Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2007

      Made as written, these rolls were way too big & doughy for us. The middle rolls didn't get done enough. My husband liked the taste better than the cinnamon rolls made with crescent roll dough because they weren't quite as sweet. I'll make these again and make twice the number of rolls out of the same dough. Using 2 9"x13" pans to bake them in, I think they'll all be done enough. Thanks for the recipe. I'm updating my review & changing to 4 stars. I tried this again, using 5 cups of flour, dividing the dough in half, and making 32 rolls. I baked them in 4 9" round pans for 17 minutes, and they were "just right" for my husband. I used a "Cinnamon Swirl" cake mix with the cinnamon sugar packet included. Instead of dipping in melted butter & sugar, I iced them, after baking, with cream cheese frosting. I kneaded the dough in my Kitchenaid mixer last night, refrigerated it overnight, and rolled them out this morning. Very good & easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Before trying this recipe, I tried a recipe in my Betty Crocker cookbook. I had never even attempted to make cinnamon rolls before and those cinnamon rolls turned out tough and not what I expected. I was so disappointed that I didn't want to keep trying BUT I'm so glad I did because than I found this recipe and it was exactly what I was looking for. Soft and moist cinnamon rolls. Fantastic! I was very comfortable with the addition of the cake mix. I did need to add a bit more flour than called for to get the dough to come together but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Yum! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      These rolls are to die for! I won't be using any other recipe to make my cinnamon rolls. They were moist and just darn good! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I like it, didn't enjoy making them though--which was a big dissappointment because for me, that is the best part next to giving them away and getting compliments.I had to add so much extra flour to handle the sticky factor that I was afraid I was adding too much. Maybe I just need to make rolls in a small batch size. Might try it again with the recipe halved. Definately a recipe worth having to pull out of your hat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I made these and I found as well that they were very hard to manage. I had to keep adding flour on the surfact to even begin to knead the dough. The flavor was good but I felt they needed a bit more......maybe even a little glaze on top. I will make them again and change a few things.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I made these tonight for after dinner. I didn't have a white cake mix, so I used a Golden Vanilla. They smelled great and tasted great. I am giving it 3 stars because I had to add about 3/4 cup or more of flour to make it even a bit manageable. When I baked them, the center rolls didn't rise in the center, they caved in, but were cooked. Not sure why (I am not reflecting that in the stars). I will try these again with another cake mix, either yellow or white. Maybe even butter pecan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      These were a lot of fun to make, though it's a good thing I had a lot of time because they ended up taking 4 hours. I used a bread machine so that the dough would rise, as it wasn't really the ideal trmperature. I split the dough in half and froze half for later. I was able to make about 14 fist-size rolls with just half the dough, so your rolls must have been huge. I also had to add quite a bit of extra flour, about 1/2 cup each batch. The cake made it taste different.. not bad, but different. I'm not a really huge fan of cinnamon rolls except like this, when I make them, so maybe that's why I thought the flavor was just okay.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      I decided tonight that we needed this receipe for Christmas morning and it proved a brilliant idea. (see my picture). I used a Betty Crocker white cake mix which was 16 oz instead of the 14-1/2 oz because it's what I had. I added 1/2 cup flour. I added a little more cinnamon to suite our taste. I didn't do the butter suar thing on the top. Instead I used the Basic Vanilla Frosting #140486 by Delish. I Sprinkled on some nuts and raisins before applying the frosting. They were too delicious to describe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      Very delicious, and enjoyed by the whole family!!Great for a chilly winter morning. I loved the soft texture and found the dough extremely easy to work with. I did add an extra half cup or so to the dough while kneading. I also think it needs more cinnamon, for our tastes. I did have melted butter left over at the end, but not more than about a tablespoon's worth of solid butter. Great recipe, and thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      I've made this recipe at Christmas as the base for my Stollen, just by adding all of the fruits and nuts. Works out great

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      I used French Vanilla cake mix instead of white, turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      These were delicious! Everyone who ate them raved. The thing I like the best about them was they tasted fresh the next day. Thank you, Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

    • on September 28, 2005

      There are so many cinnamon scroll recipes on this site and I have made quite a few. I have to say this is THE BEST ONE!! The dough is melt in your mouth. I purchased a Betty Crocker Vanilla Cake mix which had vanilla frosting - this is what I used to top the scrolls once they had baked and were still warm - so it melted all over. I did not do the final brushing butter and white sugar thing. Brilliant - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Interesting recipe, but delicious! The dough was a bit sticky so I had to add some extra flour. The cake mix gave some extra flavour to the dough and I loved that these did not have a need for any icing after baking. The kids had a great after school snack and I froze the extras for a quick breakfast or snack another day, Thanks Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      These were wonderful! The texture was perfect... not too "cakey" and not too "doughy". The flavor of cinnamon-sugar was just right. I used a "French Vanilla" flavored cake mix, because that is what I had on hand. I also topped the rolls with a powdered sugar icing while they were still warm. My DH loved them, he even requested that the leftovers be put in his lunch box for his breakfast the next day. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1943 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.9
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    29%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 22.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes