Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Italian Cream Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Italian Cream Cake

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2010

      This cake is wonderful! My husband said it made him feel "dirty"-like he was cheating on his all time favorite German Chocolate. I did alter the recipe slightly. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup water in the cake batter instead of all water. I also toasted my pecans and used them in the cake and the icing. I decided to make a layer cake instead of the sheet cake so I made extra frosting. This cake is one you want to make if you want to impress someone-it's that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This was scrumptious!! It needs to be made a day ahead of time and refrigerated. I made it the same day it was to be eaten, and it was good then. But, after being in the fridge overnight, it was sooooo much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Loved this cake. Made as directed into cupcakes, frosted and rolled the tops in coconut, beautiful and yummy, thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I absolutely love this recipe! No one will ever think you "cheated" and used a box mix instead of preparing from scratch! I made this for my mom on her birthday, and this has now become my signature dessert that I take to any gathering. I made it using 2 9" rounds and cooked for approx. 35 mins. I added a little extra coconut to the batter and added a couple of handfuls of GOLDEN RAISENS! (about a cup or a little more) Just gave a little surprise to the bite and made the inside of the cake so pretty. I also didnt ice the sides of the cake. I just put a generous amount of icing on the top of each layer, along with the coconut and allowed the cake to show through on the sides rather than being covered with icing. I felt that it gave it a more unique look. ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This was wonderful! I made the cake exactly by the recipe for a gathering, & I've never seen one disappear so quickly. Nearly everyone was asking for the recipe, & they couldn't believe it was made with a cake mix. I even cheated and used canned cream cheese frosting (with coconut & pecans on top, of course), and they were shocked to hear that, too. It was absolutely delicious! It's going to be my go-to cake recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      Stunning reviews from the teachers I made this for this week! I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 water as suggested in another review. I also had a cake mix that was a few ounces shy of what the recipe called for, and even though I used the same call outs in this recipe it came out great! I might make a bit more frosting next time however, and would add toasted walnuts again like I did this time to both the cake and frosting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      I'm not going rate this recipe yet because I'm going to make it again. The top layer of my cake started to split when I was frosting it. I think I will put the cake in the refrigerator overnight next time before frosting. The cake still was very good. My hubby had several pieces and really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This cake is so easy and delicious. My husband asks for EVERY time

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

      Delicious! This cake stayed moist until the last piece was eaten. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      Delicious! This is the first coconut cake I have ever made. The walnuts were the dominant flavor. We loved the frosting, which was just enough to coat 2 9-inch layers. I plan on making this again. Made for I Recommend tag game, based on rpgaymer's review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I've made this cake for three different birthdays now, so it's about time I give you a 5-star review. Everyone always loves it! I've always been way better at cooking than baking, but this recipe is very easy to pull off. The first time I made it I was surprised about how quickly the prep went. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Completely awesome cake! I made it for a work luncheon and received many requests for the recips and raves! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      I made this into cupcakes for a bake sale. Yummy! It will now be added to our family recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      This is the MOST amazing cake recipe!! I made it for Christmas Eve dinner and everyone raved about it. My husband and son both said it's the best cake I've ever made!! Because the grocery store was low on stock, I did make a few alterations to the original recipe by using French vanilla pudding and vanilla cake mix. I toasted the pecans for the batter and split the liquid with 3/4 cup half and half and 3/4 cup water in the cake batter. I made it in 2 - 9" layer pans and I only frosted the tops of each layer. I was a really pretty. Move over lemon cake, this is now the "go to" cake in our family. Thanks for sharing, Paula G.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      What a great cake and one we will have again. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I get so many requests for this cake. It is a favorite at work and church. This cake tastes as good as the original scratch recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I made these into cupcakes.... They are sooooo good!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      This recipe is amazing. I made the cake for my hubby's birthday. He is not big on sweets, but he loved it. All of my friends raved about this cake and they wanted my recipe. I am now the italian cream queen!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Everyone will just rave on and on about this cake! My dad is very hard to please and he said there was absolutely nothing wrong with this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      This is a great, easy recipe! A nice alternative to a basic white cake. I will admit I was a little nervous because the batter was thick, but the cake turned out moist and delicious and the frosting was so good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Italian Cream Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 671.1
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    49%
    Total Fat 37.0 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 86.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 574.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 65.8 g
    263%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes