Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cajun Style Blackened Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Style Blackened Catfish

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2012

      This was amazing. My husband catches a lot of fish, and this is our new favorite fish recipe. My husband made a big batch of the seasoning, added a small amount of cayenne for kick and stored it in a ziplock bag for more meals to come. It was not to salty for us, just right. Thanks for posting. We served it with broccolli and http://www.food.com/recipe/rodriguez-dipping-butter-487346

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This recipe is great! The only thing I did different is to double the dry ingredients and (excluding the parsley flakes you can add then to the fish before cooking) mixing them in a shaker for the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This was fast and delicious! No funky ingredients and wonderful flavor. A bit too salty for my family's taste, but other than that, we'll definitely make this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This is a delicious recipe! I thought at first that the seasoning mixture wasn't going to be enough for both the fillets I bought, but it was just the perfect amount. It was very flavorful with just enough spiciness to give it a kick. I needed to cook the fish a little longer than the 3-5 minutes, but overall, this recipe doesn't take much time at all. My husband loved it. I'll definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

    • on March 24, 2006

      What a delicious, authentic dish! The only fault I found with it was that it was too salty. I will reduce the salt next time. The amount of seasonings was perfect for two 1/2lb fillets, covered on both sides. I was able to keep the smoke to a minimum by frying the first side on med-high heat for 2 minutes to get it crispy, then lowering the heat to medium and covering and cooking for 4 or 5 minutes, then turning it over, and doing the same thing. To ensure that the fish was cooked through, but not overcooked, I then took it off the heat and left it covered for another 10 minutes or so. I found the dish extremely easy to prepare and very quick to cook. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      I made it first with Catfish and enjoyed it. However, I made it later with Cod and it was outstanding. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      Excellent! The blend of spices was perfect, spicy but not too hot. I would strongly recommend cooking this outside in a cast iron skillet on a side burner on a grill because it's messy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Style Blackened Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.4
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    43%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 62.2 mg
    20%
    Sodium 694.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites