69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! What a great idea! I made two cakes for a church bake sale, both of them were different. One German Chocolate and One Pineapple Upside Down Cake. I used this recipe with both, and what terrific results! The Church Bake Sale said they put a higher price on both of my cakes and they sold FIRST! I made another Cherry Cake for home...the Extender Recipe made the highest, moistest and most flavorful Cherry Cake! This recipe is a real gem and a "keeper"

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB502 May 12, 2003

This is the BEST! I was out of oil, so I used 1/4C butter instead. I made a large sheet cake; it looks beautiful. The batter came to the top of the pan, was worried that it would spill over but it didn't. Will definitely use this when I make cakes from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Witchone August 15, 2009

I was making my DGS's b-day cake and needed a towering cake and this was just what I needed. I made a from scratch cake Blue Velvet Cake as his favorite color is blue. Then used Cake Mix Extender to fill it with and it turned out wonderful. As I was making from scratch I used Cake Flour instead of regular. So this works well in a box cake (as per other reviews) AND in from scratch. Thanks Laurie for a great idea.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 23, 2009

Love it!!!!!! Next time I use a lemon cake I'll add some lemon juice for stronger flavor. I made 2 cakes, one without the extender. The one without was drier and denser. Never again!! Thanks!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn717 April 09, 2008

I love this extender! I've used it several times, when I use it for chocolate cake I add a heaping scoop of cocoa powder (as someone sugested before). It always truns out great! (and really moist, too)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reddi sketti April 06, 2008

Bravo for the Cake Mix Extender Recipe!! It is fantastic--plus very easy. Needed to find something different for the birthday cake for my daughter-in-law (Christmas birthday) and since we are visiting at her house, I got on this web site and found this. Tried it and the cake was absolutely delicious--plus made a nice large cake. Thanks for sharing! Carolie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolie B December 28, 2003

I made a Coconut Ice Box Cake (found on this site). I used two 9 inch pans instead of the 13x9. The cake recipe I used called for slicing the two layers of cake in half and spreading the filling between each slices. Since a box mix just doesn't raise high enough, I used the cake mix extender recipe. The cake turned out great. I will definately use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clw721 October 26, 2003

What a wonderful way to make that cake mix go further. I will use this often. I have already tried it on a couple of different cakes and it was great. Did not alter the cake at all. I did add a little more extract to an cake that called for orange extract, just to be sure. It was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen October 06, 2003

Added this to a yellow cake mix and it was wonderful. Got raves from the people at work. You could see it rise while in the oven. Just fabulous...thanks for a great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judy in papaikou August 29, 2003

This cake mix extender is great! I used it with my regular yellow cake mix and my new convection oven and it made a great, moist and very tall cake. I used a 9 inch springform pan and I'd recommend using two smaller, more shallow cake pans for a two layer cake, so you have some icing in the middle also. Overall though, the cake rose well and was moist and flavorful. This will be a recipe I'll keep forever!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Renee April 20, 2003
Cake Mix Extender