree the soup (We like it chunky.) Thank you, Roosie, for a great soup for eating by the fire on a cold day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inklady February 04, 2013

I followed the recipe exactly. I ended up adding more salt and pepper after serving it, but it was the perfect dinner with a soft roll. Kind of time consuming, but well worth the wait!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice August 08, 2011

This recipe tastes exactly like CPK's soup. The second time I made it, I increased the minced onion to 1/2 c, upped the salt to 1.5 tsp and the white pepper to 1/2 tsp. We liked it even better with these changes. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mathnerd November 11, 2009

This was good. My husband really liked it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo June 24, 2009

Tasted just like all other split pea soups I've had...not bad, but not as amazing as the reviews had me psyched up for. I think next time, I'll only use 4 or 5 cups of water, and I'll put the barley in with the peas and simmer everything together. (I felt the barley had absolutely no taste.) But I do appreciate you sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom November 01, 2008

Excellent soup. It did need more salt. Or as others suggested less water and more broth. I couldnt find any split pease so used whole ones (still dry and uncooked) and used no celery because I ran out. My husband, a big meat fan, put sliced sausage in his bowl. He also put dijon mustard in his because that is what finns do to their pea soups. I went without the meat or mustard and we both loved it. My first time using dry peas and it was a very good experience. Thank you Roosie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin October 23, 2008

Wow what a great find- We had this soup at CPK and I had been trying to guess the ingredients I was so pleased to see that somebody figured it out. My only recommendation is add a little more salt to taste or maybe one less cup water and one more cup broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
popekitty July 06, 2008
California Pizza Kitchen's Dakota Smashed Pea & Barley Soup