Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Style Dirty Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Style Dirty Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      WAHOO! This was GREAT! Made it for the first time to take to a covered-dish Super Bowl party--it was a huge hit with both men and women. I didn't have a mirliton on hand, so I used a medium zucchini, chopped and parboiled, instead. Then I used the zucchini water to cook the rice. Everyone just gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      This was really easy and fun to make. The whole family enjoyed it. I did not have any cream of mushroom soup so I sub a half of cup of lite sour cream. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      This recipe was amazing. I followed it exactly with the exception of using cream of mushroom soup. I used condensed mushroom soup and a bit of soy milk. My whole family LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This was great! I made a dirty rice recipe a few months back with chicken livers and gizzards that seemed to take forever to make. It was wonderful-- if you like gizzards and liver, which my husband does not. I made this tonight as a concession to him, and I'm really glad I did. I did cut the celery back to 2 stalks, the ground beef to a pound, and I had to use dried minced onion rather than fresh. This was a little wetter than the other recipe I made, but not in a bad way... it was almost creamy. We added extra tabasco to our bowls. I didn't use the mirliton, and in place of onion and garlic salts, I used powders and added a half a teaspoon of salt. Cooked the rice in beef broth cause we like it that way. I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Very tasty! I used a little less of the veggie so my children wouldn't complain so much, but i htink I would have LOVED the zucchini in it as well. I did add a touch of garlic and a generous splaash of milk along with the soup as it was very, very thick and didn't want to incorprate with the rice too much. I also only used 3 cups of rice and still had a TON of food. I can imagine this being a highlight at a pot luck dinner. As always a perfectly wonderful PanNan recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      My family really liked this. I'm always on the look out for mew ways to cook ground beef and this was perfect! I did not use the mirliton but otherwise I followed the recipe as stated. I will definately be making this again. Thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      Great recipe and I agree that it could be a meal in itself. It was nice and easy and directions was explained really good too. Thanks for posting a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      Good flavor! Could be a meal all by itself. Pretty easy to make, too. I didn't parboil the chayote squash, and instead diced it up and added it in about 10 minutes before the cream of mushroom soup went in. Turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Style Dirty Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.3
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    22%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 58.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites