Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Decorator's Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Decorator's Frosting

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2003

      This icing was perfect! I made a small 3 tiered wedding cake (my first attempt) with it - it worked great and had many compliments!!! Thanks so much - I will be using this in the future with the many character cakes I make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This is a GREAT recipe. The only complaint I have is with the butter flavor. I made one cake using 1 cup crisco and 1/2 butter because I didnt have any butter flavoring...than the next time I made it as the directions specified...and I hated the taste...so now I make it with butter instead of the flavoring.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      For a slightly different and still incredible flavor, use almond extract -- or use 1/2 regular crisco and 1/2 butter-flavor crisco with the vanilla extract. both make truly excellent icing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      This worked out very well. It is bright white and very smooth & esay to work with. The taste is very pleasant as well. I used this to ice my daughter's First Communion Cake and recieved many compliments. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      Super yummy! 1 box powdered sugar = 1 lb (3 1/2 to 4 cups sifted), so this recipe equaled my 2 lb bag. In my situation, I should have gone with my instincts and opened up a second bag to make it a little stiffer, but I didn't and the blues clues paw print cake still turned out super cute, thanks to my husband's artistic abilities. I also followed a previous review's advice and went with 1 cup of crisco 1/2 cup butter, so that may have made a softness difference, too. But the flavor was exactly what I wanted! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

    • on July 18, 2005

      This worked out great for me. It is my first time decorating a birthday cake. I had a hard time making the roses but I am sure that the reason is due to no experience and I don't think I correctly measured the powdered sugar. I added more sugar and was able to achieve the roses. I can't wait to try making another birthday cake using this icing. Thank you very much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      This wasn't as foolproof as I believed it would be from the other glowing reviews (my skill level isn't as high, so I guess that makes me the fool). I followed the directions exactly, I promise, but no matter what I did, I ended up with sugar blobs suspended in shortening rather than smooth. I have no idea what went wrong. The flavor was good, and I was able to salvage a bit by putting it in the fridge for a while, but I didn't try coloring or doing anything fancy with it. I did find it easier to use in my decorator than store bought frosting, but I don't know if it was anywhere close to the correct texture. I'm sorry I can't give a better review...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Decorator's Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    48%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 46.0 g
    184%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    butter flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites