Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Batter Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    131 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 131

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2011

      I too love Coldstone's and Maggie Moo's cake batter ice cream. I used skim milk in place of whole milk and fat free half & half in place of the cream. I also used 1.5 cups of cake mix and only 1/2 cup sugar. Awesome :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      My DH said this is better than Cold Stone (and I agree!) We didn't do anything fancy - we used 2% milk instead of whole milk and vanilla cake mix. Thanks, SStemp! UPDATE - we've made this several times, and it's good with both vanilla or chocolate cake mix, Oatmeal Cookie mix (just like Cold Stone's version) or brownie mix. It's fun to mix it up and try different mixes, and we've never been disappointed! We've also used both 1% and 2% milk with no difference in taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Quick, easy, delicious. This was very sweet as written, but I have a crazy sweet tooth! The second time I made it I used lower fat ingredients - 1 cup of half and half, two cups of So Delicious brand coconut milk (much lower fat than canned). I also added two teaspoons of vodka, which worked well. With a lower fat content, the alcohol helps keep it from freezing into a solid brick once you place it in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Amazing! I used 1c cream 1c half and half and funfetti cake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      WOW! This is better than cold stone! I made it with skim milk and heavy cream. Next time I think I am going to try skim milk and half and half and using the blueberry mix that someone else suggested. I think I will cut the sugar down a little also. It was very sweet.

      Update: I used half n half and whole milk and 2 pkgs of carnation instant breakfast and about 2 c of strawberries pureed to make strawberry ice cream. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Used only and only 1% milk (instead of milk AND cream) Turned out just great. I made this recipe twice. Once for company, following sugar amount exactly and it was overly sweet. Second time I used Splenda instead of sugar - only to taste, not full amount. It turned out fine.
      It is great idea to use cake mixes, I used carrot cake mix for Thanksgiving to serve with Pumpkin pie and it was winning combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Oh My! This Ice Cream is my favorite. I love Coldstone's Cake Batter Ice Cream, and this is better! I have made several versions of this recipe and there have been none as good as this! I changed it up a little bit. I am not a big fan of heavy cream so I used 2 cups of 2% cold milk and 1 Cup of Heavy Cream. I also used 2 tbsp. of Vanilla extract instead of 1. This will be my new go to Ice Cream. I will never buy Ice Cream again! And it is so fun for the kids too. Thank you for this delicious Ice Cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Awesome! And easy! I made this with coconut milk and soy creamer--and even managed to find a vegan cake mix, so we ended up with an outstanding vegan ice cream. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I used 3 cups fat free half & half, as I did not have any heavy cream.As suggested by another member, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, and used Duncan Heinz Yellow cake mix. This was the best ice cream I have ever !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I did 2 cups of cake mix as others suggested, plus 1/4 cup sugar, and I thought it was quite strong. Next time I will do 1/4 cup sugar and only 1 or 1 1/2 cups cake mix. Easy recipe though, and worked great with 1 cup whole milk and 2 cups half and half. Also, tastes better after it has ripened in the freezer. It's worth waiting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      My son has a milk allergy so I made this with 2 cups of Silk Soy Creamer and 1 cup of Silk Vanilla Soymilk. He absolutley loved it, the best ice cream ever. I've had cake batter ice cream from Maggie Moo's and Cold Stone and even made with the Soy alternative this was right up there with those. We'll definitely be doing again with some other flavor cake mixes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Delicious flavor!!!!! My only complaint was that the texture was a bit gritty even though I sifted the cake mix prior to adding it. I used a Duncan Hines, perhaps a different brand would be better????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Wow is this sweet... but it sure is good. Will definitely make again but with less sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      WOW!!!! I used 1 cup vanilla soymilk and 2 cups Silk original coffee creamer in place of the dairy ingredients and used 1/2 c sugar and 3/4 cup confetti cake mix and... it is literally the best soy ice cream I've ever made (and I've made some pretty dang good soy ice cream). Will be repeating... probably weekly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      So so delicious! Followed the recipe and used a Funfetti cake mix...so delicious and creamy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      Tried this one on our first attempt at emulating Cake Batter from Cuppa Yo. Turned out really good! My wife is thrilled that we have an alternative, and it is much cheaper and healthier to make at home.

      We are still wondering why Cuppa Yo's is still more yellow?? could be food coloring??

      Thanks for getting us started on this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Add my 5 stars to the collection! I made this with Devils Food cake mix and replaced the vanilla with butterscotch extract and, Oh My My! it tastes like a chocolate caramel sundae. I did use the Splenda (which I would have done anyway) 1 cup of skim milk, 1/2 cup fat free liquid coffee creamer (unflavored) and 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream. It's rich tasting, smooth, creamy and very delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I can't believe it took me so long to write a review for this AWESOME recipe! I made it exactly as written the first time, and everyone loved every bite. I've varied it a little on occasion. Used Splenda once (my dad's a diabetic, and I needed to cut out some of the sugar) and it was great, too. My favorite variation is using FunFetti cake mix (it looks cool!) with cookie dough mixed in. Definitely a winner! I also made it into an ice cream cake for my sister's birthday, using the heavy cream and some sugar to make a whipped topping "icing" for it, and then mixed some crunched up Oreo cookies in with it to put between two layers of ice cream. This is for sure my go to recipe for ice cream! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I love this recipe! The nutritional info is a bit off though. I wish the serving size was 1028 grams, it should be 102 or 103 grams.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      This ice cream is fabulous and easy! I also used in a cake for my son's birthday using Pick-Your-Flavor Ice Cream Cake by Kittencalskitchen. I used store-bought chocolate chip cookies for the crust and Hershey's syrup for the chocolate layer. The combination of flavors with the Cake Batter Ice Cream was perfect! You could do so many things with this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Batter Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (874 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.2
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    59%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 67.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 131.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 24.7 g
    98%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cake mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes