21 Reviews

These rise high and are soft and gooey. Made half a recipe with a Jiffy cake mix on dough setting of my bread machine and refrigerated overnight then let come to room temp in the morning before baking. No one could stop eating these warm wonderful easy rolls.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cadillack9 September 22, 2010

So here's what happened: I made a full recipe of these (one pan to take to my brother-in-law's and one to take to a buddy's place - both on Christmas Eve), and I refrigerated them on the last rise, took them out an hour ahead, and baked them in the morning. This worked great, and that's how I'm gonna do it from now on. I took the first pan to my brother-in-law's, and I had been saying how, though they look professional, I didn't know how they would taste, because I had never made cinnamon rolls in my entire life. Well, I am the family's resident "baker/dessert person," and generally no one listens to me when I say these things, anyway. My husband said they were disgusting and totally horrible (totally sarcastically, by the way). My 9-year-old nephew heard him and, between bites, said, "What are you TALKING about?! These are cinnamon rolls from HEAVEN, yo!" I followed the directions, exept that I used French vanilla cake mix, as mentioned in another review. As I mentioned, I did the overnight thing, described in the "About This Recipe" description, by Ridgely. Oh, I also used Ridgely's suggestion for the filling in step 10, and frosted them with cream cheese frosting (inspired by reviewer um-um-good). My whole family agreed that I should keep this cinnamon roll recipe. After all, they ARE from heaven....yo. :) Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 December 27, 2010

OMG these were good...I made recipe as is except with instant dry yeast( didnt have my glasses on,again),I didnt have fast acting anyways and had no problems they raised to a nice size also made these with Ridgelys filling changes as stated.Next time I will use less frosting,just our preference.. .My daughter and her husband went home with a pan of rolls, just me and hubby cant eat,or at least shouldnt eat 2 dozen ourselves..So, everyone was thrilled with this recipe.. The cake mix gives these rolls a texture I just love and the flavor is great. Will definitely be making these again..Thank Your Grandmother for me...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck March 24, 2010

These turned out really good. I used the cream cheese frosting on them. Very delicious and easy to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kizblk December 22, 2009

I made these this weekend and they are awesome! This is the best recipe I have found for cinnamon rolls yet! My husband, who does not eat sweets, commented the whole time they were baking how great they smelled and he ate 4 of them as soon as they came out of the oven!!! I used a french vanilla cake mix and icing for mine and they tasted fabulous! They were very easy to make and it says it makes 2 dozen but mine made 36! They were light, extremely tasty and not dry and biscuity like most cinnamon rolls! I will definately make them again and again and again and.......

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilynthompson97 January 13, 2008

The flavor is "okay", but you can tell there is a mix involved. It does cover up the yeasty flavor that regular recipes of cinnamon rolls carry. I felt that the rolls dried out way too fast and did not stay fresh long enough for me. In contrast, my family thought they were really good (and they are not as critical as I when it comes to food preparation, flavor, etc.). I used the French vanilla cake mix, because I previously used it in another similar recipe which specifically called for that flavor. This just did not impress me as much as the other one, but I do like to try new recipes. This is a quite decent recipe and suggest that everyone try it to see if they have better results.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie December 30, 2007

Wow, Ridgely! What a wonderful recipe. The rolls came out light and soft and they taste rich and wonderful because of the cake mix. I made a mistake an add the 1/4 c of butter into the dough instead of using it for the filling. But it didn't even matter. The buns are perfect. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB March 09, 2007

I've baked other cinnamon roll recipes,and wanted to try this one, for it's cake mix addition, and the different way of incorporating the yeast (I usually do a "proof" method)Not to worry! The difference was in the labor...this recipe is easier & quicker.Delicious results! Made a cream cheese frosting, and zip...thy're gone!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mares C. January 24, 2007

This is a super easy recipe and is soooo flavorful! I've made it twice now and the second time I had to make a double batch!! That's how good these are!! Thanks for sharing this supeb recipe Ridgely!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef mamma September 14, 2007

I have been using almost this exact same recipe for several years. I use white cake mix. This is the only recipe i'm always tempted not to share because these are soo knock-your-socks-off incredible! i too prefer cream cheese icing. This is what i use 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup icing sugar, 1/2 cup cream cheese, 1 tsp vanilla. (just blend together) on occasion i have added a squirt of lemon juice to cut the sweetness of the icing even more. These are wonderful!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good September 21, 2006
Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls