Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2006

      Thank goodness for a good cookie recipe that works when I am out of milk and almost out of sugar!! I omitted the cup of sugar, nuts and chips and added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I also did 1/2 cup of applesauce to replace 1/2 of the oil the recipe called for. I was going to add raisins but then realized I was out of them too!! These were easy and tasty too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Let me start by saying I have raised 5 children to adulthood with limited funds, so everything was homemade in my house - I am not, by any means, a novice cook. That said, I was in a hurry and thought I would grab an easy recipe for cookies and, unfortunately, chose this one. The batter was a greasy mess, they spread badly, and could not be removed from the pan without scraping, but when finally removed, crumbled into a still greasy mess. I am very upset that I have wasted the money on the ingredients and the time on these, and still don't have cookies to show for it. Stay away from this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      The cake mix part of this recipe drew me in and I am so glad it did. AFter mixing the ingredients together minus 1/4 c of sugar, I felt it was much too oily. I added in between 1/2-3/4 c flour and the batter felt more cookie like. These cookies came out great as per DH and B-I-L. They are sweet and crunchy. I dd add in a 1/4 bag of chocolate chips as well and the blend of oatmel and chocolate was a HUGE hit.
      I will make these often, and I mean often! Thank you for a very adaptable recipe. I am making them this weekend with raisins. Made these again for the From the Pantry Challenge Feb 2012. Jelly I love the ease of these and the "health" aspect of the oatmeal. The boys are working on redoing my pantry so this was a perfect fit for Sunday dessert. Served with ice cream of course.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I used this recipe with a butter pecan cake mix and omitted the chocolate chips and added dried fruit (cherries, cranberries, and apricots), and 1 cup walnuts. I used instant oatmeal packets (2 regular, 2 blueberry, 2 peach, 1 apple cinnamon, and 1 maple brown sugar). They came out wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I used 3/4 of oil after reading others reviews, even then the batter was oily, and the cinnamon chips that I put in glistened with oil. But after they were baked at 350 for 10 minutes they turned out perfect, crispy and a touch chewy. I used Betty Crocker Butter Pecan Cake Mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I found this recipe this morning and just finished a batch. After reading the other reviews, I made a couple of modifications as suggested. I reduced the oil and the sugar to 1/2 cup each. I also toasted my pecans in 1 TBSP. of butter on the stovetop before adding. The only cake mixes I had on hand were a white one and a marble one; I used the marble mix. I first mixed the batter without the chocolate added and made half of my cookies. Then, I added the chocolate from the cake mix for the remaining half. I also used raisins instead of chocolate chips because that is what I had on hand. I baked the cookies at 325 for the 12 minutes called for in the original recipe. They were absolutely perfect! I will definitely make them again. As you can see from all of the variations published in the reviews, this recipe is quite flexible and can be modified in many ways to suit different tastes. The next time I make it, I will omit the chocolate and try ginger and cinnamon. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This was a good cookie and very easy to make, however, with all the cookie recipes out there, I think I'll try another. The batter and end result cookie were too greasy. I would suggest decreasing the oil amount - I decreased it by about 1/8-1/4 cup (okay the kids splilled a little!) and it was still overly oily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      For cookies from a cake mix, yummy (although I think the serving size of 60 cookies is stretching it! :) I used vanilla, sugar free pudding along with taking the suggestion of using 1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 vegetable oil. I also used eggbeaters instead of whole eggs and only used 1/4 cup sugar. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I added butterscotch instant pudding and cut back 1/4 cup on sugar, but think I needed to cut back 1/2 cup. I think I will also put in less oil. Husband didn't think they were too sweet (he ate 4 of them before he went to work).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I used raisins and chocolate chips also used half applesauce for half of the oil. My son want me to make these all the time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      These cookies where very easy. I used Chef#177856 suggestion of not adding the 1 cup of sugar.My roommate has a little trouble with sugar. But they turned out great. I think next time I'll try the apple sauce thing too.Thanks for another great one Jellyqueen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      These cookies were delicious. However, I added NO sugar. Cake mixes are plenty sweet. I also added raisins and regular oatmeal. Recipe is definitely a "keeper" and so easy a child could make them. Needed longer cooking than specified.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I'm so glad I picked this recipe, JQ, to make in honor of your special day as Chef of the Day!! It's sooo easy to mix together, and the cookies came out cakey, chocolatety, and, just plain tasty!! I did omit the pecans (personal preference)but, added the chocolate chips. Mmmmm, good! Thanks so much for posting, and CONGRATULATIONS, my friend! Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      Used this recipe as crust for key lime cheesecake squares. It was great. I used one cup sliced almonds and one cup of coconut instead of pecans and chips. This recipe will make enough for 2 9x13 pans. I was worried about the amount of oil but it was needed to make the crust crunchy. I cooked the crust about 10 minutes before I put cheesecake batter in to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      While I prefer making totally homemade cookies, I used this recipe when making cookies with the 4 year old I nanny. I only had a box of white cake mix and that worked great. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar and only added oil until it everything was moist. I added raisins and chopped walnuts instead of the pecans. The girls loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Great cookie. Easy to make and they taste fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Boy I hate to be the one to break your 5 Star record :( These are very good cookies but waaaayyy too sweet for our taste. The first cookie was great but after that the sugar was overwhelming. Also they aren't the texture of 'real' oatmeal cookies which I don't fault the recipe for at all, just thought that should be mentioned. I added raisins and used walnuts in place of pecans - cinnamon would be a nice addition. I will make these again and either cut way back on the sugar or eliminate it (it is a very EASY recipe) and I think then it will be a 5 star for our family. I will take the remaining cookies to preschool for snack and I'm sure the kids will love the sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      I made these last night with a couple of substitutions: Golden Butter Cake mix, 1/2 cup oil and 1/4 cup "lighter bake", no chips and I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, raisins and walnuts. These had a great flavor, but were a little cakey, but it didn't really matter. They were really good and pretty darn easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Ohmigoodness! These cookies are awesomely easy and Sooooooo good! I made a batch tonight to put in the freezer for my Christmas cookie trays and they came out marvelously. Thanks for the terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      This a great recipe! I used the chocolate chips, but will not do so next time. I think the chocolate overrides the oatmeal taste. I liked the taste of the oatmeal and pecans. I too thought it was too greasy. I will try the applesauce next time. Thanks for posting a delicious cookie recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1659 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 108.1
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    52%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 6.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 59.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes