Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Calamari Mediterranean Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calamari Mediterranean

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2015

      Spectacular! And I didn't have the parsely, ancho chili or white wine! Used a couple tablespoons of white wine vinegar instead. Used about half the pepper flakes and 2/3 of the cumin. <br/><br/>I didn't squeeze the raw calamari completely dry and think that made for an even more flavorful sauce. Wonderful to sop with the baguette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This was a very nice use of calamari. I didn't take the time to roast the garlic and it was still very flavorful. I really liked the flavors from the ancho and parsley which paired well with the acid from the limes. Will absolutely make this this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This was pretty good. I noticed a taste from the canned diced tomatos... Next time I'll use fresh and I'm sure it will be better. But after eating the leftovers the next day, the canned taste wasn't there any more!! I didn't have capers or the one pepper. I only gave it 4 stars because I still felt it was missing something. I would have like a veggie or two more in it. But still a great base recipe to get creative with and make your own! Also, go with your gut with how long to cook at the end. There were plenty of juices so I just let it boil until the calarami tasted done. Still plenty of sauce left for my bread.

      BTW, I've never used wine to cook so I had to do research. I ended up getting Sutter Home Pinot Grigio from the little 4 pack bottles. One mini bottle is just more than what the recipe calls for so it's a great way avoid wasting a large bottle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed it as written, and it was easy to prepare and did not get overcooked or chewy. It is a spicy, flavorful, and lighter alternative to fried calamari. I served it with garlic toasts and a simple mixed greens salad. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Delicious! I can't get ancho chillis here but used plain green chilli instead. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I love calamari but not deep fried. This was perfect. I had a bag of frozen calamari rings (made for deep frying!!) and applied this recipe and it was terrific. I used a lot of garlic but did not roast it. Didn't have capers so left them out and used a drained can of diced tomatoes. It was still kind of like a soup so I served it in a soup bowl and loved soaking up the juices. Sure glad I found this one. Thanks ChefDebs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Made this last night. It was so good. I felt like I was eating something from a fancy restaurant. We had it with crusty french bread and sprinkled some parm on it. So Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Wow! This recipe was simple but really great! Instead of Ancho Chilis I used chili paste and omitted the capers. This was fast and delicious! I poured this over pasta and it was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      Yeah, it worked out really well. Super easy too once you get the calimari cleaned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calamari Mediterranean

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.7
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    74%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 267.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    calamari

    ancho chilies

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes