43 Reviews

This cake is wonderful! My husband said it made him feel "dirty"-like he was cheating on his all time favorite German Chocolate. I did alter the recipe slightly. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup water in the cake batter instead of all water. I also toasted my pecans and used them in the cake and the icing. I decided to make a layer cake instead of the sheet cake so I made extra frosting. This cake is one you want to make if you want to impress someone-it's that good!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnneWilkes March 21, 2010

This was scrumptious!! It needs to be made a day ahead of time and refrigerated. I made it the same day it was to be eaten, and it was good then. But, after being in the fridge overnight, it was sooooo much better.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmisam2 February 01, 2011

Loved this cake. Made as directed into cupcakes, frosted and rolled the tops in coconut, beautiful and yummy, thanks for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio January 09, 2010

I absolutely love this recipe! No one will ever think you "cheated" and used a box mix instead of preparing from scratch! I made this for my mom on her birthday, and this has now become my signature dessert that I take to any gathering. I made it using 2 9" rounds and cooked for approx. 35 mins. I added a little extra coconut to the batter and added a couple of handfuls of GOLDEN RAISENS! (about a cup or a little more) Just gave a little surprise to the bite and made the inside of the cake so pretty. I also didnt ice the sides of the cake. I just put a generous amount of icing on the top of each layer, along with the coconut and allowed the cake to show through on the sides rather than being covered with icing. I felt that it gave it a more unique look. ENJOY!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeanPole March 19, 2009

This was wonderful! I made the cake exactly by the recipe for a gathering, & I've never seen one disappear so quickly. Nearly everyone was asking for the recipe, & they couldn't believe it was made with a cake mix. I even cheated and used canned cream cheese frosting (with coconut & pecans on top, of course), and they were shocked to hear that, too. It was absolutely delicious! It's going to be my go-to cake recipe from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outtatime August 24, 2013

Stunning reviews from the teachers I made this for this week! I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 water as suggested in another review. I also had a cake mix that was a few ounces shy of what the recipe called for, and even though I used the same call outs in this recipe it came out great! I might make a bit more frosting next time however, and would add toasted walnuts again like I did this time to both the cake and frosting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 May 18, 2013

I'm not going rate this recipe yet because I'm going to make it again. The top layer of my cake started to split when I was frosting it. I think I will put the cake in the refrigerator overnight next time before frosting. The cake still was very good. My hubby had several pieces and really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizDaCook September 01, 2011

This cake is so easy and delicious. My husband asks for EVERY time

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbyars1 November 23, 2010

Delicious! I added vanilla to the cake and used half milk, half water (i always do that). Was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonya_m35_11545863 March 15, 2015

I loved the Italian cake mix cake, but my children and hubby do not like coconut that much, ca I skip it or replace with ???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calabaza March 07, 2015
Cake Mix Italian Cream Cake