Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Extender Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Extender

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2003

      This extender does wonders for a cake mix. I have always loved the convience of mixes, but was always dissappointed with the size of the cake. Well, this weekend I tried this on a layer cake, and no one would have ever guessed it was a mix. The only change I made was to sub apple sauce for the oil. Watching that fat you know. Anyway, thanks again. This is definately a 5 star tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      This is definitely a "Good Thing" I tried it with a devil's food cake. I did however add 1 heaping tsp. of cocoa to make sure it did not diminish the flavor of the mix. I also added all dry ingredients with dry cake and then all liquids. Thanks:>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      This is perfect. I used a red velvet cake mix and added all the dry ingredients together, then the wet ones. I baked it for 50 minutes in a dark 13x9 pan. The cake was *huge* and very moist, and adding this mix probably cost an extra 20 cents, if that. Great texture and the flavor was unchanged. I'll use this every time I make a cake from a mix. Thanks Laurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I love this! I added it to Moist Deluxe Dark Chocolate Cake Mix(Copycat-Duncan Hines) and ended up with 36 high, light, delicious cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Hi Laurie ! I used this to make cupcakes, from a box of cake mix. They turned out wonderful ! They were so light, moist, and full of flavor. The box said it would make 24 cupcakes. Well, it made 36 for me ! :) I sent the link to your recipe to my sister and my niece. I told them that I think that everyone who makes cakes and cupcakes should have this recipe. I had never heard of a cake extender before. I will never make cakes or cupcakes without this again. Thanks for a great new idea ! Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      I tried this and it worked just fine. I couldn't tell at all that it was in there except my cake came up to the top of the 9X13" pan I was using. I've made many wedding cakes in my day and I must say that I was very impressed. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      I've been using this recipe for several years on regular basis. I usually make cakes totally from scratch, but on occasion I will use a mix (like when I make wedding cakes - don't want to take any chances with them!) and whenever I do use a mix I ALWAYS use this extender recipe. I originally started using it to help make a bigger cake when using cake mix because, like everything else, they don't make as big of a cake as they did when I was younger. But what I really LOVE about this recipe is that it makes cake mix cake TASTE homemade. A from scratch baker can immediately tell if a cake (or cookies or brownies) were made from a mix. This extender recipe changes all that. I really love and highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      No stars for this time. I don't know what brand of cake mix you all used but I didn't notice any difference at all. I used pillsbury cake mix and baked as directed after adding the extender. I still got a very small cake. I used 2 round cake pans and no way did my finished product look anything like the photos. I'll try another brand of cake mix and see what happens.
      Update: I've made this twice now and have had excellent results. Perhaps the first cake mix was too old?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      This tasted great! It was very easy to assemble. I mixed all the dry ingredients, made a hole in center and added all wet ingredients. I used the cake extender with a fresh peach upside down cake (61190). I will pass this on to my daughter the baker and I'll put this in my recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! What a great idea! I made two cakes for a church bake sale, both of them were different. One German Chocolate and One Pineapple Upside Down Cake. I used this recipe with both, and what terrific results! The Church Bake Sale said they put a higher price on both of my cakes and they sold FIRST! I made another Cherry Cake for home...the Extender Recipe made the highest, moistest and most flavorful Cherry Cake! This recipe is a real gem and a "keeper"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      What an awesome, economical way to stretch a cake mix. I added this to a Pillsbury brand mix and it turned out marvelous. This adds almost 2 cups of volume in ingredients alone so I think earlier reviews about it not making that much difference is because it was divided up between two small cakes. If you add it all to one pan the difference is more noticeable I added all the dry ingredients to the cake mix, then added all the wet ingredients called for with the boxed mix and the extender all at the same time and mixed it together. Keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      This is the BEST! I was out of oil, so I used 1/4C butter instead. I made a large sheet cake; it looks beautiful. The batter came to the top of the pan, was worried that it would spill over but it didn't. Will definitely use this when I make cakes from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I was making my DGS's b-day cake and needed a towering cake and this was just what I needed. I made a from scratch cake Blue Velvet Cake as his favorite color is blue. Then used Cake Mix Extender to fill it with and it turned out wonderful. As I was making from scratch I used Cake Flour instead of regular. So this works well in a box cake (as per other reviews) AND in from scratch. Thanks Laurie for a great idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Love it!!!!!! Next time I use a lemon cake I'll add some lemon juice for stronger flavor. I made 2 cakes, one without the extender. The one without was drier and denser. Never again!! Thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      I love this extender! I've used it several times, when I use it for chocolate cake I add a heaping scoop of cocoa powder (as someone sugested before). It always truns out great! (and really moist, too)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Bravo for the Cake Mix Extender Recipe!! It is fantastic--plus very easy. Needed to find something different for the birthday cake for my daughter-in-law (Christmas birthday) and since we are visiting at her house, I got on this web site and found this. Tried it and the cake was absolutely delicious--plus made a nice large cake. Thanks for sharing! Carolie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      I made a Coconut Ice Box Cake (found on this site). I used two 9 inch pans instead of the 13x9. The cake recipe I used called for slicing the two layers of cake in half and spreading the filling between each slices. Since a box mix just doesn't raise high enough, I used the cake mix extender recipe. The cake turned out great. I will definately use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      What a wonderful way to make that cake mix go further. I will use this often. I have already tried it on a couple of different cakes and it was great. Did not alter the cake at all. I did add a little more extract to an cake that called for orange extract, just to be sure. It was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      Added this to a yellow cake mix and it was wonderful. Got raves from the people at work. You could see it rise while in the oven. Just fabulous...thanks for a great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      This cake mix extender is great! I used it with my regular yellow cake mix and my new convection oven and it made a great, moist and very tall cake. I used a 9 inch springform pan and I'd recommend using two smaller, more shallow cake pans for a two layer cake, so you have some icing in the middle also. Overall though, the cake rose well and was moist and flavorful. This will be a recipe I'll keep forever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Extender

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1088.0
     
    Calories from Fat 541
    49%
    Total Fat 60.1 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1335.4 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.8 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites