Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Calabacitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calabacitas

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2009

      We loved this dish! I have made it about 4x this month! Thank u for posting...I also added some cumin & minced garlic and used canned chilies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      We thought this was very tasty. The only thing is that the milk & cheese didn't come together well for us, so it wasn't as pretty as the pictures. I did add diced tomatoes and jalapenos, but the squash flavor came through beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      I loved this recipe. Made no changes; used two zucchinis and two yel squash. It's really a pretty dish. I ate it as the main course with a salad. For some reason, I was wanting mashed potatoes with this. I think I'll make some to eat with the leftovers. This recipe goes into my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      I was looking for a side dish to use up some of our garden zucchini. I didn't add the chili because I didn't have any and used a half a can of cream corn as that is all I had. I didn't add the milk just the cheese. Everyone loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Great recipe to use up veggies from the garden. Next time I am going to add some garlic to give it a little more flavor. Served with grilled chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      This was a great recipe. I did make a few changes. I added a few minced garlic cloves. I used chopped bell peppers instead of chillies. Also = instead of the milk & cheese, I decided to go non-dairy, and I just addded some chili powder & smoked paprika instead. Very tasty. Thanks for the inspiration, cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Very simple and very tasty way of using the humble summer squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Great dish! Only made a couple minor changes -- I added a couple tbsp of cumin and used white queso instead of shredded cheese. The calabacitas was great as a side dish, and it was also terrific served on chips, nachos-style. We put it in a covered casserole dish & took to a party -- we kept it warm & it kept just fine for the 2-3 hrs that folks were snacking/eating. Thanks for posting, cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

    • on August 27, 2010

      Yummy! I did add 1/4 tsp. of cumin as some others suggested and some garlic powder. I think next time I'll up the cumin to 1/2 tsp. and add 2 pressed cloves of garlic instead. Thanks for a new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      Very tasty and super easy to make. I will be adding this to my repertoire of squash recipes! I only wish I had had some zucchini for additional color, as I think it would have added eye appeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Yummy! I halved the recipe because we had only 3 people and wish I hadn't. I also added a pinch or two of cumin but otherwise kept to the recipe as written. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This is a really good summer side dish. I added garlic and fresh diced tomatoes to it as well as a about 1/2 tsp. cumin. I used cheddar cheese, but next time I think I'll try the Mexican mixed cheese as well as fresh off the cob corn. Thanks for posting; I will make this again and tweek it a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Ah, delicious. My ex's mother had a calabacitas recipe I loved, and I was trying to track down something that could approximate it. I added 1/2 tsp cumin to this, but omitted the chiles. My former mother-in-law's recipe called for a lot of bacon to be added to this. I prefer it without, but I might try some chunks of chicken next time. This is wonderful as a burrito filling. Soooo good. We also tried it with diced tomatoes instead of corn once, and that was delicious as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Very good! We really enjoyed this recipe. Made as directed, subing moteray jack for the cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      We really enjoyed this recipe! I added about 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp garlic and a small amount of bell pepper that needed to be used up. I had fire roasted poblano peppers (and corn) in my freezer, so I used those. Just now realized I forgot the milk but it was saucy enough. My carnivore husband said "These would make great veggie fajitas!" Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Great dish! Glad to have a veggie dish to make with Mexican food. I used frozen corn with zucchini; jalapeno in place of the chiles. Also left out the milk and added a bit of cumin. Used mozzarella cheese. Will definitely make this again! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Yummy! I made this as an alternative vegetable dish for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved it! I didn't end up needing milk though because I used canned chiles and they had enough juice by themselves even after draining them. I did sprinkle cumin on it and it was very flavorful. My DH suggested either a crust or a topping to make it more like a casserole. I thought it was very tasty just the way it was!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Corn Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calabacitas

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.2
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    37%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 7.4 mg
    2%
    Sodium 354.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites