72 Reviews

This extender does wonders for a cake mix. I have always loved the convience of mixes, but was always dissappointed with the size of the cake. Well, this weekend I tried this on a layer cake, and no one would have ever guessed it was a mix. The only change I made was to sub apple sauce for the oil. Watching that fat you know. Anyway, thanks again. This is definately a 5 star tip.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audreymk February 25, 2003

This is definitely a "Good Thing" I tried it with a devil's food cake. I did however add 1 heaping tsp. of cocoa to make sure it did not diminish the flavor of the mix. I also added all dry ingredients with dry cake and then all liquids. Thanks:>

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candlelady9ah March 19, 2003

This is perfect. I used a red velvet cake mix and added all the dry ingredients together, then the wet ones. I baked it for 50 minutes in a dark 13x9 pan. The cake was *huge* and very moist, and adding this mix probably cost an extra 20 cents, if that. Great texture and the flavor was unchanged. I'll use this every time I make a cake from a mix. Thanks Laurie!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg May 22, 2003

What an awesome, economical way to stretch a cake mix. I added this to a Pillsbury brand mix and it turned out marvelous. This adds almost 2 cups of volume in ingredients alone so I think earlier reviews about it not making that much difference is because it was divided up between two small cakes. If you add it all to one pan the difference is more noticeable I added all the dry ingredients to the cake mix, then added all the wet ingredients called for with the boxed mix and the extender all at the same time and mixed it together. Keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Lockwood December 03, 2009

Hi Laurie ! I used this to make cupcakes, from a box of cake mix. They turned out wonderful ! They were so light, moist, and full of flavor. The box said it would make 24 cupcakes. Well, it made 36 for me ! :) I sent the link to your recipe to my sister and my niece. I told them that I think that everyone who makes cakes and cupcakes should have this recipe. I had never heard of a cake extender before. I will never make cakes or cupcakes without this again. Thanks for a great new idea ! Karen

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Anne Newton RN December 23, 2007

I tried this and it worked just fine. I couldn't tell at all that it was in there except my cake came up to the top of the 9X13" pan I was using. I've made many wedding cakes in my day and I must say that I was very impressed. Thank you for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamain August 15, 2003

I've been using this recipe for several years on regular basis. I usually make cakes totally from scratch, but on occasion I will use a mix (like when I make wedding cakes - don't want to take any chances with them!) and whenever I do use a mix I ALWAYS use this extender recipe. I originally started using it to help make a bigger cake when using cake mix because, like everything else, they don't make as big of a cake as they did when I was younger. But what I really LOVE about this recipe is that it makes cake mix cake TASTE homemade. A from scratch baker can immediately tell if a cake (or cookies or brownies) were made from a mix. This extender recipe changes all that. I really love and highly recommend it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef7147 April 09, 2012

No stars for this time. I don't know what brand of cake mix you all used but I didn't notice any difference at all. I used pillsbury cake mix and baked as directed after adding the extender. I still got a very small cake. I used 2 round cake pans and no way did my finished product look anything like the photos. I'll try another brand of cake mix and see what happens.
Update: I've made this twice now and have had excellent results. Perhaps the first cake mix was too old?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY October 12, 2010

This tasted great! It was very easy to assemble. I mixed all the dry ingredients, made a hole in center and added all wet ingredients. I used the cake extender with a fresh peach upside down cake (61190). I will pass this on to my daughter the baker and I'll put this in my recipe file.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb in Texas2 May 17, 2003
Cake Mix Extender