Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Mix Apple Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Mix Apple Crisp

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2002

      Great stuff! Instead of sugar, I used Equal and used three tbs. Also doubled the cinnamon. Used Black Twig apples from Julian, a mountain apple growing community above San Diego. Wow, is that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      I believe the original recipe calls for a stick of butter which equals 1/2 cup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      taste was OK - nothing spectacular. Like many others I found that extra butter was needed on top. half way through baking I had to add more butter to moisten the dust balls of cake mix. I also had to bake it for more time than stated, even with slicing the apples thin. Next time instead of buying cake mix, I'll just save the money and go back to my grandmother's tried and true recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      It's good and basic. It could have used more crust though. I'm a curtsy kinda guy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      I made it tonight, using the recommendations of others who said the topping needed more butter. It was still dry.
      My experience is that 1 T of cinnamon could not possibly result in a bland result, as others reported. I used 1 teaspoon and it was fine.
      Bottom line, I see no reason to use a cake mix at all. Just throw some butter, flour and brown or white sugar mixture on some apples, and the result will be better than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I cannot seem to keep my spoon out of this dish!! I did happen to have a spice Cake mix on hand, so I used that. I also added whole pecans to the mix before baking. And drizzled some Mrs. Richardson's caramel sauce on top after it came out of the oven. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Nice flavour & great potential! I found it a little bland and the texture was a little off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Great easy recipe, and turned out delicious. I also sprinkled some nutmeg and allspice on top before I put it in the oven. I also added a few more tablespoons of butter than just the 1/4 cup. Delicious! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Not the recipe I thought it was. The amount of melted butter did not cover the cake mix in order for it to actually brown! The ratio of cinnamon to sugar also seemed to be off... the first recipe at Recipe Zaar I acutally had to throw into the the trash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I just made this with some delicious local grown apples and it was very wonderful! I really enjoyed how easy this was!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This recipe is so easy and tastes great! I added quite a bit more cinnamon and ended up baking it for quite a while longer than this called for though. You can also make a gluten free version - just use a gluten free cake mix instead of regular. I was very happy with this recipe and I will DEFINITELY make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      I have used this recipe for years! All the people that I served with in singles church group LOVED IT!!!! It was one of the things I was always asked to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Delicious! My friend's mom made this when we were in middle school, and I always looked forward to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I skipped the extra sugar, used only 4 apples sliced in wedges, and baked in a smaller, deeper baking dish than suggested. I also baked an extra 5 minutes or so. WOW, what a wonderful, blow-me-away treat!!! Served with vanilla ice cream on top, fresh out of the oven. This one had the wow factor for me. Delicious! Thank you, Poker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I grew up eating this as a kid. My mom went through a phase and made one of these a week for about 6 months, then she stopped cold turkey. I hadn't had this for about 20 years and decided to make it for a friends dinner party. It came out great. I added a tiny about of allspice and nutmeg to the crust, doubled the cinnamon, added a small amount of the seasonings to double the amount of apples. I also sprinkled more sugar and cinnamon on top of the cake mix before I put in the oven. Sinful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      I doubted this would be as good as the ratings, but I needed a desert and fast as we had unexpected dinner guests. I used a generic apple pie filling because the apples tend to be firmer.. And firm was what I needed. I also added a little more cinnamon and we were good to go! I would, in good conscience, recommend this desert. My husband who isn’t a sweet eater actually enjoyed this! Robin Chartrand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      This is the first time I have topped a crisp with a cake mix. The topping was so rich. My family liked it. Thanks Poker. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      I had a hard time debating on how to rate this. It looked good and easy, plus it had several positive reviews. It was a total flop! I cut the apples, sprinkled the cake mix over the top, then the cinnamon and sugar then drizzled the butter. When the time was up I had cooked apples with dry cake mix on top. I even stirred it, added more butter drizzled over the top. I have no idea what went wrong. It's a bummer when you folow a recipe and it doesn't turn out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      This was easy and very yummy! Definately a keeper to be made over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      This is wonderful, I could eat the entire pan! Unfortunately, my husband loved it too and he wouldn't let me ;). Delicious, this will be a regular in my house. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Mix Apple Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.4
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    33%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 14.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 232.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 25.6 g
    102%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites