21 Reviews

I cut this recipe in half and used it to decorate sugar cookie cut-outs. It made enough to split into four parts and dye each a different color. I put it into decorating bags and decorated 4 dozen cookies with about a 1/2 cup of icing left over. It didn't dry extremely hard, but enough that I can stack the cookies without them sticking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn December 06, 2007

This is the same recipe recomended by Wilton in their cake decorating classes. I have also used lemon juice instead of Vanilla. Great recipe and thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britgal April 16, 2006

This icing tastes delicious and was very easy to use for decorating my cake. It made very nice leaves and roses! I tried using regular tube decorating icing that you can just buy at the grocery store, and it was way too stiff and was really frusterating. This icing was soft enough so that it was really easy to squeeze out but stiff enough to make a sturdy flower. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K!mbO August 15, 2005

This recipe is great for decorating because the shortening makes it stiff and fluffy. If you want to use it to ice a whole cake, I recommend using all butter instead of the shortening. It will taste a little better. Also, make sure you beat this icing well. I beat mine in the Kitchenaid for about 5 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 June 26, 2003

This frosting is AMAZING! I use it for ALL of my cupcake, cake, and cookie recipes. I love that I can always get it to the desired consistency. <br/><br/>If you want a lighter icing, just fore go the butter. It makes it very light and fluffy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShackaShea June 07, 2013

Super easy to make and tint! It held up really well making my son's tractor cake. We loved the taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl August 06, 2011

Perfect! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers September 12, 2009

Oops. The 1st time I made it I mistakenly used crisco that had turned rancid.... OMG... it was awful... Thank goodness I tried again.. and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LILTEXQT February 14, 2009

THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this recipe! I've been looking all over the place for the perfect decorating icing recipe and here it is! The only thing I did differently was I used 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract. It came out PERFECT! Thanks again so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaBaker October 28, 2008

Awesome icing!!! Worked great for decorating and tasted yummy too. Made it exactly as stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina 93 February 23, 2008
Cake Decorating Icing