19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this with a german chocolate cake mix-did not add chocolate chips-turned out moist -tastes amazing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy S. March 10, 2014

This cake is so moist!! I didn't even need frosting, I just added powdered sugar on top like the picture. I did not have devil's food cake mix on hand, so I used Pillsbury Dark Chocolate mix. This cake would be incredibly rich with icing!

Note: Do not tell your youngest child what is in the cake - they will refuse to eat it!!! 5 stars from everyone in my house (minus my youngest)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerKaty January 27, 2013

Absolutely delicious. I made cupcakes with this and they were perfect. Very moist and flavorful. They weren't too crumbly like some recipes, and held their shape amazingly well when taken out of the cupcake liner. That's another thing - they didn't stick to the liners at all. Will definitely make again, my husband says they're the best he's ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitneyrene March 22, 2012

Very good! Shared this with friends. Made muffins. They went very quickly. Thank you so much for the idea of using mayo - great when you want to use some up. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej January 29, 2010

Very nice and moist! When I went to make this, I noticed that I was out of mayo, so I whipped up a batch of homemade mayo (Homemade Mayonnaise). Even with that extra step, it was super, super easy and fast. This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama May 04, 2009

Excellent cake mix recipe. My husband enjoys dessert for breakfast so this was a real treat. Did not taste like a box mix, moist and very good. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCrawford October 14, 2008

Such a lovely, easy, moist cake! Enjoyed by all. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama September 23, 2008

FALL PAC 2008: Auntie - awesome cake!! So moist and chocolately!! Rose agreed (with chocolate all over her mouth)!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose September 22, 2008

So simple, but delicious! Everyone said it was "so moist", and they are absolutely right. I, too, used light mayonnaise and it worked fine. I made it in a bundt pan and finished it off with a lovely chocolate ganache. Thanks for an easy go-to chocolate cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain August 13, 2008

Cannot get Duncan Hines where I live, but used a different mix. It was delicious. I had a similar recipe clipping once, the choc-mayonnaise cake but lost it, so I was pleased to find this one! Thank you, AuntWoofieWoof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieSophie August 10, 2008
Cake Mix Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake