Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Extender Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Extender

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2007

      Laurie- Thank you so much for this recipe. As a teacher, I make several B-day cakes a year for student birthdays. An seeing as I have many students this comes in handy to save me some money and time. I only need to make 1 large cake now as opposed to two of them. Great recipe. I plan to try this with a muffin mix I am playing with to see how that adds up. THIS IS GREAT!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I tried this with a DH white cake mix and it was delic. Made cake moist and taste more homemade. Made a cream cheese icing flavored with lemon extract and orange peel to frost. Husband loved it. Will definitely use this with all cake mixes from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Great! I needed to make 24 cupcakes and wanted some extras (just in case). I ended up with 7 extra cupcakes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

    • on March 22, 2007

      Loved this! Works like a charm to make my boxed cakes actually fill up my 11X13 pan. It did not add any flavor to the cake, though. As a matter of fact, it diluted the flavor. When I use this next time, I will add some cocoa powder to chocolate cakes, more vanilla, orange, lemon extract, etc. depending on the flavor of the cake to maintain a rich flavor of the original cake. No complaints. This is a great idea and remains in my recipe box for generations to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I have used this several times with great success. I especially like to use it for bake sales as it enables me to stretch my dollar a little farther. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      What a great idea! I used this with Carrot Cake (Cake Mix) (Carrot Cake (Cake Mix)) and it came out large, fully and very moist. I was very pleased with the results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Used this recipe to increase the size of a birthday cake. I used a red velvet cake mix, and I think this extender toned down the flavors of the cake a little too much. I do feel that I will use this again, but with a vanilla cake mix instead. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I was making Ho Ho Cake and thought I'd try this since you cut the cake into 4's. It worked wonderfully. The cake was extra high and was really easy to cut. Thanks, I'm sure I will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      This recipe came in handy. I needed 26 cupcakes and didnt want to open 2 cake mixes. This recipe allowed me to stretch the recipe so instead of approx 20 cupcakes, I ended up with 29. I will use this again in the future with a 9x13 pan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      I had very nice results with this! It made a higher cake with the same great taste. I used it on a Duncan Hines Devil's Food Cake, it looked so much better than those flat in the pan cakes, I used it on a 9x13 cake. The only thing is I was out of baking soda, so threw in a smidge of baking powder, cake came out just fine. I will be using this everytime I make a cake from now on! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Wow, this worked out great for me. I was making icecream cone cupcakes and needed to make more than the 24 that the cake mix makes and I didn't want to make two cake mixes so I remembered I had saved this recipe, and then this recipe save me. It saved me time and money because it extended my cake mix to make 31 ice cream cone cupcakes which was perfect. I added a little vanilla extract to the batter as I was making a white cake. Thanks for the great recipe that I will be using over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      i stumbled on this because i was looking for a cake mix copycat. i have been cutting cake mix with buttercake from scratch with good results, but i found the cake mix flavour was still very pronounced, so i added this to the mix (packet cake AND butter cake made with half butter and more milk) to cut it even further. needless to say, i am very happy with the result i am getting now - a cake mix texture, without the packety taste and smell. i also reduced the baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon to avoid the soapy aftertaste with no ill effects. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      I was making cupcakes for my daughter's class (using a mix) and I realized I didn't know how many I needed. This recipe flashed into my mind and I quickly whipped it up and stirred it in with my batter. I got 30 cupcakes, filling the liners half full. My cupcakes look great and my husband happily sampled one for breakfast. This is a great recipe to have. Thanks Laurie! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      I needed to make a large cake for a community gathering. This recipe worked well to fill my 12x18 pan. Thanks for a simple solution. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      What a great idea! I needed a few extra cupcakes and this was the perfect solution. Used a Betty Crocker yellow cake mix, added dry ingredients with mix, then all wet ingredients together. It made 4 extra cupcakes, but all were larger than normal, really nice and fluffy, so I could have stretched it further. I'll definitely use this again! Thanks, Laurie, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      made this with a Betty Crocker Cherry Chip cake mix. It did not work at all, and my cake overall changed texture,moist cake but crumb was like a shortbread flake and taste. After all the good ratings, I thought this would be great, but to my dismay it was not at all good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      Great idea--wish I would have known this all my life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Excellent. Was in need of a dense and moist cake recipe that would hold up to fondant. This recipe is fast and easy. I also mix all dry ingredients together and wet together first. Although I love sugar I do cut back on the sugar by about a tablespoon. I also add some dry cocoa powder when extending chocolate cake.Thank you Laurie, this will be a treasured recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      I used this on a Butter Golden Cake in a disposable alluminum pan. It filled the pan perfectly, which never happens with a single cake mix. I'm going to try it with by bundt pan next. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Extender

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1088.0
     
    Calories from Fat 541
    49%
    Total Fat 60.1 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1335.4 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.8 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes