Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Balls

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-53 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      I love this recipe. I have been making with my holiday baking for years. I have tweeked the original recipe over the years, and I use 1 1/2 cans of frosting instead of 1. It gives the balls a more truffle like texture. I also throw in extra goodies in the cake balls as well as try out different flavors. My favorite is spice cake with cream cheese frosting and heath bar tidbits, dipped in vanilla almond bark, and drizzled with semisweet chocolate. I always get the oohs and aahs over those. As pretty as they are delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Very yummy-will make again-thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I totally love these!! They're very addicting and they look gorgeous...plus you can make any flavor you like!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      My friend brought these to a cookie exchange (no, they are not a cookie!!!) and they were a BIG hit. We now call her the Queen of the Cookie Exchange. She made a chocolate/ chocolate dipped in chocolate, a lemon/ lemon dipped in vanilla, and a strawberry/ cream cheese dipped in vanilla with red and green food coloring. Very fantastic. I plan to make more this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Awesome My family loves them. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I had a cracked cake and was looking for another way to use it and this was the best! Made with yellow cake and vanilla frosting and they were so good, I have been ask to make them again already this week. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      A huge hit with my family. I used the Holiday cake mix and Holiday frosting, so mine were light green inside (vanilla flavored), and I dipped them in chocolate. I did put them in the freezer for awhile after I rolled them into balls, and had no trouble dipping them. I want to try them with german choc. cake mix and coconut pecan frosting dipped in choc,. and also carrot cake with cream cheese frosting dipped in white almond bark. The variations really are endless. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I made these as the recipe suggested and they tasted great. However, they were very difficult to dip in the almond bark--they just fell apart and trying to get them out of the melted bark was a headache. Eventually, I got about half the batch somewhat covered, but I ran out of bark for the remaining 15 balls. I think it would have worked better if I had re-chilled the balls after rolling them, then dipped them in the melted almond bark. I will try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Made these using chocolate cake and chocolate frosting, dipping them in chocolate bark. To me, they taste like brownie batter dipped in chocolate. We did try some dipped in white chocolate, without too much difficulty, but as stated by others could see some of the chocolate cake underneath the coating. Thanks for the nice addition to my cookie trays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      We've made this twice. Once as written, and once using chocolate cake & frosting, and white almond bark coating. Uh-uh. Don't do that. It tasted great, but it was pretty much impossible to get the white to cover the chocolate totally, so it was kind of frustrating. There were only a few that came out looking nice. So, I won't be doing the white over dark thing again! Of course, that wasn't Luby's fault -- it was my own lame idea :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      Although I haven't released these little gems onto the general public yet, my husband and daughter loved it and I will definately be making them again!!! I used a chocolate fudge cake mix, milk chocolate frosting, and chocolate almond bark. I did add some peppermint extract to the frosting before mixing with the cake; then after the cake balls were dipped and dried, I piped some white almond bark mixed with a little more peppermint extract and tinted green decoratively over the tops. They not only turned out very pretty but they are quite delicious. You've got a definate winner here -- thanks for a great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Just had these at my MIL over Thanksgiving. She used a yellow cake mix and chocolate frosting then dipped them in chocolate... OMG they were delish! I'll definitely be making these!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      I too got this recipe from a co-worker. It's soo simple and yet everyone thinks they are so fancy! I've used chocolate cake, chocolate icing and chocolate almond bark. This would be a great addition to a Christmas cookie platter! Thanks for sharing Luby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (1050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.1
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    42%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 99.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon frosting

    almond bark

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes