Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2010

      These rise high and are soft and gooey. Made half a recipe with a Jiffy cake mix on dough setting of my bread machine and refrigerated overnight then let come to room temp in the morning before baking. No one could stop eating these warm wonderful easy rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      So here's what happened: I made a full recipe of these (one pan to take to my brother-in-law's and one to take to a buddy's place - both on Christmas Eve), and I refrigerated them on the last rise, took them out an hour ahead, and baked them in the morning. This worked great, and that's how I'm gonna do it from now on. I took the first pan to my brother-in-law's, and I had been saying how, though they look professional, I didn't know how they would taste, because I had never made cinnamon rolls in my entire life. Well, I am the family's resident "baker/dessert person," and generally no one listens to me when I say these things, anyway. My husband said they were disgusting and totally horrible (totally sarcastically, by the way). My 9-year-old nephew heard him and, between bites, said, "What are you TALKING about?! These are cinnamon rolls from HEAVEN, yo!" I followed the directions, exept that I used French vanilla cake mix, as mentioned in another review. As I mentioned, I did the overnight thing, described in the "About This Recipe" description, by Ridgely. Oh, I also used Ridgely's suggestion for the filling in step 10, and frosted them with cream cheese frosting (inspired by reviewer um-um-good). My whole family agreed that I should keep this cinnamon roll recipe. After all, they ARE from heaven....yo. :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      OMG these were good...I made recipe as is except with instant dry yeast( didnt have my glasses on,again),I didnt have fast acting anyways and had no problems they raised to a nice size also made these with Ridgelys filling changes as stated.Next time I will use less frosting,just our preference.. .My daughter and her husband went home with a pan of rolls, just me and hubby cant eat,or at least shouldnt eat 2 dozen ourselves..So, everyone was thrilled with this recipe.. The cake mix gives these rolls a texture I just love and the flavor is great. Will definitely be making these again..Thank Your Grandmother for me...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      These turned out really good. I used the cream cheese frosting on them. Very delicious and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I made these this weekend and they are awesome! This is the best recipe I have found for cinnamon rolls yet! My husband, who does not eat sweets, commented the whole time they were baking how great they smelled and he ate 4 of them as soon as they came out of the oven!!! I used a french vanilla cake mix and icing for mine and they tasted fabulous! They were very easy to make and it says it makes 2 dozen but mine made 36! They were light, extremely tasty and not dry and biscuity like most cinnamon rolls! I will definately make them again and again and again and.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      The flavor is "okay", but you can tell there is a mix involved. It does cover up the yeasty flavor that regular recipes of cinnamon rolls carry. I felt that the rolls dried out way too fast and did not stay fresh long enough for me. In contrast, my family thought they were really good (and they are not as critical as I when it comes to food preparation, flavor, etc.). I used the French vanilla cake mix, because I previously used it in another similar recipe which specifically called for that flavor. This just did not impress me as much as the other one, but I do like to try new recipes. This is a quite decent recipe and suggest that everyone try it to see if they have better results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Wow, Ridgely! What a wonderful recipe. The rolls came out light and soft and they taste rich and wonderful because of the cake mix. I made a mistake an add the 1/4 c of butter into the dough instead of using it for the filling. But it didn't even matter. The buns are perfect. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I've baked other cinnamon roll recipes,and wanted to try this one, for it's cake mix addition, and the different way of incorporating the yeast (I usually do a "proof" method)Not to worry! The difference was in the labor...this recipe is easier & quicker.Delicious results! Made a cream cheese frosting, and zip...thy're gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This is a super easy recipe and is soooo flavorful! I've made it twice now and the second time I had to make a double batch!! That's how good these are!! Thanks for sharing this supeb recipe Ridgely!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I have been using almost this exact same recipe for several years. I use white cake mix. This is the only recipe i'm always tempted not to share because these are soo knock-your-socks-off incredible! i too prefer cream cheese icing. This is what i use 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup icing sugar, 1/2 cup cream cheese, 1 tsp vanilla. (just blend together) on occasion i have added a squirt of lemon juice to cut the sweetness of the icing even more. These are wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Made these for Easter.I adapted this recipe to make in the bread machine (half recipe on the dough only mode). These cinnamon rolls were light and a bakery quality roll. Topped with cream cheese frosting.Yummy! Tip use dental floss to slice the rolls.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      OMG! I have been trying for years just to get close to my mother in law's cinnamon rolls and have never come close. These were so easy and they tasted great. They were very soft and looked like a roll that you bought from a bakery. I am sorry but hers are still better ( my fault I'm sure) but at least I can serve these and not be ashamed. I made the recipe as directed except my husband grew up with butter cream frosting and since I did not have cream cheese that is what I used. I did not have rapid rise yeast either only regular yeast but it worked it just took longer to proof. I have always spread softened butter on the dough instead of melted butter and I think that I might prefer doing it that way nex time. I am waiting for hubby to come home from work to try them and I hope that he likes them as well as I do. Thank you so much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I have been the butt of the family's jokes. They always ask me who made them and if I made them they ask me if I had started a home improvement project that called for bricks again. This time I ask them to just try them. I never got so many compliments. I didn't let them have the recipe.lol

      Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

    • on December 31, 2006

      This is definitely not your "pop it out of the can and bake it" recipe :) Make it when you have lots of time. I used an organic cake mix (Dr. Oetkers), a little over 6 cups of whole wheat pastry flour, regular yeast (4 1/2 tsp), honey instead of butter. I was able to fit them all (20) in my jelly roll pan. My kids gobbled them up. The frosting is not a drizzly type unless you put more than 3 T milk in it. I just layed it on with a spatula. Will try the cream cheese frosting next time. Didn't have any cream cheese :( Oh, BTW, I used my Bosch to mix and knead the dough, so that helps too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Had these Christmas morning, about 5;am and they were great, waiting on Santa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I liked this recipe alot.. I used only 5 cups flour.. they came up great looking..., smells yummy.... (*<* ..Very good tasting... reminds me of the kind you buy in a roll... excellent ********* use triple cinnamon...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      O WOW, Ridgley! Never dreamed they would rise so high and be so good. Your recipe was a hit!!!!!... with my family and with my elderly neigbors. THX THX THX, Caroline

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 614.9
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    22%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 26.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 369.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 112.1 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 56.3 g
    225%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites