27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

prettttttttty good!!! i rounded balls and flattened them into disks on the pan. they did spread and ended up flat and a bit crispy, not like the picture. i didnt add any chips to the batter and theyre great anyway! the batter is sooooo good for chocolate cravings - dangerous, too! thanks so much for the easiest recipe ever!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chungry1 August 04, 2008

I made these cookies because I needed a chocolate fix and we got new neighbors in across the street from us and I wanted to bring them some. The first batch in the oven didn't spread out or anything. They looked the same coming out of the oven, as they did when I mounded them onto the cookie sheets. They looked kind of like chocolate rocks. Not very pretty. The second batch to go into the oven, I gently pushed them together a bit more, and flattened them. They looked nicer. We ate the "rocks", and boy were they yummy! I did add a handful of chocolate chunks, although they really didn't need it. I will bring the "prettier" cookies to the neighbors this afternoon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyW August 03, 2008

Excellent cookies! Just like the ones mom made - Chocolate Kringles, but easier. What I did that was different from this recipe was - 1st of all I did increase milk to 1/2 c. Then, I refridgerated dough for a few minutes. Next, I made dough into teaspoon size balls and rolled in powdered sugar. Finally, placed ball onto cookie sheet. Looked better than picture - brown and white cracks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Krasno December 06, 2010

I really liked the taste of these. I used a box of devil's food cake and added a 1/2 cup of milk as 1/4 didn't seem like enough. I also used canola oil. I used my cookie scoop and got 24 cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 28, 2013

LOVE this recipe. I've tried several cake mix cookie recipes and this is the best! I make these and make sanwhich cookies out of them, filling them with either marshmallow creme or cocunut pecan frosting, or whatever else I happen to have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheleone July 12, 2010

Probably the best cake mix cookie I've made yet. Very easy, quick and yummy. I added chocolate chunks to a German Chocolate Cake mix. Thanks for posting. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom April 30, 2010

Delicous and so easy! I made with white cake mix and green food coloring for St Patricks day-YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JamminJulie March 24, 2010

Very good and VERY fast! Perfect for the school treats that I forgot I was supposed to bring!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay March 22, 2010

Excellent and very simple to make. Came out just perfect! I also used 1/2 cup of milk as another reviewer had suggested. I used m&m's and also used evaporated milk (since I didn't have regular milk on hand). Also as a helpful tip, save about 1/4 cup of the cake mix and toss that with your chocolate chips or added nuts and then fold that into your cookie batter. By doing this, this will help to keep the chocolate or nuts within the cooking and not sink down to the bottom of the batter/cookie when baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 November 24, 2009

My family loved these cookies! I wanted to make chocolate chip cookies with my son, unfortunately I was out of brown sugar. I saw this recipe and thought it would be simple to make. I used yellow cake mix (the only one I had in the cabinet) and added cinnamon and chocolate chips! Delicious! I also used 1/2 cup milk instead of 1/4 because the batter was very crumbly. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa.gates June 07, 2009
Cake Mix Chocolate Cookies