Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / California Pizza Kitchens Bbq Chicken Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    California Pizza Kitchens Bbq Chicken Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2013

      Delish! I made a few changes though: I used less mayo and more buttermilk, I used store bought tortilla strips, and I used fake chicken to make it vegetarian. I like to use Jack Daniels BBQ sauce to pour over the chicken. Also, adding avocado is a MUST! The dressing is even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Absolutely, sinfully, delicious. Oh, I didn't mention that caution should be used. It is also addictive. Wonder why California Pizza Kitchen doesn't have a restaurant in Southwest Denver, Southwest Plaza? Bear Valley? Pinehurst area? Please?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This is one of my all time favorites! I crave it sprinkled with lime juice in the summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Great salad! This did take a lot of time, marinating/grilling chicken, making the dressing, & chopping the veggies. The dressing was even better the next day. I used crushed tortilla chips instead of frying my own.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Love this salad! It is a regular at my house. When I am an a hurry, I just make Hidden Valley Ranch from the packet and but pre-made tortilla strips (near the croutons in the grocery store.) Never use bottle ranch, it ruins the salad. When making to use as a side salad, I just leave out the chicken and it is still fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      All the flavors are so delicious together in this! Made at home this was healthier and even better than the restaurant version. We made this low fat by omitting the cheese and using baked chips and low fat dairy products in the dressing. You could easily halve the dressing and still have plenty, it makes about 2 cups. Though it is so good on its own, having leftover dressing is not a bad thing. We also omitted the salt, used more beans and fresh corn. The crunch with the spice and smokiness is great in this entree salad, it definitely lives up to its name.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This salad is fantastic! It is my favortie salad ever and I know you will love it also

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      this is a great recipe..however you can pick up the pre-made dressing from cpk for like $4 and add it to your salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I made this for lunch today and it was delicious! Made just as posted except I didn't use corn tortillas for the strips because I had bought the wrongs ones... I will be making this again! Thanks for posting! Made for Photo tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I made this for lunch today and my co-worker and I loved it! I'm not one to spend a whole lot of time putting a salad together so I used Tyson Grilled Chicken Strips (tossed with the barbecue sauce) and Santa Fe Style Tortilla Strips. I took the salad ingredients to work in 2 separate containers along with separate containers of the chicken, dressing and tortilla strips. We each put our salad together and added a little barbecue sauce to the ranch dressing. This salad will definitely be added to my lunch rotation. Yummy! Thanks for sharing, Sharon. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      This is an amazing salad! My family always orders it at the restaurant, and we were all surprised at how similar the recipe was to the original. Especially since it is so simple! I didn't even make the ranch or tortillas, but, for convenience, used a quality refrigerated version and crunched tortilla chips. I left out the basil and went a little easy on the cilantro. The jicama and the cilantro are what make the salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      This was a very tasty dish. I think there is a mistake on this recipe because when I made the dressing, it seemed like way too much mayo. I see there is another pizza kitchen recipe (http://www.recipezaar.com/121582) that I believe has a better ratio as I ended up with ALOT of dressing leftover. I accidentally forgot to add the cheese but didn't miss it. I ended up spending quite a bit of time in the kitchen because of all the steps so next time, I would probably grill the chicken the day before to speed things up. I used white corn tortillas, light mayo, low sodium soy sauce, & light sour cream. I would also probably use regular mustard since the mustard/water combo didn't mix in too well with the other ingredients eventhough I used a mixer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Really yummy salad! I was afraid the chicken would be too salty, but in the context of the salad, it was just fine. I halved the recipe and had more than enough for 3 people for lunch. I used less tomatoes than called for so DS wouldn't have so many to pick out :) Loved the tortilla strips! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Wow! What an excellent salad! It does take some time to make so plan ahead. I did leave out the jicama and corn because of picky eaters and I used leftover barbecued boneless chicken breasts from a previous meal. The salad dressing is just right on the salad. I was able to use all fresh herbs from my garden and it was yummy. I did whisk the dressing ingredients together be cause I did not want to mix in too much air with my KitchenAid and it worked out fine. Thank you so much for posting such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Use bottled fresh buttermilk ranch (Whole Foods has a good one) and skip the tortilla strips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for California Pizza Kitchens Bbq Chicken Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (986 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1035.4
     
    Calories from Fat 411
    39%
    Total Fat 45.7 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 17.5 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 152.1 mg
    50%
    Sodium 2870.0 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.1 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 21.1 g
    84%
    Sugars 31.4 g
    125%
    Protein 56.0 g
    112%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes