Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Batter Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2009

      I tried Coldstone's Cake Batter Ice Cream the other day. This IS their recipe. It tastes exactly the same! I loved how rich the ice cream tastes and it's a quick and easy recipe to make. I used 3/4 cup of cake mix and 2 teaspoons vanilla. This total recipe produced a little too much for my ice cream maker, but nothing a spoon in hand couldn't handle! Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I use blueberry muffin mix which has less calories, fat and sugar than cake mix but still creates that batter taste that is so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This is very good. I used strawberry cake mix and we enjoyed this very much. thank you for posting your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      We made this again as Buddha really liked it and loves chocolate. So I used 2 cups of chocolate cake mix, just 1/4 cup sugar, all fat-free half & half, and in the last 5 minutes, added 2 Tbsp of coffee. He *wowwed* over it this time! Definitely a chocolate lovers ice cream. 1st time 3/28/09 - This recipe sounded intriguing for us as we love Carvel ice cream, but none of us had ever hear of cake batter ice cream before. This recipe does taste very much like cake icing and makes a wonderful soft-serve ice cream, without the need to freeze further. I used Dunken Hines Moist Deluxe, Yellow cake mix, and took my Zaarfriend Chef #486725's review and used 2 cups. I reduced the sugar down even farther than she did to just 1/3 cup (which we felt was still on the sweet side, but perfect for this recipe). I also used all half-n-half. To blend, I simply put all the ingredients together at the same time into a bowl and stirred well, then poured it into the machine. 25 minutes later, it was ready to serve. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I liked this ice cream, but could only eat about two bites of it because it is so sweet and rich!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This has a good taste, but is extremely sweet. It tastes more like frozen, fluffy cake FROSTING than ice cream. However, I think it might be neat to use something like this to frost a cake, or (ironically) put on top of ice cream. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was fantastic! I tried it using 3/4 cup Splenda, and substituted 2% milk and regular cream. I also used around 1.5 tsp vanilla, and 3/4 cup cake mix. Really easy to make. I usually make gelato, which comes out softer, and wondered if anyone else thought it was really hard- I have to let it sit out awhile before scooping it out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This is super sweet! My husband and friend loved it. It was a little sweet for my taste. Sweetened with Splenda and used 3/4 cup cake mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      This was the best ice cream! it tasted exactly like cold stone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Got a RecipeZaar account just to rate this. I used Pillsbury's Funfetti for the cake mix and the likeness to Cold Stone's cake batter was uncanny! Can't wait to make our own version of Birthday Cake Remix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Wow this is the best ice cream I have ever had very creamy and rich tasting I also have a Cuisinart ice cream maker and it took only about 20 minutes thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      WHOA, this is some awesome ice cream! I used the party chip cake mix and it ended up tasting just like the cake! It would be good with many of other flavored cake mixes, whatever your in the mood for. It tasted great when the ice cream machine was done with it. But after putting it in the freezer and letting it meld and freeze harder it was even more decadent! A pointer for some of the people saying they have trouble getting out the clumps when stirring in the cake mix....before putting the cake mix in, use a sifter to sift it all really fine and then you wont have a problem at all with it clumping when you stir everything together. I saw someone say that when eating this it gave them kind of a gummy film on the roof of their mouth. I also noticed this. I think its from the cake mix in it. But its still delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I just made this recipe this afternoon (for the first time) in my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. It's in the freezer now, but I know it won't last very long. It is delicious and so very easy. I used a Jiffy chocolate cake mix, just the 2/3 cup and 2% milk. Next time I will add more cake mix and instead of sugar, use Splenda. Also, I'm thinking about making cookies and cream, using white cake mix & Oreos since that is my husband's and daughter's favorite ice cream. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I made this for our big family vacation. Both kids and adults loved this. Using the cake mix makes it so easy to get some really great flavors without having to buy too many ingredients. I used a chocolate cake mix, but you could use anything. I bet lemon would be good! My only problem was I could have used another ice cream maker to met the demand!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This made a tasty ice cream. I served it to my kids and some company, and everybody agreed it was good. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Wonderful stuff. Made it and it fit perfectly in my Cuisinart. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This came out a little liquidy after freezing it in the machine and then again for a few hours. But with the Devil's food ice cream it came out so nice. It tastes just like cake batter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Tastes just like cold stone! Awesome! I did put in the 2 teaspoons of vanilla and almost a full cup of sifted cake batter mix. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I LOVE Cold Stone's Cake Batter ice cream, and although it's hard to compare the two without having both in front of me, this one is wonderful and the recipe very versatile. I've made it twice and both times it came out great, even when I used 2 parts skim milk to 1 part heavy cream. The recipe as written is very rich, so for a lighter version using more skim milk was perfect, and it didn't take away from the creaminess or flavor. I also recommend using a sifter when adding the cake mix, I used Pillsbury Classic Yellow, to prevent lumps. This was my first attempt at using my ice cream machine, and it produced great results!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      We've made this ice cream many times and it's always a hit. Yesterday, we served it at our Father's Day party (http://lambaround.blogspot.com/2014/06/fathers-day-party.html) and used yellow cake mix, which went great with a homemade strawberry jam topping. You can't really mess this one up - we've made it as written, substituted 1% milk for the cream, and replaced the sugar with a can of sweetened condensed milk we were trying to use up, and it always comes out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Batter Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (874 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.2
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    59%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 67.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 131.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 24.7 g
    98%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cake mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites