17 Reviews

This batter is VERY stiff, as stated in the recipe...you will probably need to mix by hand. They do turn out cakey, but I like that about them. If you are looking for a crisp cookie, this is not the one :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= July 08, 2002

These cookies are really good and so easy to make. I used plain, non-fat yogurt in place of the sour cream and the batter was not stiff at all. Great recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Java March 23, 2003

The batter was extremly stiff. Too stiff for a hand mixer. The cookies are little puffy cake like things that are OK, but not spectacular. Luckily, my son will eat anything.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie1234 July 03, 2002

Okay basically these are so "stiff" that I could have kneaded the dough lol! I had to karate chop the dough with a wodden spoon to mix the sour cream and eggs in. Also it was SOOOOOOO STICKY! I mean dough adhered to EVERYTHING it came in contact with. My whole kitchen was chocolate when I was done making these... and one more note, make sure you grease your cookies sheets veerryy well too.... Well after all that you would think I would have hated these from all of the work haha that is HARDLY the case! The taste was an amazingly good this recipe made a very cakey very yummy cookie! I mean these were swoon worthy good, like bow down to the chocolate gods good! I made them with devils food cake mix with pudding in the cake mix already, also added an extra packet of instant pudding, and the some white chocolate chips I smashed up from a left over candy bar. I cooked these in a convenction oven at 335 F for about 10 minutes. Made about 36 HUGE cakey DELICIOUS cookies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme February 22, 2008

Wow you weren't kidding when you said the batter would be stiff! I added a TBS. of oil and that did nothing, added some water-that didn't help either, but didn't wanna add o much and take away from how they were to turn out. I used Dark choc. cake mix and banana cream pudding mix. Cookies taste like and have the texture of banana bread. My kids absolutely LOVE them, and I think they are pretty good too. Next time I will try a diff. combo and add choc. chips! Thanks for the recipe =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan W. May 29, 2010

This is about a 4 1/2 stars for me only for the reason that they're a little overwhelming if you eat more than two... or maybe that's just me!!! I just think they could have used something to sort of break up the cakiness in the cookie like chocolate chips or frosting. Definitely better as a dough! Very good, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emmy #2 August 18, 2009

I like these. I thought the "dough" was absolutely delicious...was soooo hard to mix. I used an electronic mixer and even that had a hard time. I put a little water in it, though, and I was able to mix it more easily. Otherwise, very yummy and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abbs <3 May 11, 2009

These tasted good, but didn't quite have the right texture for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eclairekat September 25, 2008

I subbed yogurt for sour cream and 1/4 cup egg beaters for one of the eggs. These taste great and are easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy January 19, 2008

Wish I had read the review about the yogart before I started. It was very sticky (my daughters loved that though) and I did have to mix my hand. I did not have a full cup of sour cream so I added a tablespoon of oil. (I only had 1/2 cup) I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract (I add that to every dessert recipe). ANYway, these were made for my daughter birthday/spa party and it was a hit. We used strawberry cake mix and vanilla pudding mix so that the cookies were PINK of course. Great recipe. Jennifer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjshort98 October 13, 2007
Cake Mix Pudding Mix Cookies (4 Ingredients!)