131 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this recipe! I've tried this recipe multiple times and it tastes exactly like Cold Stone, I'm a fan. I followed the recipe exactly as is written. I adjust the amount of servings depending on how much cake mix I have on hand. Despite what the recipe says, you do NOT need an ice cream maker. I don't own an ice cream maker and always make this by hand and it always turns out perfect. I simply mix up the ingredients in a bowl and place the bowl in the freezer. After 1-2 hours I take out the bowl and whisk the half-frozen contents and put it back in for another hour or two and it's ready. One tip is to always use heavy cream or at use a combination of heavy cream and half and half. Once I tried using half an half and it more of the texture of snowcone than creamy ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Masooma A. July 25, 2014

We've made this ice cream many times and it's always a hit. Yesterday, we served it at our Father's Day party (http://lambaround.blogspot.com/2014/06/fathers-day-party.html) and used yellow cake mix, which went great with a homemade strawberry jam topping. You can't really mess this one up - we've made it as written, substituted 1% milk for the cream, and replaced the sugar with a can of sweetened condensed milk we were trying to use up, and it always comes out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittydeschanel505 June 16, 2014

Froze very well, soft enough to dip easily, and was delicious. Grainy texture though, evidently from the cake mix. I will be making this again tho' as it is so easy to scoop after sitting in the freezer.<br/><br/>Edit: I used a better brand of cake mix and it lost the graininess. Went from 4 to 5 stars for me, Thanks : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah October 01, 2013

Received a kitchen aid ice cream maker attachment for my birthday. My daughter absolutely LOVES cake batter ice cream, so naturally that is the first recipe I attempt to make. It was perfectly AMAZING. A huge hit with her! Thank you! I do think that next time I will decrease the amount of sugar, but other than that, there is nothing I would change. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef julesbart September 19, 2013

Pretty tasty. I'd cut the sugar back if I made it again though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartmountains July 26, 2013

This ice cream is fabulous!! I absolutely loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer August 24, 2012

I was too lazy to dig out my ice cream maker and I had leftover cream/milk mix from a soup recipe that I didn't want to go to waste. I threw this together and threw it in the freezer. It didn't freeze properly and got big ice crystals, but it is delicious! I'm going to have to try this the right way one of these days. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 April 23, 2012

My son loves this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karlaknighton January 16, 2011

Very good and easy to make. This was my first time making ice cream at home and it turned out wonderful. Can't wait to make it for a crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can Cook November 22, 2010

This was my first time making any ice cream, with a small ice cream machine that we found at a garage sale... It was easy to follow the recipe and wow almost wanted to sit down with it when it got to the soft serve stage.. but I resisted and snuck a spoonful in the morning mmm... it was a good ending to my day after dinner! even my 11 month old son loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athomechef November 18, 2010
Cake Batter Ice Cream