Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cake Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cake Balls

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2009

      I have had this recipe saved for a while, but forgot about it. A friend mentioned a "Red Velvet Bon Bon" in her blog, and apparently these are THE hit among teachers at her children's school. When I asked for her recipe this is exactly what she gave me. I made this last night, to use as a part of a goodie basket. This candy is so good and decadent, yet so easy to put together. I have had issues with melting chocolate this week, so my red velvet cake balls turned out really ugly looking, but they taste phenomenal. These little gems are a 5 star and beyond. Thanks for such a delicious addition to my Christmas holiday goodies. Everyone should make these soon, you will not regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      These are fabulous! I used strawberry cake mix and vanilla frosting. They were very pretty once bit into! I just drizzled white chocolate on half of them; lack of time. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Great! I used lemon cake and icing, and they were amazing. I froze the balls for an hour before I coated them and it worked out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Took these to a pool party this weekend and they were a real hit. Even people who said they did not normally like lemon stuff, really liked these. I agree with the other reviewer that they were hard to coat with the almond bark, so I will try the suggestion of doing half next time, or rolling them all and re-chilling the balls. It was well worth it. Next time I am going to try strawberry, with chocolate almond bark. Delish!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I made these today with a dark chocolate fudge cake mix, milk chocolate frosting and white chips. As others stated, when using the dark cake mix, the white chips do not cover the cake very well. The cake balls turned out WONDERFUL and sooo yummy! We will be making more of these very soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! I wanted to do something a little different instead of the same old-same old birthday cake for a friend. This fit the bill prefectly. I used a milk chocolate cake mix/milk chocolate frosting/white almond bark and then also tried butter pecan cake mix/cream cheese frosting/and white almond bark. Both were yummy. I had a few balls leftover that I didn't get covered in the almond bark so I just put those in a container in the fridge and then they were perfect for having with ice cream later on. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Loved it! I thought it woudl be difficult but it was not that bad at all and my guests LOVED IT! :) I will make it again with the many versions:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      So different and so delicious! I made these with a friend and my daughter today in advance for the holidays. We baked a red velvet cake the night before and let it cool. Finished the cake balls today. They are so rich and delicious. The combinations you can make are endless. For those who don't know, you can by white melting chips in bags at the craft store in the cake/candy section for a good price. We melted ours in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I have been looking for this recipe for the last hour and for the past two years. I am so happy I found this recipe!!! My friend gave me the recipe and I made cinnamon swirl cake with cream cheese frosting and red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. They take a little bit of time but taste fantastic, addicting and they make great gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I have been making these for a while as well. I make"pumpkins" each halloween with these. I dye the bark with orange food coloring. I use a toothpic to dip, I insert after making the ball and before i put them in the freezer for 1/2 hr. As soon as dipped, i replace the tooth pic with one of those short fat pretzels, they make a really good looking stem!! Then I give them to each of my neighbors on my street! Happy Halloween everyone!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      A delicious recipe. I made them with red velvet and cream cheese frosting and they were gobbled up by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      These are wonderful!!!! So good, it was hard to share. Have also made with a german chocolate cake and red velvet cake and dipped in milk chocolate. This recipe is so versatile you can really mix it up and try new things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I made these for a girly get together, had to give the recipe out to all the girls, we LOVED them!!!!!!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      OOOOHHHH MMMYY GOODNESS!!!!!!!!! EVERYONE!!! YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY THESE!! THEY ARE TO DIE FOR! I didnt make them myself but had them at a shower and they were the talk of the party and such a HUGE HIT!!!! The gal who made em put em on sucker sticks. I'm goin to try different variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Wow.. these are A LOT of work! I used a chocolate fudge cake mix and the coconut pecan frosting. What a hassle to get these balls covered. I dipped a dozen for my mom for after dinner tonight. That's enough for now. Maybe I'll work on them tomorrow again and finish up. I used a toothpick to dip them in chocolate and used white chocolate drizzled over them to fill in the hole that the toothpick made. THEN .. to top it off... I had to re-dip the bottom of the balls because when I picked them up off of the sheet part of the cake showed through the bottom. The chocolate came right off of the bottom. Oh what a mess. I don't think it's worth making these. Sure.. they might be tasty.. but a little gooey inside. Waaay too much work for this gal to go through again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      i made this recipe over the christmas break and they were a HUGE hit, especially with my sister, who promptly requested (okay, DEMANDED) that i make more once they were all gone so quickly. i have since made them 3 more times, all experimenting with different flavors. my favorite so far was strawberry frosting w/ funfetti cake mix. i dipped half of it in chocolate almond bark and half in vanilla, and then i even got fancy and started making designs on the tops with the opposite kind. my only suggestion for anyone making this is to make sure you have plenty of people to share with otherwise you will end up eating the whole batch in a very short amount of time :) thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I made these and used a chocolate cake and chocolate frosting then dipped in the melted chocolate bark...delicious. I too put them in the freezer for a couple of hours prior to dipping, turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These turned out great and I had no problem with the balls falling apart but I dont think my candy coating was melted enough because it was hard to coat them. Other than that they were fun and easy to make as well as eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This is another fun recipe with kids! Be sure to crumble the cake while it is still warm. I did not use the edges that were crusty. I tried red velvet with cream chese icing and vanilla bark. I am gonna try the lemon next - or maybe chocolate with coconut and pecan frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I really liked these. I had some problems dipping them, however. They were rather soft and wanted to fall apart. Next time, I will follow Chef #625669's advice and freeze the balls on a cookie sheet covered with waxed paper prior to dipping them. Thanks for the recipe! I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cake Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (1050 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.1
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    42%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 99.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon frosting

    almond bark

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes