69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This made my cake much fluffier and softer. I didn't see that it made the cake much bigger but it was better. I plan to try it with cupcakes and see if I can get more cakes from one mix. I would recommend this anytime you are baking a cake. I used it on a white cake. When I made this with a chocolate cake mix I did notice a difference in the flavor. It wasn't bad just different. The chocolate taste seemed diluted. I'm not sure how to "fix" this..I am going to try it with a spice cake recipe and see the same thing happens. I will definitely continue to use it on white and yellow cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 December 23, 2008

This is such a wonderful extender. I used it for the first time to prepare a boxed carrot cake. It made a beautifully high 9" round layer cake that was so impressive looking, and the flavor was not affected in the least, it was so good. I followed candlelady9ah's suggestion of adding the dry ingredients directly to the dry cake mix ingredients and the liquid ingredients to the liquids called for in the cake mix then proceeded to prepare my cake per the package instructions. I'll never make a cake mix cake again without using this extender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie November 08, 2008

This was perfect for my two 9 inch round pans. If I wouldve just used the box cake mix as it, it would have looked so wimpy! Now with the extender I have a nice full cake that stands great on its own..No wimpiness allowed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeeCakes August 22, 2008

This recipe is fantastic to make sure you have enough cupcakes or if you want to make three layer cake or sheetcakes. Just be a little careful-depending on what flavor cake mix you're using, this extender can diminish the flavor slightly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linney August 15, 2008

Gross, i dont know why this came out so bad, i used everything listed in the amouts listed, and the cake ended up tasting like eggs. I had gotten my hopes up too because all the rave reviews. I used a Duncan Hines, maybe it is just the mix i used. If i get a chance to make it using Crocker, i'll try it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZeldaFan April 18, 2008

A great extender! I used a regular Betty Crocker yellow cake mix and baked it off in a 9x13 glass pan. I used a Chocolate/Espresso Pour icing to go over the top of it (which I hope you'll see on Zaar soon, as I submitted it the other day....it's delicious!). I just added the regular cake ingredients and then added the extender ingredients and mixed them all at once. The cake turned out beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Citruholic April 12, 2008

Worked out very well. I did add extra vanilla to a yellow cake mix for this recipe. It got a thumbs up from the entire crew. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn March 18, 2008

Laurie, wish I'd had this recipe years ago! I used to do cake decorating, and always wished I had a different way to get bigger layers without having to use two boxes of cake mix. Well, last week-end I made a birthday cake for my neighbor and she requested a white cake. I knew with one mix the layers would be flat since I have 9 inch round cake pans. This worked perfectly...the layers were high, moist and tender! After I frosted it with chocolate buttercream frosting, it looked like a layer cake from a county fair! She thought it tasted "out of this world"! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of Wilton Butter Flavoring just for good measure. Thanks so much for this great recipe that I will use in every cake from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel's girl January 29, 2008

This works amazingly well. I was asked to take a cake to a function tonight. Its snowing and blowing today so there is no running to the store for another cake mix. I used two of the small packet cake mixes I had in the cupboard + the extender and out came a beautiful chocolate bundt cake. Thank you this is a definate keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn January 25, 2008

this is simply a GREAT idea !! THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING WITH US this worked great for all kinds of cakes even my from scratch ones. they were very moist and tender. now we can all bake those killer cakes you pay a small fortune for at the bakery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladies of the Lake-eM Cee January 21, 2008
Cake Mix Extender