21 Reviews

This was so good. I used a reduced sugar yellow cake mix. I will make again for sure.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quitoslady #2 April 14, 2010

Very versatile recipe which is yummy and moist! I used a spice cake mix with my 3 large overly ripe bananas and this was a hit! Skipped on nuts due to preference. Can't wait for another slice with a bit of butter. Thanks for sharing. Found and made for I Recommend Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 05, 2013

3 stars because 5 large bananas was too much. The batter was thin from so much bananas. I added a couple handfuls of oatmeal so it wouldn't be so runny. I baked it for 1 hr before I got a clean toothpick. The flavor was good but recipe needs to have a measurement for the amount of bananas. The texture was doughy because too many bananas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotty & Callie's Mom November 10, 2013

Turned out great. Easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest February 04, 2013

My kids and hubby absolutely loved this banana bread recipe, hubby said it had a really good taste to it (I don't like bananas so I didn't try it). He didn't seem to think the cake mix took away the flavor of the bananas, but I used 5 large bananas. I kept the pecans in as recommended and as I said, it was a huge hit! Thanks for sharing this recipe, will be making it again I'm sure! It did take a little over an hour to bake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wolfangel December 14, 2008

Absolutely delicious! Tastes like it was made from scratch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lscarnes August 10, 2015

Love this recipe, and couldn't be quicker or easier. I only used three very ripe large banannas due to the comment about 5 banannas causing a too thin batter. I followed the ingredients and directions exactly, but went one step further and added about 3/4 cup of peanut butter chips to the batter. The taste was amazing! Peanut butter and bananna, yummy! I used a bundt pan and baked for 45 minutes. This will be my favorite dessert to take to gatherings and church socials.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vivian B. August 02, 2015

I made an adaptation of this recipe today and it was smashing. I used the above recipe with the following changes and additions.<br/>4 large ripe bananas (instead of five)<br/>about 1/4 tsp cinnamon<br/>about 1/4 tsp real vanilla<br/>(I tend to not measure)<br/>walnuts instead of pecans because I grew up with walnuts in banana bread<br/><br/>I creamed the bananas by hand with an everyday tablespoon till real creamy, added cinnamon, vanilla, eggs, and oil. creamed together till well mixed. Added yellow cake mix and again mixed by hand. I added at least a cup of walnuts smashed in ziploc bag and continued to mix in.<br/><br/>I preheated the oven to 350 degrees for 30 minutes then let cool about ten minutes, i like to do this when baking cakes.<br/><br/>I sprayed an 8 by 8 cheap aluminum cake pan and one of those nice bronze coloured cake pans (slipping my mind type) guessing size here about 5 or 6 by 9. Then filled each pan about evenly in depth.<br/><br/>Turned oven back on and baked for about 35 minutes, tested with toothpick and turned oven off and let cakes sit in oven for an additional five minutes before removing.<br/><br/>They were so moist and did not have the yellow cake mix flavour. I think the addition of cinnamon and vanilla made the recipe not taste like a package cake mix. They removed from pans easily. I was going to frost yet they were so good as it figured I did not need the extra sugar.<br/><br/>I will remember this recipe in the future.<br/><br/>Thank you for all the reviews this helped me decide what I needed to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathryn r. August 14, 2014

I liked this a lot. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain July 07, 2013

Thanks for the recipe. It tasted very good, everyone liked it. But it was like a banana cake instead of bread. I only had 3 large banana's. Maybe 2 more would have given it a denser texture. It was a hit
just not what I was wanting. I will make again if I want banana cake.....they loved it. I put a little cream cheese frosting just on top...got great feed back on the good banana cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 April 14, 2011
Cake Mix Banana Bread