131 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My son has a milk allergy so I made this with 2 cups of Silk Soy Creamer and 1 cup of Silk Vanilla Soymilk. He absolutley loved it, the best ice cream ever. I've had cake batter ice cream from Maggie Moo's and Cold Stone and even made with the Soy alternative this was right up there with those. We'll definitely be doing again with some other flavor cake mixes. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matthoyt July 25, 2009

Delicious flavor!!!!! My only complaint was that the texture was a bit gritty even though I sifted the cake mix prior to adding it. I used a Duncan Hines, perhaps a different brand would be better????

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj July 17, 2009

Wow is this sweet... but it sure is good. Will definitely make again but with less sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. July 02, 2013

WOW!!!! I used 1 cup vanilla soymilk and 2 cups Silk original coffee creamer in place of the dairy ingredients and used 1/2 c sugar and 3/4 cup confetti cake mix and... it is literally the best soy ice cream I've ever made (and I've made some pretty dang good soy ice cream). Will be repeating... probably weekly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana September 04, 2012

So so delicious! Followed the recipe and used a Funfetti cake mix...so delicious and creamy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dusarahbear May 28, 2012

Tried this one on our first attempt at emulating Cake Batter from Cuppa Yo. Turned out really good! My wife is thrilled that we have an alternative, and it is much cheaper and healthier to make at home.

We are still wondering why Cuppa Yo's is still more yellow?? could be food coloring??

Thanks for getting us started on this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
auz1111 November 02, 2011

Add my 5 stars to the collection! I made this with Devils Food cake mix and replaced the vanilla with butterscotch extract and, Oh My My! it tastes like a chocolate caramel sundae. I did use the Splenda (which I would have done anyway) 1 cup of skim milk, 1/2 cup fat free liquid coffee creamer (unflavored) and 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream. It's rich tasting, smooth, creamy and very delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia August 16, 2011

I can't believe it took me so long to write a review for this AWESOME recipe! I made it exactly as written the first time, and everyone loved every bite. I've varied it a little on occasion. Used Splenda once (my dad's a diabetic, and I needed to cut out some of the sugar) and it was great, too. My favorite variation is using FunFetti cake mix (it looks cool!) with cookie dough mixed in. Definitely a winner! I also made it into an ice cream cake for my sister's birthday, using the heavy cream and some sugar to make a whipped topping "icing" for it, and then mixed some crunched up Oreo cookies in with it to put between two layers of ice cream. This is for sure my go to recipe for ice cream! Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess_FinsUp June 21, 2011

I love this recipe! The nutritional info is a bit off though. I wish the serving size was 1028 grams, it should be 102 or 103 grams.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davidduarte January 05, 2011

This ice cream is fabulous and easy! I also used in a cake for my son's birthday using Pick-Your-Flavor Ice Cream Cake by Kittencalskitchen. I used store-bought chocolate chip cookies for the crust and Hershey's syrup for the chocolate layer. The combination of flavors with the Cake Batter Ice Cream was perfect! You could do so many things with this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen R. December 04, 2010
Cake Batter Ice Cream