Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake in a Mug Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake in a Mug

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2001

      This turned out to be a great "Secret Santa" gift for the girls at work. I used Chocolate Fudge Cake, Chocolate Fudge pudding and cocoa for my glaze. I made one to test it out and I was surprised! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      This sounds like a cute, unusual gift for any special and/or non-special day.....I will try this one, ASAP..Almost like a cake in a jar mix....... Beve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2004

      This is such a cute idea!! I want to put these in our christmas baskets this year so I decided to give it a try first to make sure it works out ok :-) I used a yellow cake mix with a white chocolate pudding. Once measured out, the cake & pudding mix make enough for 8 mugs. I was so anxious to give this a try, I ate it right out of the microwave and it was very good!! A word of caution ... I saved 1/2 of it as I wanted my daughter to try it - she came home about an hour later (I had covered the mug with plastic wrap), and after cooling the cake got pretty hard. I am still going to include them in my baskets but will add to my instruction card to glaze and eat soon after cooking. Thanks Mirj, this will be a fun addition to my baskets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      this didnt work at all for me :( after 2 mins it was still like the mess on the beaters when you make a cake. I let it sit 20 mins, still no good. Gave it another 2 mins in the microwave and ended up with a rock, chocolate flavoured brick:( the only thing that I can think of is the the cake and pudding mixes here are a different size to the ones you have Mirj. I used 190grams cake mix and 50grams of pudding mix, which was exactly half of each, I even weighed them to be certain. sorry Mirj, sesame noodles are number one here, but I wont be trying this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      These were so easy! Just the right size for mailing- not too heavy, but the recipient knows you put some time into thier gift instead of picking out just any old thing- thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I divided the serving in half and microwaved for 45 seconds in a small custard cup. I added about a tbsp of chopped banana... oh boy! To top it off, I poked some holes in the top of still-warm cake and drizzled some sweetened condensed milk over the top (a la Better Than Sex Cake). Didn't need the glaze on this one. Decadent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I received this from chef #946146, my partner in the 2008 Holiday Cookie Swap. I'll be back to add my stars just as soon as I've made it. :) *UPDATE:* Dec 9/08- This is incredibly good. Much nicer than I had expected. Took exactly 2 minutes in the mug pictured. I will be giving this as gifts...year round.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Loved it!! Here is what I found. I hate throwing out the yolk, so, one egg equals 4 T. This is very convenient if you are doing 2 (one for me and one for Sweetie). Scramble one whole egg and use 2 T. egg for each mug. For children (or smaller mugs) use one T. egg, 1/4 c. mix, 1/2 T. each water and oil and microwaved for 1 min. Will try with powdered egg, extra water to accommodate egg powder and leaving out the oil. I would love for it to be a little more portable. Also found that if you are making more than one, mix up all servings at once and measure out accordingly (if serving is 1/2 c. dry mix, measure out 1/2 prepared, wet mix).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I made these for my co-workers during the holidays (everyone got mugs suited to their personalities). They went over very well, and everyone raved about their mini-cakes. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      This was good (please see how I rate recipes), and VERY easy to make (check out the photo for the twin Cake in a Cup Mix - Cupcakes). Warm and sweet, it was a perfect cure for my cravings. I made mine a strawberry mix - strawberry pudding, and threw in a few chocolate chips – it was yummy and gooey. The only comment I have is that the addition of an egg white and oil doesn’t make this very convenient if away from home (e.g. at an office)… Next time I will try the Cake in a Mug with powdered egg white as luvmybge suggested. It would be great to just have this ready to go as Betty Crocker® Warm Delights™ are (I gave it a try recently and it didn’t have as nice a texture as the Cake, but it is very portable and doesn’t require anything more than water).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Wonderful Idea! I shipped my off to family and friends for Christmas. I also used the egg white powder. Surely didn't need 2 minutes to cook though. I suggest if giving this as a gift you make the person aware of the time. I only did mine for 2 mins. Every microwave is different. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      Unlike mummamills go at this recipe, mine turned out fine. Mine didn't even need to go for the full 2 minutes. It was done in less time. I guess it's because of the wattage of my microwave oven. The first one I made was made with the real egg white. The second time I made it I added 2 teaspoons of JUST WHITES to the 1/2 cup of cake mix/pudding mixture. JUST WHITES is a powdered egg white. I then added 2 extra tablespoons of water when I made the cake because the JUST WHITES calls for 2 tablespoons of water to 2 teaspoons of JUST WHITES (2 teaspoons of JUST WHITES equals one egg white). It turned out fine, but .. once again I still didn't need to microwave for the full two minutes. I'm going to add the dry egg whites to my mix from now on. That way the recipient won't even need to have a real egg on hand to make their cake. Thanks for a neat idea Mirj. The cake popped easily out of the cup both times, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      Very cute idea, this will be the perfect gift for our bachelor and elderly neighbors this year! THanks for sharing =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake in a Mug

    Serving Size: 1 (571 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2413.7
     
    Calories from Fat 514
    21%
    Total Fat 57.1 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3479.7 mg
    144%
    Total Carbohydrate 454.8 g
    151%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 331.1 g
    1324%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant pudding mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes