131 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so easy to make and it was a big hit as dessert at my dinner party!! This is my new favorite to make

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kanona9891 September 22, 2010

This was seriously the best ice cream I've ever had. It really does taste just like the Cake Mix ice cream at Coldstone. I doubled the recipe three days ago, and I'm going to make more today!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn_15_2002 September 03, 2010

Wow, I didn't change a thing. Used Duncan Heinz Yellow Cake mix and thought it was great. Traditional birthday cakes are actually white cake mix so I'll try that next time and there will definitely be a next time! And no cooking, God Bless You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 July 17, 2010

Very easy and yummy. Tastes like Cold Stone to me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinginKC June 09, 2010

This is very good and the kids love it! I thought it was a little too sweet so next time I will cut back on the sugar. I also used skim milk for all of it because that was all I had. I did let it set up in the freezer for a while. We will be making this again and again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Now we won't have to go to Coldstone. At least for this kind of ice cream anyway. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids May 16, 2010

I used the All-Natural Cherrybrook Farms yellow cake mix from Target b/c most cake mixes have some pretty crazy ingredients. It still turned-out some delicious ice cream, sans chemicals. Next time I will try to lower the fat... because this film ends-up in my mouth and I'm pretty sure it's butter. Nothing against butter, just don't like it coating the roof of my mouth. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. February 02, 2010

I got the Kitchenaid ice cream maker attachment, and wanted an easy recipe to try out - I picked an AWESOME one for my first batch! I made some slight modifications - used half & half for whole milk, used light cream, and added 2t of vanilla. It was delicious! Next time I try this (and there WILL be a next time) I'll probably add a bit more cake mix, but not a whole lot. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenj2 December 31, 2009

Great recipe. It is just as good as Coldstone. I used 2 teas. vanilla and 3/4 cup cake mix and I used the full amount of sugar and it was perfect. Only took 13 minutes in my ice cream maker. Am going to try making chocolate next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twylyght August 25, 2009

FABULOUS! My husband and I absolutely love the cake batter ice cream from Coldstone, and so we thought we'd give it a try. It tastes EXACTLY like it! We were so impressed. Thanks for the great recipe!! :]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Unrath August 14, 2009

As suggested by other reviewers, we used 2 cups of cake mix instead of 2/3 to 3/4 cup and 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1/3 to 3/4 cup. Substituted what we had on-hand: light cream instead of heavy cream; fat-free half-and-half instead of whole milk. After it was processed in the ice cream maker, we stirred in teaspoonfuls of buttercream frosting and about 1/4 cup of rainbow sprinkles before putting in the freezer to further harden. A new family favorite!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IrishEyes.NYC August 04, 2009
Cake Batter Ice Cream