131 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried Coldstone's Cake Batter Ice Cream the other day. This IS their recipe. It tastes exactly the same! I loved how rich the ice cream tastes and it's a quick and easy recipe to make. I used 3/4 cup of cake mix and 2 teaspoons vanilla. This total recipe produced a little too much for my ice cream maker, but nothing a spoon in hand couldn't handle! Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NMCocina July 06, 2009

I use blueberry muffin mix which has less calories, fat and sugar than cake mix but still creates that batter taste that is so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaraT May 21, 2009

This is very good. I used strawberry cake mix and we enjoyed this very much. thank you for posting your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 20, 2009

We made this again as Buddha really liked it and loves chocolate. So I used 2 cups of chocolate cake mix, just 1/4 cup sugar, all fat-free half & half, and in the last 5 minutes, added 2 Tbsp of coffee. He *wowwed* over it this time! Definitely a chocolate lovers ice cream. 1st time 3/28/09 - This recipe sounded intriguing for us as we love Carvel ice cream, but none of us had ever hear of cake batter ice cream before. This recipe does taste very much like cake icing and makes a wonderful soft-serve ice cream, without the need to freeze further. I used Dunken Hines Moist Deluxe, Yellow cake mix, and took my Zaarfriend Chef #486725's review and used 2 cups. I reduced the sugar down even farther than she did to just 1/3 cup (which we felt was still on the sweet side, but perfect for this recipe). I also used all half-n-half. To blend, I simply put all the ingredients together at the same time into a bowl and stirred well, then poured it into the machine. 25 minutes later, it was ready to serve. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu April 04, 2009

I liked this ice cream, but could only eat about two bites of it because it is so sweet and rich!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelbe78 February 19, 2009

This has a good taste, but is extremely sweet. It tastes more like frozen, fluffy cake FROSTING than ice cream. However, I think it might be neat to use something like this to frost a cake, or (ironically) put on top of ice cream. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
860892 January 16, 2009

This was fantastic! I tried it using 3/4 cup Splenda, and substituted 2% milk and regular cream. I also used around 1.5 tsp vanilla, and 3/4 cup cake mix. Really easy to make. I usually make gelato, which comes out softer, and wondered if anyone else thought it was really hard- I have to let it sit out awhile before scooping it out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cba6777 December 20, 2008

This is super sweet! My husband and friend loved it. It was a little sweet for my taste. Sweetened with Splenda and used 3/4 cup cake mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adawndria November 04, 2008

This was the best ice cream! it tasted exactly like cold stone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekahh October 17, 2008

Got a RecipeZaar account just to rate this. I used Pillsbury's Funfetti for the cake mix and the likeness to Cold Stone's cake batter was uncanny! Can't wait to make our own version of Birthday Cake Remix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naddowla September 28, 2008
Cake Batter Ice Cream