Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2012

      You can add Jell-O or Kool-Aid mix to flavor these any way you like. I used strawberry and lemonade flavors and rolled each separately then laid one on top of the other to cut out. They were AWESOME !!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Oh my!!! We are on an extremely tight budget and I purchased cake mixes for a dollar a box. I tried theese cookies and they are beyond wonderful. So easy to throw together, I made 4 rolls and froze them. We are a small family and take out a roll for a treat after dinner. We get about 14 cookies a roll, very economic and the taste is so good, not to mention the smell. I am so glad I found this recipe and will try it out with other flavors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      When I mixed up this dough, it looked really sticky and I was concerned that it would not firm up enough to roll out. Well, fight the urge to add more flour!!! I scooped the sticky stuff onto plastic wrap and two hours later...a firm disc perfect for rolling. Oh and I used chocolate cake mix, as it was all I had, but it worked perfectly. Opens up a whole new world of cookies just by changing the cake mix flavors....maybe next time lemon or spice....oooh.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Just made this tonight for a last minute valentine treat tomorrow. AMAZING - so simple, yet so delicious. This is definitely on my make again list. Might even be the cut cookies for Christmas of 2012! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      This recipe makes wonderful cookies, and it is so very easy!

      I had initially intended to cut the cookies, but I had to change plans for the day and decided it would be quicker to make rounds. rather than roll into logs and slice, I simply rolled dough into 24 gram balls (I weighed them - blame my OCD), flaghtened them with the bottom of a tea cup, dipped them in red sprinkles and baked. In my oven i had the best results with a 10 minute bake.

      When these cookies cooled they were slightly crisp, yet still tender, thin and they melt in the mouth. This is a new family favorite recipe, my husband and kids tell me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This is a great little recipe if the kids say Mom, I need cookies for school tomorrow. These were simple to make, and quite tasty to boot! I took the advice of another chef, and just rolled them into two logs, put in the freezer for awhile and then just sliced and baked, so easy. Then I frosted them with icing, but they are good enough to stand on their own. Our family really enjoyed them. When I rolled them into a log, and sliced, they took on an oval shape, and when frosted they reminded me of an Easter egg, think I will make at Easter, and frost with different color icings to make a colorful plate for Easter time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Very easy recipe and makes a tasty cookie. I used a yellow butter cake mix and I did refrigerate for the suggested 2 hours. I used Jess's suggestion of making into balls and roll in cinnamon sugar mix. Each tray baked in 8 minutes and made 38 cookies. Next time I would add some vanilla or almont extract. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Very very good cookies! I made these as a quick treat for DD's birthday for school. She isn't much into cooking, so they came together just quick and easy enough for her to do. We did not roll them out. We rolled them into balls, then rolled them in cinnamon sugar mix, then squashed them a little. We also added a little orange extract. Awesome. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I used this recipe last weekend for a Girl Scout Christmas event. We made 200 cookies, cut them into gingerbread men shapes, and baked. At the event, the girls got to decorate their cookies with icings and candies. The cookies held up well and the results were fantastic! I will definitely use this recipe again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      These cookies were amazing. I thought that the cookie was going to taste like a yellow Duncan Heinz cake, but the cookies tasted like butter cookies. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      OMG!!!! I just made them for the first time for my Xmas cookies and they were totally amazing. So easy and taste like the old fashioned sugar cookies but with less work. My only took 5 minutes in the oven, but that's because my oven was on for a while. I will definitely make this again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I just got through making a batch of these for a Christmas thing I am going to. I used lemon cake mix. They turned out great! And so easy! Will definitely make these again and again. I didn't roll them out at all though. I just kind of made a ball about the size of a golf ball, maybe a litte smaller, and then slightly flattened it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I don't even roll the dough out. Just form it into a log and chill. slice and bake. Everyone thinks they're wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Soooo very good! How easy, too. Made for Easter cookies. THX!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I made these at Christmas and I'm making them again today. They are so yummy and simple to make. I used French Vanilla cake mix and it was so good. Today I have white cake mix, so we'll see how that turns out. Thanks for this awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      These are easy, but if I made them again I would be sure to use the old fashioned pointy style cookie cutters, because they puff up and tend to lose their original shape with the more rounded cutters. These cookies are super sweet. As in you still taste the sugar in your mouth an hour later. But they sure made my house smell delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Wow! These came out great. I had to use half butter and half butter-flavored crisco and I was kind of unsure about that; but all was good! I didn't roll these out so I didn't chill the dough first. I used a cookie scoop and got about 30 cookies out of the batch. I baked at 350* for about 10-11 minutes and they came out perfect. Thanks for posting this quick and super easy recipe! (I will try the rolled variety at a later date. This time I just needed plain round cookies.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      I was skeptical at first but this recipe was amazing. I am going to try it with other types of cake mixes too. Thanks for the awesome trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      Super easy!!!! Super good!!!! It's the only sugar cookie recipe I use anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      Quick and easy. My two boys were whining (when will school start up again?!) that they had nothing to do. We mixed this up, went outside for a couple of hours and they made the cookies. I was surprised how well they turned out. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (761 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.6
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    52%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 9.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 77.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes